We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Campanile Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu
Ranked #43 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Champaign, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“good place to stay”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel was very convenient for arriving/leaving by train and/or arriving/leaving by the bus to the airport in Lyon. The staff is helpful and friendly, the restaurant is good, the room is quite comfortable, and the bathroom is very nice. My only criticism is that the room was too warm, even with the window open, otherwise everything was perfect for me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peri2114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    483
    183
    42
    12
See reviews for
139
260
81
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Good location! Stepped out from train station, you must find this hotel. The interior design, colour and the lighting would not make you comfortable but they are clean and tidy. The standard room is OK for 1 man, a little bit crowded for couples. Everything is tiny and looks like a dorm. The breakfast is awful, everything is cold (even the pancakes/crepe from kitchen are cold) and not in good quality. It doesn't worth 9.5 euro.

Staffs are nice and fluent in English.
Ok for overnight stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ollieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were on our second night of a trip down to the South of France and, because my husband had a romantic idea of just booking something when we came across it, we found ourselves half way through the afternoon, tired and with nowhere to stay and close to Lyons. We booked the Campanile because having very occasionally stayed in them in past years we knew they were far from luxurious but of a reasonable standard and clean!

The pubic parts of the hotel are very nice, as is the restaurant where we ate dinner and breakfast. Nothing outstanding but decent food and a reasonable price.

However, when my Husband opened the door of our room, my heart sank! Ahead of me was a "hanging contraption" in Campanile lime green, meant for hanging clothes because there was no room at all for a wardrobe. The room was minute and I would say almost claustrophobic but then again Lyon is a business centre and I guess this hotel is mostly used for one-nighters! I would not have wanted to stay any longer.

On the plus side, the bed was comfortable, everything was clearly recently refurbished including the bathroom and the shower was good.

Definitely not my sort of hotel but clean - yes, reasonably comfortable - yes and for Lyon - a reasonable price. My advice though is to do what we should have done and find a good B&B outside the City before you travel! We hit Lyon in rush hour, a nightmare and even with an excellent satnav it was still difficult to navigate!

Oh, and by the way, the hotel charges you for parking!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaloverEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Great service, willing to cheerfully help even after the umpteenth question I had asked that day!
It's a hotel for business people, so it is well set up to work and relax.

Fantastic breakfast buffet which is worth the extra €9.50, there is also free instant coffee, tea and mints in the room.

Our room was a little small for twin beds but the bathroom was big and the shower was huge which was a very welcome surprise.

When you are arriving by train, go out the exit at the 'K' platform end and the hotel is straight in front of you across the bus/tram stations. Easy if you are traveling around by train.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kirstie-lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winters, California
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Proximity to Gare Lyon Part Dieu- a short 100 m walk from station - convenience to metro, buses etc. Staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful, rooms compact but very functional with small but excellent shower/amenities, coffee/tea making in room, free Wi-Fi, quiet - definitely for visits where you only need a room for sleeping, not relaxing, because of compact size. Limited breakfast (cereal, croissants/crepes, fresh bread/ham/cheese, 2 juices, good coffee). Can't say enough about all of the staff - excellent English and extremely accommodating and helpful - excellent value overall

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie33283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The hotel has a nice location, coming with a train it's just next to train station.

It is ideal place for not searching too much for hotels. The rooms are clean and the staff are OK, just the rooms are a bit too small. Good value for the money altough.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

This hotel, directly across from the train station,  is an ideal place to hang your hat for a night or so if you've got an early or late train out of Part-Dieu.  The rooms are small but clean, and have coffee and tea facilities, French TV, and free, dependable wifi.  The staff were friendly and efficient, and the on-site restaurant offers reasonably-priced meals.  Walking back in the direction I'd the station and through to the other side takes you to a large shopping station with all the major shops (Galleries Lafayette, Zara, etc), restaurants, and a grocery store (Monoprix).  The metro is also not far away, which takes you into the old part of Lyon in about 15 minutes.  We paid 49€ online and were pretty happy with the Campanile Part-Dieu.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rugbymug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu
0.3 mi away
Ibis Lyon Gare La Part Dieu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Lyon Part Dieu Les Halles
0.1 mi away
Mercure Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu
0.1 mi away
Residence Hoteliere Temporim Part Dieu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu

Property: Campanile Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu
Address: 31 rue Maurice Flandin | Le Forum, 69003, Lyon, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Lyon Centre Forum Part-Dieu Hotel Lyon
Campanile Hotel Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing