We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Etap: Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ibis Budget Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu
Ranked #29 of 196 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Decided to spend a weekend in Lyon on a whim with my cousin, we took the 11.29 am train from Geneva and arrived in Lyon around 13.30.

Our weekend trip was a spur of the moment thing, so we decided to book a hotel that was close to the main train station downtown, and of course, cost was also a big consideration. I've stayed In Novotel hotels before so we tried out Novotel's budget hotel, Etap. As mentioned Etap belongs to the Novotel family of hotels, if I'm not mistaken, I think Etap is the cheapest chain, followed by Ibis, then Mercure, then the priciest which is Novotel.

We got a double room that had a bunk bed for 65 Euros (with tax, it came to about 70 Euros). We felt it was good deal because of the location and it's cleanliness. Since it's a budget hotel, there are some amenities that are not available (e.g. gym, swimming pool, room phone, big storage cabinets), but for the most part, you can place a request with the reception desk and they'll get you what you need - we found out that we could borrow a hair dryer and ironing board.

We found it very convenient that it was just a few metres away from the train station. To get to Etap, you have to get out of the main train station, just go towards the direction of the boulangerie "Paul" turn right at the exit and less than 50 metres away you'll find Etap. Mercure is just right beside it.

Breakfast is paid for separately and the hotel lobby, including all the rooms have wifi connection.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wasabi1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (761)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Budget Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 761 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stumbled off a two hour late night train with backpacks and no clue where we would stay. Within a block we found three hotels in one building, and Etap (in the middle) was the best deal. We got a very clean room with two beds. The staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was a good value. The hotel offered a computer and printer in the lobby, which was very helpful since we had not brought a laptop. When we checked out, they held our backpacks so we could sightsee unencumbered until our train was due. I felt very safe here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This hotel has been entirely renovated. Rooms have been designed to be both cost-effective for the hotel owner and smart for the clients. My double room was at a rate of 72 Eur, which is the standard for a 2 star hotel in this area,but the breakfast at 5,90 Eur is worth what we usually have in other hotels for twice the price. The overall price of 78 Eur for the night is excellent.
I very much appreciated my room. Details have been thought to make the atmosphere cosy, like indirect lightning with LEDs in the wall (even the shower has a changing color LED). The bed was very good, and the sound isolation excellent: heavy doors to the coridor, and double window. The TV screen is large (32'). The budget aspect of the hotel is seen with the bathroom: there is none ! Actually, it is integrated in the room (no separation), and the shower cabin directly opens in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duaneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdeck10
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel about 3 days after its opening. Despite that the rooms were OK-ish, I did have a few problems and the staff was simple not willing to help me, they were very rude and they basically shoved me to the side without making any efforts. The beds were far too hard and the pillows far too soft, the airco/heater did not work, internet was not available in the room, the decoration was only concrete and the paining was only half finished (not sure they will finish it). In other words: there are many alternatives in Lyon, DON'T pick this hotel, you will regret it. I stay about 60-80 nights per year in a hotel and this was my worst experience EVER!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MP1973Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank kerr j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank aurorer501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Part Dieu - Bir Hakeim
Premiere Classe Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu

Address: 52 rue de la Villette, 69003, Lyon, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 196 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range: $55 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Budget Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing