We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and good value, but small bathroom.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #94 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Friendly and good value, but small bathroom.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed before at the Ibis Perrache around the corner but it was booked out so we checked into the Victoria based upon reviews here.

The checkin was smooth and the lady apologised that it was the last and the smallest room and that they would attempt to find us a bigger one as we were staying 5 nights.

Well the room is the usual size for a 2 star, very quiet, up on the 5th floor with a very comfy Queen size bed that is quite high off the floor.
There is a dressing table come desk, side tables and flat screen Tv and very fast Wifi. It has two windows that open onto the building opposite, but the only downside is the bathroom which, though squeaky clean and modern is one of those all in one modules so not the best, even though it has a large well lit mirror and great hot water.

We are still awaiting the upgrade, but we are quite happy with the room now and for the price it can't be beaten.
The breakfast area is being remodelled so I cannot comment on the breakfast.

One thing that people who stay at Perrache should know, is that you must use the tramway station to get to the other side of the roadway which runs beside the rail lines to get into the main areas. Also the council seems to set aside part of this area in the station for families of homeless to sleep at night, but our safety has not been affected by this, but it is sad to see; especially the little kids.

And when you are here eat at least one dinner at George's around the corner, you won't forget the experience.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank OzGronk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    153
    50
    22
    11
See reviews for
18
113
61
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed here a few months ago to spare night in between the scheduled flights. The place is awesome and I had everything which I needed for my stay. Rooms are lovely, very well-appointed with all luxurious amenities. Wash room was big and looked fresh. Staff was very attentive and on the toes all the times. They never refused me for any services. Breakfast was the only meal I tried there and it was great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liège
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We arrived two hours early at this place and have not expected our room to be ready. But, check in went very smooth and very soon we were in our room. The moment I stepped in my room, I was left speechless. It was very beautiful and nicely decorated with lots of fabric. All the amenities needed for a luxurious stay were present and were functional too. Bathroom was clean and properly ventilated. Food was lovely and staff was great at their work. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albertine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Excellent service and superb accommodation really made our stay at this place a memorable one. I would strongly recommend this hotel to any traveler visiting this city. The property is very well kept and managed professionally. You will find everything here,that you expect from a perfect accommodation. My stay at this place was short, but very impressive. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

I find my 3 nights' stay at this hotel quite nice. The room was small, toilet & shower very narrow, but the bed was comfi and the location was perfect, you basically can walk from the hotel to most of the famous sights in town. It's within 5 minutes' walk to Perrache station, where you can be connected to most other places nearby as well. I quite enjoyed walking from the hotel along the river towards Lyon centre at dusk, which was quite relaxing.

The receptionists spoke good English and were very friendly when we were there.

There was a nice restaurant on the left of the hotel with live music, though a bit pricey, and there was a kebab shop further on the right side of the hotel, but the service there is horrible, so beware!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hogart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is unfortunately located in the planning disaster from the 70s which is Perrache. To walk anywhere you have to walk through a rather unwelcoming subway which provides access to either the city centre by foot in approx ten minutes or you can access the rail station and tram and metro links.
The staff are very good and friendly and speak perfect Emglish.
The room (double in this case) was large enough for a queen size bed but not much else. There is a LCD Tv provided an a dressing table.
The bathroom is small; not terrible - it's similar to that found on a cruise ferry!
If you want a budget hotel in this expensive city where you simply want to sleep and use it as a base than the Victoria is ideal. If you are looking for more, you will
Undoubtedly have to pay much more for your money.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cmalone857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is a nice value hotel near one of the major train and metro stations. The rooms were the best we have seen in Europe for our budget price range. However, the hotel was not located near any major activities or the center of Lyon, and the bathroom was very small, with the shower practically on top of the toilet. The reception and staff were extremely nice and helpful. Would recommend for a short stay in Lyon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelDiBattista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotel du Simplon
Hotel du Simplon
#54 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotelo
Hotelo
#5 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Perrache - Charlemagne
Hotel de Normandie
Hotel de Normandie
#161 of 193 in Lyon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perrache - Charlemagne
Ibis Budget Lyon Centre Confluence
Perrache - Charlemagne
Ibis Lyon Centre Perrache
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Property: Hotel Victoria
Address: 3 rue Delandine, 69002, Lyon, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Perrache - Charlemagne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Victoria 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing