We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel but not if you're a tourist”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Lyon Confluence
Ranked #26 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“Excellent hotel but not if you're a tourist”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The hotel was impeccable, in a completely renewed part of town, right next to a shopping center and most importantly close to the Hotel de Région where I had meetings for 2 days. Even though the quality of services was great, the hotel was a little bit far from the center, which is also why I would recommend a more central hotel if you're just visiting the town. Apart from that, a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank maxime_ramon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    514
    127
    35
    24
See reviews for
287
472
50
219
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trets, Bouches Du Rhone
Level Contributor
91 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed two nights in this brand new area of the town and were rather agreably surprised.The hotel is located in the new Confluence area, overlooking the river Saone, that was very high and fast due to the bad weather conditions that we have been facing all through this Spring so far. The room is wide and clean, the bathroom new and the Italian shower a big achievement. We were overlooking the roof of the nearby mall but had a nice view of Fourvieres. The breakfast is ok, with a large choice of teas and food. The mall is pleasant, with relaxing music, waterwalls, space and light. There is a food court on the upper deck, with a large choice of restaurants or fast foods, and most of them offer al fresco dining with view either on the Saone or the new and small Confluence Marina. You can reach the city very centre quickly by tramway (10 minutes to Guillotiere and a short walk accross the Rhone or 5 minutes to the tube in Perrache).The parking is secured and not too expensive. Considering the bad weather conditions, we took the Bed and Art offer and were given the 2 days Lyon card which entitled us to visit freely all the museums and public transportation (be aware that the latter you validate you card in the tram on the 1st day, the shorter you will use the card since it works by day and not by 24 hours).Furthermore, the hotel is easily reached from the A7 motorway which is appreciable when you come from the south as we did.We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ynis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The hotel located in a safe quite area within easy reach of Lyon via car . One of the best receptionists we have ever had who knew every tourist attraction and its metro station. Would definitely recommend this hotel if you're visiting Lyon. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fred d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zingem belgium
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

stayed here recently on 2 occasions:very nice hotel-brandnaw and with easy access to the old town: walking along the saone river,by tramway or even with a boat;Breakfast is good,although not with large choice of food,as in similar hotels in the north(germany,scandinavia...).Rooms are well equipped-super modern-with a large "rain-type" shower.
on the nagative I could only mention that the bar closed at 11 pm,and as we arrived late,we had to look elsewhere for a drink.
The area around is in full development,so lots of concrete... but as a foothold to visit the city or shopping in the adjacent mall its a good choice

Room Tip: our room on the 5th floor was quiet at night and the windows can be opened,(unlike in lots of hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swanny01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The hotel is very new and part of a newly built shopping mall, which also holds restaurants, cinema and the like. It is situated on the riverbank of the Saone, which is a nice feature when the sun is shining and you sit at the outside terrace. Rooms are clean and spacious. Car parking offered by the hotel at a reduced rate, in the mall parking lot. (8eur/24h)
Staff very friendly. Surroundings of the hotel is pretty ugly, it seemed like the whole area was up for re-development and the hotel and mall were the first stage of the process.

2 small minuses: airco did not work properly, maybe to little capacity for the size of the room, and I found a yoghurt 2 weeks past its due date in the breakfast buffet.

Other than that: good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amsterdam-duo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My first visit to this hotel last month was great! It was a business trip and my client made all the arrangements and I must add it was a perfect choice. Entire property looked new and well-furnished. Not only exterior, but interior of the building was equally impressive. I loved everything here - my room, the food and the staff. Will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We chose this hotel as we were travelling by car through France but wanted to be able to leave the car somewhere safe during our stay in Lyon. It is a new hotel and as other reviewers have mentioned there is still some building work going on in the local area.
We took the tram into the centre and then it was quite easy to walk around the old town etc. it was also good to have the option to get the vaporetto back to the hotel.
Rooms were very well thought out with lots of mod cons. Staff were welcoming and helpful with advice about the local area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Perrache - Charlemagne
Quality Suites Lyon Confluence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Lyon Confluence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Lyon Confluence

Property: Novotel Lyon Confluence
Address: 3 rue Paul Montrochet, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Perrache - Charlemagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Lyon Confluence 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the town center, Lyons' old town and Perrache TGV train station, the Novotel Lyon Confluence is located in the heart of the new Confluence district between the Rhône and Saône rivers, near the leisure and shopping districts. This hotel has 150 very modern rooms, a restaurant, a lounge bar overlooking the Saône, free WIFI throughout the hotel, meeting rooms, a fitness center and a private car park. An ideal location for business travel, a romantic break or a family vacation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Lyon Confluence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing