We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Carlton Lyon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection
Ranked #3 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Carlton Lyon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is a lovely hotel which had been recently refurbished. It was spotless throughout. We had booked one of the larger rooms and it was very spacious. The bathroom was also very spacious with places to put toilet bags! Air conditioning worked a treat - I like a cold room! This is often not the case with UK and European hotels. Our rate included breakfast and a Lyon Card which gave us a boat, local transport and entry to museums.

Staff were very friendly, courteous and helpful at all times.

The hotel is in an ideal location for exploring the city. Our rate included breakfast, a boat trip and local transport. The sightseeing bus stops are close by.

The city is easy to explore by foot but there are public transport options.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elma1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    859
    310
    41
    5
    6
See reviews for
183
679
31
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful hotel! We stayed for one night prior to taking a river cruise. The location was perfect for walking to nearby shopping and dining the evening we arrived. It was also an easy walk to the Place Bellcour the next day to get in a quick city tour on the hop on hop off bus before heading to our boat. We thought the cost for breakfast (if it is not already include in your stay) of $23 per person was excessive. Thankfully there is a coffee machine in our room so we could at least start our day with that and then walked to a nearby patisserie for a light breakfast. Our only other disappointment was that we had looked forward to having a nightcap in the beautiful lounge when we returned from dinner. Apparently the bartender also acts as the valet and he was off parking a car. We waited what we felt was a considerably long time for him to return and finally gave up and called it a night. Other than that, everything was five star. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will definitely stay there again should I have the opportunity to return to Lyon.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SingleTraveler48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Overall a wonderful hotel! Everything from reservation to check-out went smoothly, staff was very friendly and professional, breakfast was delicious and filling, and the room was clean, big and tastefully decorated.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank president_kekkonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATHENS, GREECE
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Great hotel...beautiful room.....amazing, friendly, helpful staff.....the best location! We stayed for 3 nights and we had a wonderful time! The location of Carlton Hotel in the heart of Lyon, couldn't be better! We loved the town and because i am sure that we are going to come again, we are definitely to stay at gorgeous Carlton Hotel!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but the ones with a view are perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IZABELA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed at the Carlton in June because my regular hotel was not available. I liked it so much that I chose it again for my July trip (canceling my previously booked hotel). The location is perfect, right in the middle of the central district. This hotel has recently been remodeled, the rooms are clean, bright, and relatively quiet. My first stay was with my daughter and we had double room, which was large and spacious with a small balcony. (room 310). My next stay was a classic room, a bit smaller with a window that opens but no balcony. (room 211). Small rooms are the norm in France and the size was as expected.

The hotel staff are very helpful, friendly and outgoing. The hotel has a small bar off the lobby, and one of the better breakfasts in the Salle a Manger (buffet breakfast and eggs cooked to order!). There is no main restaurant, but next door is Le Centre by Georges, a 4 star restaurant that also provides room service meals for the Carlton. Absolutely fantastic food, and you MUST try the salted caramel creme eclair, best thing I ate in France!

I will continue to return to the Carlton, my new favorite Lyon hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PBspecial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel has been recomended to us by friends and we were happy to enjoy the great hotel and perfect location !

We stayed only one night having a special offer for a Cosy double bed room with breakfast included.
Staff was very friendly and helpfull in answering our various tourist questions.

Perfect hotel location just in front of "Printemps" and in the same building as "Sephora".
Shopping area of "Boulevard de la République" is just in front of the hotel. All restaurants and bars are few minutes walk. Le Parking de la République is just next to the hotel (we paid around EUR 50.- for 24h...). Breakfast was served in a very nice service room, a lot of choice of fresh juices and different kind of food. Wifi is free and works well, only thing is that you need to re-connect each time, but this was not an issue.Very clean and modern hotel with very friendly staff, we will return again and will recomend this hotel to our friends & familly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melissas78us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cour des Loges
#9 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Hotel Vaubecour
#1 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Villa Florentine
#10 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Mama Shelter Lyon
#6 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection
Address: 4 rue Jussieu, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#1 Family Hotel in Lyon
#2 Business Hotel in Lyon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#4 Green Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be enchanted by the Carlton Lyon hotel, located on the peninsula. Despite being fully renovated in 2013, it has retained its authenticity and personality, blending contemporary comfort with sophistication. Relax in one of the 80 tastefully decorated rooms, in the wellness center or in the cozy atmosphere of the bar. The hotel is just a 5-minute walk from the Bellecour metro stop and is the ideal base for exploring Lyon, with its opera house, museums, the St. Jean cathedral and more.StoryLocated between the Rhone and Saone rivers, the Carlton Lyon hotel was built in 1894 as a "petit palace" in Lyons. Punctuated by its forged iron balconies, dome and rotundas, its splendid Haussmann facade echoes the refinement of its historical decor.The hotel's "Signature" rooms also highlight artists who have stayed there. Travelers will appreciate immersing themselves in the splendid adornments of the many talents that have visited the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing