We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feeling - good location but that's all...”
Review of Hotel Alexandra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alexandra
Ranked #33 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Mixed feeling - good location but that's all...”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The beat what I can say about this hotel is location - in the pedestrian area and within 7-10 minutes walking distance from old town. Hotel pretended to be considered as a boutique hotel but the size of the room, absence of the windows (I've stayed in the Prestige room) where in order to have a fresh air you need to open the entrance door... The other positive thing which I forgot to mention above is that rooms are clean. Otherwise average 3* hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yuri b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandralyon, Responsable réception at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Google Translation
Cher voyageur Bonjour,
Merci d’avoir partagé vos impressions avec notre équipe suite à votre séjour à l’hôtel Alexandra.
Nous sommes heureux de constater que nos récentes rénovations et la situation de notre hôtel vous ont plu. Effectivement, l’hôtel est situé à 5 minutes à pied de la place Bellecour et à 10 minutes à pied du vieux Lyon.
Concernant la taille des chambres, nous avons des chambres plus spacieuses que d’autres (les Privilège -> chambre supérieure) avec fenêtre. Seules les chambres sur la terrasse n’ont pas de fenêtre mais une porte vitré donnant accès sur la terrasse privative. N’hésitez pas à nous contacter si vous êtes amenés à revenir afin que nous vous attribuons une chambre spacieuse avec fenêtre en étage.Au plaisir de vous recevoir de nouveau, cordialement.
L’équipe de l’hôtel Alexandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    357
    88
    23
    17
See reviews for
67
340
27
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

A very warm welcome from the very friendly English speaking young lady (although I really wanted to practice my French). The hotel had cleverly been transformed from a very old building into a modern boutique hotel withclever use of limited space. The hotel was extremely clean, very comfortable bed with nice bedding. The breakfast was good & plentiful, served by two very attentive young ladies. The decor was modern, we loved the Balthazar paintings. The only thing missing in the bedrooms were tea/coffee making facilities in- a must for us English! The hotel is in a perfect location for sightseeing. We loved Lyon & hope to return one day; we would stay at the Hotel Alexandra again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandralyon, Responsable réception at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear traveler,
Thank you for having shared your impressions with our team further to your stay to the hotel Alexandra.
We are very happy to notice that you had a pleasant stay among us, that our team was up to your expectations to serve you as best possible. Our hotel was very effectively renewed recently, what offers to our customers a clean and modern place.
Our breakfast in sweet and salted buffet , offers a choice varied with cakes, pancakes and waffles made home , during beautiful days, our terrace is a pleasant place to take a breakfast in the sun.
By hoping to receive you again next time, and to make you have a stay so pleasant.
Cordially,
The Team of the Hotel Alexandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel is a redo of a prior old property in severe disrepair. It is now positioning itself as a 3 star hotel - but it absolutely is not. The staff are arrogant, and when you mention the wifi is not working - the reply is...Yes - we have problems. Really? The room sizes do not leave room for a person andluggage. The desk staff do not have time for the guests. The entrance is hidden, and my cab driver spent 20 minutes just looking for the tiny garage entrance that is also an entrance to the hotel. One very small elevator for the entire four floor hotel that works - sometimes. No help with luggage. Room was so dark I could not read. Television was 20 inches and of such poor quality that you could not decipher the screen. Towels are reminecent of Motel six in size and quality, no wash cloths, and one towel, shower is made for people the size of 10 year olds, no bathtub.....the ONLY thing this hotel has going for it is location - which I agree is convenient to downtown Lyon. Desk chair sunken in not comfortable. Pillows are shredded foam rubber. This facility should be MAYBE 2 stars at best. BEWARE!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandralyon, Responsable réception at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Madam,
Thank you for having shared your impression with our team further to your stay to the hotel Alexandra.
We are very conscious that your stay didn’t take place as you wished it, you desired a service deserving of a 5-star hotel, that we were not able to bring you. We had nevertheless specified it to you upon your arrival: that a 3-star hotel cannot bring the same services as those that you usually see frequently and we are saddened. Nevertheless, our team always makes its maximum to help our customers and make of their stay, a pleasant moment. We even brought you lamps to clear up your room, to propose drinks to refresh you, gone down your luggage during your departure up to the taxi; It shows our investments to help our customers.

To answer your remarks more exactly:

My night colleague, indicated you that the Wi-Fi worked badly, clumsiness from him, please excuse us for it because this one works correctly, he would have effectively had to look with you at the concern which appeared and you help, we did thus what's necessary with him.
As regards our panoramic elevator, it works perfectly, it’s necessary to wait for a few minutes, if other customers call it since floors so that it comes to you. But this one is spacious enough to welcome our customers and their luggage.
We suggest to our customers calling a taxi driver to their way, which comes to look for you at the foot of the hotel, but we aren't able to determining the influx on roads and thus delay which it can cause.
We are very surprised to hear that the bedding didn’t suit to you, our hotel was recently renewed and we changed entirely the bedding, which we carefully chose as its quality, on no account our pillows are rubber. Our bath towels are standard towels double thickness, know that in a motel, we are not certain that you have a comparable towel.
We thank you all the same for your remarks as well as for your stay.
Best Regards, the team of the hotel Alexandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We reserved a 3 person room last minute & were very pleased with this choice. Walking distance to old town, friendly staff & clean rooms. An elevator which was a plus. Not a beautiful room but you shouldn't be spending a lot of time in your room in Lyon anyway! We had to park on the street - had to feed the meter until 6:00pm & then after 8:30 am but we only stayed for one night - might have different plans for those who stay longer - I'd ask at the desk. Overall we felt it was a great choice for our travel needs & would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caseycat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandralyon, Responsable réception at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear traveler,
Thank you for having shared your impressions with our team further to your stay to the hotel Alexandra.We are very happy to notice that you had a pleasant stay among us, that our desk clerk's team is up to your expectations to serve you as best possible. Our hotel is ideally situated in 5 minutes on foot by the famous place Bellecour and 10 minutes of old Lyon what allows the time of a day to walk without needing the car. To park you during 24 hours or more, you know that you can reserve our privative garage within the hotel or reserve a place in one of the parking lots nearby ( Perrache / Bellecour). By hoping to receive you again next time, and to make you have a stay.
The team of the Hotel Alexandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

On arrival the receptionist was really friendly and our room was clean and modern, although quite small, but I think that is the case for most city centre hotels.
The hotel itself is located in the pedestrian area, so is really central (They do have a car park which you have to drive through the pedestrian bit to get to!)
We spent a few hours exploring central Lyon on foot while we left the car at the hotel.
Definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandralyon, Responsable réception at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear traveler,
Thank you for having shared your impressions with our team further to your stay to the hotel Alexandra. We are happy to notice that the welcome of our team was up to your expectations, you know that we have in heart to make of our hotel a warm place and friendly.
By hoping to receive you again next time and to share with you our breakfast buffet "sweet and salted" with our specialities made home.
Best Regards,
The Team of the Hotel Alexandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We arrived quite late, there was a clerk at the desk who was utter unfriendly and very unhelpful. He never looked at us but only on his computer screen. Didn't help us with the luggage we had with us, so we had to walk to the reception twice to pick them up. All he wanted to know is if we wanted breakfast (so he could charge more) He asked us twice, once on the phone and once when we arrived.
After we left we had forgotten some chargers for our phones. When we called them up they were very unhelpful and didn't bother to check. All they said was 'we don't have them' and hung the phone up!
Very rude and unpleasant experience. We would definitely NOT recommend this hotel. There are far more nicer hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Zorg in ieder geval dat je een kamer aan de straatkant krijgt, daar kunnen de ramen open. De andere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NL K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandralyon, Responsable réception at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear traveler,
We are saddened to read your message and the conditions in which you were welcomed
you know that the welcome is essential and that we make every effort so that our front desk day and night is welcoming and available to make pleasant your stay.
We shall take the necessary measures so that it does not reproduce any more and we offer you one night in our hotel to offer you a better image of our hotel, we send you an email.
Sincerely Yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed in Lyon for the weekend. Hotel is very close to the shopping street and their quaint little restos. It is great value for money for location and a no frills stay. If you are trying to woo your partner I would not recomend this hotel. However if its for a quick, practical, clean stay- its perfect. Parking under hotel is a brilliant plus too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CazH83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandralyon, La reception at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Sir,

We thank you for sharing your impressions after your stay at Hotel Alexandra.
We are pleased that our newly renovated hotel is able to meet your needs.


Thank you ,

We will be pleased to welcome you during a next stay in Lyon,

Kindly,
The Team of Hotel Alexandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Hotel La Residence
#37 of 194 in Lyon
529 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Hotel des Celestins
#15 of 194 in Lyon
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexandra

Property: Hotel Alexandra
Address: 49 rue Victor Hugo, 69002, Lyon, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Lyon
#23 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#27 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#32 Family Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alexandra 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top-of-the-range facilities, a stylish interior design and a unique location: the 4-star Hôtel Alexandracombines all the ingredients that will make your stay in the centre of Lyon a success. You will appreciate our hotel’s privileged location on Lyon Presqu’île in the 2nd arrondissement, a short walk from Place Bellecour, during a romantic getaway, a business trip or a family holiday. Our hotel’s 34 rooms (seven of which are next to our flower-covered interior terrace), which offer a meticulous and refined interior design, cleverly combine modernity and tradition. Comfort and style reign in this extremely charming old residence, inspired by the apartments in the historical neighbourhood of Ainay. Our Elegance and Privilege Double rooms (2 people), Executive Family rooms (up to 4 people) and Prestige Family rooms (up to 5 people) offer a complete range of facilities. Our charming hotel invites you to relax during a romantic getaway in the heart of Lyon, or if you are passing through to attend a conference or on a business trip. You will appreciate the hotel’s peaceful atmosphere and the proximity of the public transport system, half-way between Place Bellecour and Lyon Perrache train station, just a few minutes’ walk away. Our family rooms can cater for up to 5 people for family holidays, visiting theunmissable tourist sites Our south-facing flower-covered interior patio, unique in the heart of Lyon, offers a swing seat and deckchairs where you can relax . When the weather is fine, it will provide you with a sun deck in the day time or a charming terrace in the evening with its many filtered lights. A seasonal bar opened from monday to sunday, from May to August, welcomes you for the aperitif around a glass of wine and a plate of home-made savoury pastries. The entire hotel team places its know-how and its professionalism at your service to ensure that your stay in Lyon is convivial, charming and comfortable. Be seduced by the cosy atmosphere, the warm welcome and the quality facilities during your stay in the City of Lights! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alexandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing