We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, dated hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Residence
Ranked #39 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great location, dated hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Have stayed in this hotel many times when travelling back to Lyon for work purposes. It's in a great location in the city, close to Place Bellecour and the metro system, with Bellecour being one of the main interchange stations. Reception staff are always pleasant and speak good English. The wifi is free and is quick enough for my needs. The rooms are variable in both size and quality. Generally they feel quite dated, in keeping with what appears to be a fairly old hotel. Standard quality though with comfortable, warm, bed, a well-stocked minibar, decent wifi and tv and a small safe. Never tried the breakfast as prefer to get juice and a croissant from a bakery. Overall, it's fine for what I need for short stays.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkP39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicolas b, Responsable réception at Hotel La Residence, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor.

We're delighted to know , you've a pleasant stay in our hotel.

We're renewing all our rooms to make you live the best possible experience.

We thank you for your loyalty and shall be deligthed to welcome you again for a next stay.

Sincerely,
Nicolas Blanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    278
    110
    12
    2
See reviews for
123
180
33
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed here for about 9 days. My first reaction was that the room was rather tight, and you could tell they struggled to get everything to fit. The bathtub was apparently custom made to get fit, and the toilet was in a different "room", more like a closet. That said, it was a fine, albeit smaller, room, and had a fridge and a desk that was quite viable for working. One thing of interest: it did look like many of the other rooms were smaller. The room was clean, bed comfortable. The place was well lit.

One thing that has to be said: The internet was plenty fast. Thank you!

Another plus: the hotel is very well located. It is right down town, and you can get most places by foot, and the metro stops are nearby for catching subways to other locations. There is a store next door.

Given that the reviews were not overly positive about the breakfast (8 euros), and that I can go without breakfast and there are plenty of places to get a croissant or something, I did not have breakfast at the hotel.

All my interactions with the staff were very positive.

I was somewhat mystified by the hot water pot in the room given that they did not provide a tea cup, and seldom provided a teabag or instant coffee. They should provide both.

There are lots of places to eat withing walking distance. Abel's and Le Sud are very good choices. I would recommend reservations at Abel.

Bottom line: A fine choice, but don't expect much beyond a solid room, very helpful staff at the desk, and a good location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous-Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicolas b, Responsable réception at Hotel La Residence, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor.

It's very useful to see positive points and what we have to improve to provide you the best possible stay.

We hope to welcome you for your next stay.

Sincerely,
Nicolas Blanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

I booked a quad room with two double beds! perfect for adult friends traveling alone - which, apparently, does not exist. What we got was a double bedded room and then a windowless room off it with twin bunk beds. At first we were put off by this but it turned out fine. The staff were exceptionally helpful when I had a problem with my next hotel, so much so that I increased the rating.

The room was clean, quiet and basic. The fact that we could share a room made the cost quite reasonable - it is a great deal for a family with children or a group of friends.

The old city is across the river - you can walk across the nearby bridge or take the metro, which is close. The hotel is located on a semi-pedestrian shopping street a short walk from the main square.

Good WiFi.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taureg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicolas b, Responsable réception at Hotel La Residence, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay at Hôtel la Résidence.

We look forward to welcome you again very soon.

Best regards,
Nicolas Blanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Hotel La Residence is in an excellent location. It offers good comfort, and a convenient location. The beds are comfortable, and the service was good, and overall, we were not disappointed with the booking. Thank you.


  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicolas b, Responsable réception at Hotel La Residence, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for sharing your comments about your stay

It's very good to know that you had a great stay in our hotel

We look forward to welcome you again in Lyon,

Best regards,
N.Blanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
213 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Three of us spent a weekend here in a triple room which was generous in size; quiet, clean with all the usual bathroom amenities and a large bathroom as well! We has a 4th floor room looking out into an inner courtyard.

Two of us arrived around 11.00am and the gentleman at reception was very pleasant and allowed us to go directly to our room - something which doesn't always happen.

We didn't breakfast in the hotel as met other friends staying elsewhere to sample food around the city. On checkout, the hotel was happy to store our bags until late afternoon.

Intend to return to Lyon and have no hesitation in staying here again as it is such a central location and a wonderful price - booked on venere.com (first time) and very happy with it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicolas b, Responsable réception at Hotel La Residence, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for sharing your comments about your stay
We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel
We look forward to welcome you again in Lyon,

Best regards,
N.Blanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Great location. We were in old room with very shabby pillows. Almost no stuffing. Other than that we enjoyed our stay. Dated hotel but location makes up for it. We loved Lyon. I agree with others breakfast is not good and not worth the money. There are plenty of shops and a Carrefour to the right of the hotel walk down the mall towards McDonalds. Staff were friendly and Metro short walk to the left of the hotel. Information centre is also nearby.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
141 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed here with some friends over a weekend in August. The building looks a bit old from the outside but inside it has been modernised and the room was very nicely done up and very comfortable. We had a third floor room with a small balcony overlooking the main pedestrianised street running between Place Bellecour and Perache station. It's a good central location for exploring all parts of the city on foot or by bike or public transport.

The staff were friendly and checking in and out was quick and easy. The TV and wifi worked well and the shower was reliable with good water pressure and temperature and the aircon kept the room cool during the hot weather. The only downsides were that it was a bit pricey, but that is the case with any half decent hotel in France in August, and that we thought we had booked a triple room with 3 single beds but ended up with a double and a single.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Choccy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Hotel des Celestins
#14 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Hotel Alexandra
#32 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Elysee Hotel
#69 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel des Artistes
#34 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Hotel Bayard Bellecour
#81 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Citadines Presqu'ile Lyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Residence

Property: Hotel La Residence
Address: 18 rue Victor Hugo, 69002, Lyon, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 3-star hotel is located in the heart of downtown Lyon, a 5 -minute walk from Old Lyon , 150 meters from the Place Bellecour and 10 minutes from Confluence . Our central location allows you to discover all the attractions of Lyon life , both in terms of shopping, cultural tours or even the many restaurants making Lyon the capital of gastronomy. Our modern rooms with contemporary decor are equipped with flat - screen television, mini bar, air conditioning , hospitality tray with tea and coffee making facilities . A friendly and personal welcome awaits you and we will be happy to advise you throughout your stay to make you enjoy the charms of our beautiful city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Hotel
La Residence Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing