We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson
Ranked #32 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Maybe”
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Walking into the hotel for the first time, I wasn't impressed. These was an unpleasant bathroom smell in the reception area. It seems to be ok in the morning but as the afternoon arrives, the smell comes back. The location was ok: not really right in the middle to it all but close enough to walk to main attractions.
Right away you can tell this is an older property that went through renovation. The bedroom is ok. Yes it could be quite warm at night because of no air conditioning but what you can do is to ask for a fan from the front desk and open the window. As for the bathrom, a glass separating a bath tub from the sink area is too short. Doesn't matter how you shower, the floor will be wet once you're done. By the way, their exfoliating soap is good!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asatis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    311
    115
    14
    10
See reviews for
61
322
51
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Arrived one Saturday after a long holiday in Provence and needed somewhere with secure parking which this hotel has although spaces are limited. Reception staff seemed very stretched but organised.
The room requested was for 2 single beds and we were given a double. The girl on reception was so helpful but had to close the hotel as she was on her own. She even made the beds up herself.
Location is good an easy walk across the bridge into Lyon and plenty of restaurants.
The next morning there was actually no room in the hotel to take breakfast so we had to walk into the town. Being Sunday it was not that easy to find many places open, although there was a lovely market by both rivers.
Hotel is typical Best Western, clean, comfortable but nothing special.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovehotelstays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponta Delgada, Portugal
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

The thing we most appreciate was the location. We could walk to old town.
Regarding the hotel... its an average hotel. A Best western like all other.

Do not follow the dinner recommendations... you should look here for tips.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaquelMoniz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed here for one night in transit. We would have left early if we'd been booked for a second night, with the airconditioning not working this hotel is too hot and we couldn't sleep. The room was OK, but the common areas of the hotel are a bit shabby and could be cleaned better. The staff were quite helpful. Don't book this without checking they have fixed the A/C!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank workingineurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We got to the Best Western Hotel du Pont Wilson; our room was on the sixth floor (seventh floor, American).
The temperature was in the 90's. We were told the air conditioning was not working. Our room was OK, clean and spacious. I later went down to the front desk and asked when they expected the air conditioning to be fixed. The manager told me six to eight weeks! In other words, not until the weather cooled off. I suspect this is a ruse; do they just refuse to use the A/C because it is too expensive? The desk clerk gave me a "personal air conditioner", i.e., fan. This helped enough that we decided to stay. The next morning, I went downstairs to ask for a tourist map. The clerk told me that I would have to cross the river, turn left, and walk for ten minutes to a tourist information stand to get a map. I asked the clerk where we could find a nice local restaurant. He said that there were none on that side of the river; they were all on the right bank; cross the bridge, turn left, and walk for 10 minutes. (The hotel breakfast was 14 euros!!) No particular recommendation. No information. No effort to accommodate. No care. No return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reaxpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Nice hotel, well placed, clean and quiet. Qust a little problem with the safe in the room but the personell was very kind and efficient to resolve it. The room was nice and clean. Parking a little small for the hotel but with the booking on time there was no problem.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

After reading the glowing reviews and the pictures on the website we were both a little disappointed with this hotel. It is OK but just a little on the shabby side. The reception smelt a little - maybe it was some weird freshener. Our room on the third floor was comfortable but tiny. The air conditioning was not working so we had to leave the windows open. As one other reviewer mentioned, it's not a bad area but seems to be frequented by a lot of young kids who were making a racket in the alley way downstairs - so we had to close the window in in the middle of the night. Formica was peeling off several areas of the furnishings. All was very clean and well maintained and the bed very comfortable. We paid €105 a night which included breakfast (courtesy of a Tripadvisor coupon!). Thank goodness we didn't have to pay the €16 pp charge - it was a pretty sad affair. Dried up eggs and sausages which must have been there from 7 a.m. that morning and a poor assortment of cold cuts. Staff were very helpful and the area quite convenient. Coffee/tea making equipment in the room and a good decent hairdryer! Lyon is a fabulous city and would highly recommend for a weekend trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wgoater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Hotel Alexandra
#34 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Hotel des Celestins
#15 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson

Property: Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson
Address: 6 Rue Mazenod, 69003, Lyon, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#23 Business Hotel in Lyon
#26 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#31 Family Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 54 rooms, this hotel is a short distance from the banks of the Rhone, between Place Bellecour and the Part Dieu business district. Entirely renovated NON SMOKING rooms with the latest in modern decor. Features broadband WiFi Internet, LCD TV, minibar, safe, feather bed and airconditioning. Bathrooms with bathtub and hair dryer. 7 Junior Suites, maximum comfort, unspoiltd view over the Rhone and Fourviere hill. Private parking, hoist access max. 2000 Kg. Luxury hotel for tourism and business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Hotel Du Pont Wilson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Lyon Wilson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing