We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, beautiful renovation - would happily return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection
Ranked #3 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect location, beautiful renovation - would happily return”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Absolutely enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Carlton in Lyon. It has the perfect location right near the main shopping district and just over the bridge from Vieux Lyon. Very comfortable beds and beautiful bathroom. Our room was a smaller 2 twins and was sufficient room for 2 people. The breakfast was fine, nothing special but plenty to get you started for the day especially if it's included in the rate. The staff are extremely helpful and willing to point you in whatever direction you need. Stop at the bar for well made nightcap.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank LaAlexaRa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    899
    335
    43
    5
    6
See reviews for
195
712
32
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Hotel Carlton is an amazing hotel: sparkling clean, modern but still cozy, helpful and friendly staff, delicious room service (from the amazing restaurant next door but also lovely midnight snacks), great area for shopping and bars/restaurants and walkable from train station...and an amazing comfortable bed that was actually a double, not two singles pushed together like other Euro hotels! I can't recommend this place enough - we had a fantastic stay; I'm amazed we didn't have to pay more.

Room Tip: Rooms come with small balcony - key for opening the window and letting in a bit of air
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buddlemug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We booked this after noting it's top rating on Trip Advisor. The rating is accurate. Our only issue was the small size of the basic room. But breakfast was substantial to make up for it. We will return.
It is located next to Rue de la République means walking distance to shops, museums and restaurants.

Room Tip: Research room size when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed in July on recommendation of Tripadvisor. Staff, including reception, breakfast, concierge, were excellent, extremely friendly and helpful. The room was great, especially the bed! The cot we requested online was already made up in the room when we checked in ... most uncommon. A great stay, only wish it was longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed for six nights and even before we set foot in the hotel I was impressed by the quality of service. I requested a room with a shower rather than a bath before we travelled as my husband is partially disabled and within an hour received a really friendly email back saying that it had been arranged. We were on the third floor in a beautifully designed room with a huge bathroom with a walk in shower. The king sized bed was comfortable and the flat screen HD TV was a treat. Breakfast was included in the price and there was a fabulous selection to chose from.

Every member of staff was professional, genuinely friendly and really helpful - nothing was too much trouble. They really are what makes this hotel such a joy to stay in.

The Carlton's location is perfect for exploring most places by foot and there are a number of buses that stop close by.

This really is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in and I am grateful to everyone that made it into a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nics218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulon, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed at the Carlton for one night in Lyon. The staff were helpful and generous of spirit. The new refurb is wonderful. The bed was possibly the most comfortable I've ever slept in. Completely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzieM83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Cour des Loges
#10 of 194 in Lyon
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vaubecour
#1 of 194 in Lyon
360 reviews
Villa Florentine
#7 of 194 in Lyon
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection
Address: 4 rue Jussieu, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#1 Family Hotel in Lyon
#1 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#2 Business Hotel in Lyon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#4 Green Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be enchanted by the Carlton Lyon hotel, located on the peninsula. Despite being fully renovated in 2013, it has retained its authenticity and personality, blending contemporary comfort with sophistication. Relax in one of the 80 tastefully decorated rooms, in the wellness center or in the cozy atmosphere of the bar. The hotel is just a 5-minute walk from the Bellecour metro stop and is the ideal base for exploring Lyon, with its opera house, museums, the St. Jean cathedral and more.StoryLocated between the Rhone and Saone rivers, the Carlton Lyon hotel was built in 1894 as a "petit palace" in Lyons. Punctuated by its forged iron balconies, dome and rotundas, its splendid Haussmann facade echoes the refinement of its historical decor.The hotel's "Signature" rooms also highlight artists who have stayed there. Travelers will appreciate immersing themselves in the splendid adornments of the many talents that have visited the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing