We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only go if you eat mussels”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bleu de Toi - CLOSED

Bleu de Toi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating
Description: "Bleu de toi", a resturant based in the heart of Lyon in the world famous rue Merciere, specialises in mussels & fries, and also fish "a la carte" or steak from our local butcher with all you fries. If you are in a hurry, but value high quality food istead of eating fast food, the "Bleu de toi" is the right place to go! And if you come through TRIPADVISOR, we will offer you a cocktail of your choice! See you very soon! You'll warmly be welcome."Bleu de toi", restaurant situe dans le coeur de Lyon, dans la fameuse rue merciere, specialise dans les moules-frites, avec aussi des poissons a la carte ainsi qu'une viande de boeuf. Si vous etes presses mais que vous voulez manger "bon" et non pas du fast food, le "Bleu de toi" sera votre meilleur choix! Et si vous venez grace a TRIPADVISOR, un cocktail vous sera offert! A tres bientot! Nous vous attendons avec le sourire!
London, England
Level Contributor
145 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Only go if you eat mussels”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We went to Bleu de Toi as were under the impression that it was a fish restaurant. However, unless you eat mussels, there is very little choice. As I don't eat shell fish, it meant the choice was limited to salmon or tuna. Even then, there isn't much choice, either tuna carpaccio or a plate of smoked salmon (with chips and salad?? very strange) or a few other options.

It's very lively and after a couple of mojitos, the disappointment of lack of choice didn't seem as bad, but I was hoping for some amazing food in Lyon and don't think smoked salmon (and it wasn't even good quality!) and chips gave me a taste of the gourmet offerings available.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RATSOMATIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    21
    18
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
303 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Ah! Moules et Frites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Walked by this place during lunch hour having already eaten elsewhere and decided to return for dinner. As with many french eating establishments, they close around 2 to 3 and reopen at 7-7:30. This place is definitely worth finding if you like mussels. They prepare them about 10 different ways including a "moules de moi" monthly special. There is a decently priced lunch special but available only weekdays. The mussels come with a very tasty green salad with kidney beans and corn and a very light vinaigrette style dressing. The mussels come in a pot that looked like it might hold a gallon of liquid. I didn't count them but guessed there were 4 to 5 dozen mussels in a serving. I had the house version "bleu de toi" (creme fraiche and mushrooms) and my wife had the "mariniere" preparation (white wine and shallots). The mussels were cooked perfectly, plump and tender and not overcooked the way so many places tend to serve this meal. The sauces were outstanding. I soaked mine up with the excellent bread accompanying the meal. As for the frites we had a difference of opinion. My wife loved them but my preference is for thinner and crispier frites so I gave them a B. Overall though a great value. Finished with a crepe and vanilla ice cream that was great. Add in a 50 cl house red (Cotes du Rhone) and the tab was just around 40E. A good value for a great meal.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Frenchguy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonding, Austria
Level Contributor
397 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“cozy mussel restaurant for mostly local clientele always busy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

If you love mussels, that's the place to go. reasonable priced it is very busy but one can usually find a spot. very small tables and cramped. If you need space don't go there, if you love being immersed in the french life go there. Fast service. Mussel come with salad and fries. highly recommended for an easy lunch but not a gourmet dinner.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barbaraebner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
131 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Fantastic Mussels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

We went to this restaurant because my husband loves seafood. He had the mussels and said that they were absolutely delicious. It was a huge bowl of mussels in some sort of cheese sauce. The restaurant was packed but we were lucky enough to get a table outside. Not being a huge seafood fan, I chose to eat the steak, thinking that it would probably be pretty average as this was a seafood restaurant but I was wrong. The steak was also delicious and well-done just as I had asked for. The meal was very reasonably priced.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarggyCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bleu de Toi also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing