We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At the center of Lyons”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson
Ranked #32 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Chambon-sur-Voueize, France
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“At the center of Lyons”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We wanted to stay at the very heart of Lyons. The BW Pont Wilson was the perfect match.
We could explore the town by walking around the hotel. Unlike many hôtels in France, the room had plenty of space (and a nice balcony).

We got good support from the staff (admittedly from a person from Guatemala).

Just one negative. Parking is difficult in the center of Lyons. The website should warn us about this.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 16frogprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    313
    117
    14
    10
See reviews for
62
325
52
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

The benefit of this hotel is its location which is based half minute walk from Rhone river and 5-10 minutes walk from Lyon city center. there are more hotels in this area, but their price was less interesting at least when i visited Lyon, in April 2014.

I was on a business trip and i paid for a room with breakfast and free wifi around 125 euros per night which is considered a good value for money for this location.

the hotel is a business hotel, not something great, but clean, with nice breakfast and helpful staff.

the room itself was decent, with a big flat TV screen with a good variety of channels, though the only english one was BBC and the only Deutsch ZDF. But the French channels variety was great with also a good selection of sports events.

the view of my room, although in the 6th floor, was dreadful, really bad in fact, since my window was watching some neigbour buildings and balconies with clothes waiting to be dried despite the rain!

overall though, i would suggest this hotel, mainly due to each location and price when compared with similar hotels around the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The hotel was well located, you could easily access all the interesting places by foot (~20-30 minutes range). The breakfast, which was included in our reservation, was plenty and had a good diversity of things to choose from. The room was nice and clean. Mini-bar a bit pricey and nothing special, poor quality shampoo and shower gel. Good wi-fi. It was worth the price we paid for. Also we stayed on the 4th floor and although the view was kind of poor there wasn´t much noise.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

On weekends there is a lovely market by the river just over the road from the hotel.
When taking the train to and from the airport; the hotel is a 20min walk to/from the station.
Those who are visiting Lyon for the food you will not be disappointed. I highly reccomend the non tourist street Rue des Marronniers. It is a ten minute walk from the hotel, It's a lovely narrow cobbled street of rustic, quaint restaurants where you are spoilt for choice. The clientele is made up of locals and not tourists. The proprietors are very friendly to English visitors.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hampstead30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

I give this a 4 star because I sensed a genuine effort by the staff to make my stay comfortable although I did not know French. The location is not bad since it is next to the Rhones and is only a short walk away from the old city. If you are into running, do pack your asics as this place is just next to the running track along the Rhones river.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ajay9252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The staff was so friendly and very helpful. The room was very clean and a nice size. Internet was included, and thankfully had a good connection, which I can say for most of the hotels I've stayed in in that area. Breakfast had a large variety and was set up in a cozy little dining area. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Went here as a surprise for my birthday and was very pleased from the moment we walked in. Desk staff all spoke a number of languages, the room was clean, spacious and the bed very comfortable. Mini bar (bit pricey) and tea and coffee making facilities were available.
The hotel is almost on the River Rhone and very hab=ndy for going into town and the weekend markets our on your doorstep.
The breakfast was top rate with many choices overall our stay was great.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brogiecfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Hotel Alexandra
#35 of 194 in Lyon
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Plaza Republique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson

Property: Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson
Address: 6 Rue Mazenod, 69003, Lyon, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#23 Business Hotel in Lyon
#26 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#31 Family Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 54 rooms, this hotel is a short distance from the banks of the Rhone, between Place Bellecour and the Part Dieu business district. Entirely renovated NON SMOKING rooms with the latest in modern decor. Features broadband WiFi Internet, LCD TV, minibar, safe, feather bed and airconditioning. Bathrooms with bathtub and hair dryer. 7 Junior Suites, maximum comfort, unspoiltd view over the Rhone and Fourviere hill. Private parking, hoist access max. 2000 Kg. Luxury hotel for tourism and business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Lyon Wilson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing