We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel with brilliant staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection
Ranked #3 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We went to Lyon for a foodie break and to relax. The Hotel Carlton reception staff are the best!! They will help you with anything you need. I really appreciated that the staff advised us on what to do in Lyon as soon as we got there. Highly recommended - we would stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shredoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

516 - 522 of 1,437 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

Loved the Carlton Lyon! Staff was friendly and super-helpful. Rooms and common areas were all very nice. We had a nice view over the square with the carrousel. Very good location-walk to everything, also easy to get cabs and bike rentals. The air conditioning is good by european standards, but if you like to sleep in a cool room, be sure to cool it down in time and ask for a lighter blanket or sheet. Breakfast was decent (bread not really up to French standards) and convenient. The breakfast room staff was very nice and helpful. Ask for eggs if you like and they'll be made up to your order. The bar is nice, too. We didn't make use of all the available services, but there's room service and a spa too. We had a wonderful experience here and would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Singeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I Arrive with my two enfants terribles, having been car bound for 6 hours, greeted by the Lovely Marika, who as welcomes go, could not have been more hospitable, attentive and friendly if she tried. The room entirely comfortable, the bed heaven and the food was a welcome taste extravaganza after such a long trip. If you're driving between London and Côte D'Azur, do treat yourself to this slice of hidden luxury. My new little getaway treat!!

Room Tip: Comer room for space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

The hotel is located in the center of Lyon. It's a 10 minute walk to almost all of the major sites. They have parking provided for a daily charge (it's a garage around the corner). The hotel was immaculate. The front desk staff were very helpful and kind. The bartender was friendly and also equally helpful. The room was large, clean, and very comfortable. I would absolutely return!!

Room Tip: We had a 5th floor corner room that was pretty spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MCBMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and loved it. Room was beautifully decorated with a lovely balcony. Staff were amazing. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was very tasty with a wide variety of good. I
would stay here again in a heartbeat. I also received a lovely little gift on check out-a really nice touch.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
4  Thank Fabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and found the upgraded room to be comfortable and quiet if a bit cramped. There was no place to unpack either in the room or in the well-appointed bathroom. The very nice bathroom amenities were doled out as of they were gold; I had to ask for body lotion and couldn't get a second one until the first was totally used up! That being said, the location was perfect for exploring Lyon and the breakfast was terrific. The staff were extremely friendly but not always as knowledgable they should have been. I would give The Carlton 3 1/2 stars, not 4.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelfiendNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I stayed here for 2 weeks for a business trip and was really impressed throughout my stay. The staff are extremely courteous and helpful, and speak perfect English. The hotel is beautiful inside and out, and the rooms are as well. The whole place has a classic atmosphere but is still modern.

My one ask would be that they have a gym / fitness center, but this seems to be typical of French hotels so that might be asking too much!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cour des Loges
#10 of 194 in Lyon
1,343 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection

Address: 4 rue Jussieu, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#1 Family Hotel in Lyon
#2 Business Hotel in Lyon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#4 Green Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: $165 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be enchanted by the Carlton Lyon hotel, located on the peninsula. Despite being fully renovated in 2013, it has retained its authenticity and personality, blending contemporary comfort with sophistication. Relax in one of the 80 tastefully decorated rooms or in the cozy atmosphere of the bar. The hotel is just a 5-minute walk from the Bellecour metro stop and is the ideal base for exploring Lyon, with its opera house, museums, the St. Jean cathedral and more. Located between the Rhone and Saone rivers, the Carlton Lyon hotel was built in 1894 as a "petit palace" in Lyon. Punctuated by its forged iron balconies, dome and rotundas, its splendid Haussmann facade echoes the refinement of its historical decor. The hotel's "Signature" rooms also highlight artists who have stayed there. Travelers will appreciate immersing themselves in the splendid adornments of the many talents that have visited the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing