We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection
Ranked #2 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Front desk excellant, we explained we had a reservation at a restaurant that evening, map produced restaurant route marked. Lyon card for travel next day produced and charged to room. Our room 406 overlooked side street, but hotel is extremely quiet. Our room even had windows you can open, not usual these days. Room was clean, bed comfortable, great walk in shower, separate toilet. hotel refurb in 2013, so still smart and clean with modern touches, but still retains its old world charm. Original lift still operates, although modernised you know how old it is. No restaurant, but serves a great varied breakfast. nice bar on the ground floor. All staff appeared genuinely happy to be working there, nothing too much.

Room Tip: rooms over looking place de la republic have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raymondo190735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    890
    327
    43
    5
    6
See reviews for
193
701
31
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Words can't convey what an amazing hotel this was! The location was perfect. The hotel itself was gorgeous and I loved the elevator!! Our room was decorated tastefully and impressively clean....no dust in sight. The best part was the beds. They were so comfy. I was also impressed by how large the room was...esp the bathroom. I do wish the room had more than one round mirror. It was a little hard to get ready with the hubby.;) Highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank purpleladyslippers8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Newly renovated, great attention to detail.
Clean. Wonderful service, even during the new years day.
Perfect location, at the center of Lyon, near old town, near shopping, near food street.

Lovely preserved elevator.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianSarwono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The staff were really attentive and genuinely interested in helping us in everything we were doing. Great location in the centre of the city too. Easy walk to most things. Near the underground but we didn't use it. Rooms were large and recently renovated too. Cute balconies in our two rooms. Nice amenities including Nespresso machine and water. Really comfy bed ... Best we had in our whole month away. Highly recommended and for what we paid (it was late December) really good value too.

Room Tip: Not sure but I think all rooms get a good view and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Carlton, along with our 2 adult daughters, for 2 nights in early January 2014. We would happily have stayed for longer, both because the hotel was a delight to stay in, and also because the city of Lyon was such a beautiful place, a bit like a mini Paris. The Roman ruins were magnificent, as was the Basilica perched high on a cliff which is accessed via the fenicular railway. The shopping and restaurant districts of the old town were quite magical. Renovations to the hotel had only been done recently, and the hotel seemed brand new. Our rooms were beautiful, blending traditional architecture with modern facilities. Breakfast was fabulous. The elevator was a stand-out highlight; such a piece of working history! From the check-in desk to the restaurant staff to the room attendants, everyone was so welcoming and helpful. It was with some reluctance that we left Lyon and the Hotel Carlton to return to Paris, and we sincerely hope to make a return visit in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scorpioprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at the Carlton on several previous visits to Lyon. The hotel is a grand old 19th century building in the heart of Lyon. On our last visit, however, the Carlton was beginning to show its age and was looking more shabby than venerable. Thus we were very pleased to return to Lyon and find that the Carlton had undergone an extensive and successful renovation. Happily they preserved (and refurbished) the original cage-style elevator which must be the oldest still operating elevator in all of France. The elevator while charming, is slow, and it’s the only one. It’s unfortunate that they couldn’t have found a way to install a second elevator during the renovation—the Carlton is really too big to have just one elevator. But this is a minor inconvenience. The Carlton, already a good hotel, in now much better. Our room was very large by French standards and quite comfortable. The front desk personnel were friendly, efficient, helpful, and made excellent restaurant suggestions. In sum, the Carlton deserves its place as TA’s top rated hotel in Lyon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhetor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Cour des Loges
#10 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Hotel Vaubecour
#1 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Villa Florentine
#7 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection
Address: 4 rue Jussieu, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#1 Family Hotel in Lyon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#1 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#2 Business Hotel in Lyon
#4 Green Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be enchanted by the Carlton Lyon hotel, located on the peninsula. Despite being fully renovated in 2013, it has retained its authenticity and personality, blending contemporary comfort with sophistication. Relax in one of the 80 tastefully decorated rooms, in the wellness center or in the cozy atmosphere of the bar. The hotel is just a 5-minute walk from the Bellecour metro stop and is the ideal base for exploring Lyon, with its opera house, museums, the St. Jean cathedral and more.StoryLocated between the Rhone and Saone rivers, the Carlton Lyon hotel was built in 1894 as a "petit palace" in Lyons. Punctuated by its forged iron balconies, dome and rotundas, its splendid Haussmann facade echoes the refinement of its historical decor.The hotel's "Signature" rooms also highlight artists who have stayed there. Travelers will appreciate immersing themselves in the splendid adornments of the many talents that have visited the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing