We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly located classy hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection
Ranked #3 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Antwerp
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfectly located classy hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Fully renovated old-style palace hotel including traditional open elevator. Very professional staff especially at reception desk and in the hotel bar. Perfect location on the Presqu'île near main shopping area, but on walking distance of both old city and city hall square.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BelgianEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    859
    310
    41
    5
    6
See reviews for
183
679
31
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We decided to extend our trip by one night in Lyon this past weekend and booked this hotel fairly last minute. We could not have had a better experience, from beginning to end. We booked a 'cozy room', which was more than big enough. I understand they have just re-opened after an extensive modeling, and the results are excellent. It has the feel of a smaller, boutique hotel with nice attention to detail. The beds were great, our room even had a small balcony, and the staff was helpful and engaging. The wifi is slightly challenging, as you need to keep logging in after a certain time period, but that's a very minor quibble. Breakfast had a lot of choice, and the service was efficient and friendly, which is not always the case with buffets. In short, I'd highly recommend this hotel and think it was very good value for money, especially for Europe in the summer. A comparable standard hotel in Paris or London would be significantly more expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BRonVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilvoorde, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Like other reviewers we found the staff very nice, the rooms very pretty since they were renovated only this year. A feature I would like to talk about is the soundproofing. We didn't hear a peep from other guests. You couldn't even hear eachother if you were talking in the hall, trying to get them to let you in. Also the soundproofing on the windows was excellent; you couldn't hear the traffic at all.
Great location on top of the Sephora, next to Le Printemps, etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilgrauls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Loved this hotel and the staff! Excellent location and on arrival, they offered to park our car for us in their carpark - nice! We were on honeymoon so they upgraded our room and we had an excellent view from our balcony over the fountain and towards the old town so we could see the cathedral on the hill, which is especially beautiful at night.

The room was gorgeous with an espresso machine and lovely toiletries. The bed was massive with really nice linen and soft duvet.

The bar downstairs is small but really nice and the barstaff are great.

All the staff are really helpful and will give you a map of the place with recommended restaurants if you like.

We didn't eat there and only stayed one night but would definitely recommend. It's listed as 4 star but the service, decor and general attention to detail is most definitely 5 star. We had a really lovely time and felt like superstars.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the fountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idamonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Level Contributor
182 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We booked 2 rooms recently - one a suite and one a regular room. The regular room is teeny tiny, but very stylish with adequate sized bathroom with a window. The suite is quite nice - it comes with a walk in shower and not a tub. The location is quite perfect - steps away from major shops and Printemps. Service is very professional and warm.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised with the size of the room, decor, huge balcony. It was really comfortable, even perhaps luxurious. We are now in the Hotel Martinez in Cannes which is supposed to be OO La La @ euro 700 per night !! Frankly room 322 at the Carlton was much nicer, although of course it didn't have a view of the Mediterranean.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kuzari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cour des Loges
#9 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Hotel Vaubecour
#1 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Villa Florentine
#10 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Mama Shelter Lyon
#6 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection
Address: 4 rue Jussieu, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lyon
#1 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#2 Business Hotel in Lyon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#4 Green Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be enchanted by the Carlton Lyon hotel, located on the peninsula. Despite being fully renovated in 2013, it has retained its authenticity and personality, blending contemporary comfort with sophistication. Relax in one of the 80 tastefully decorated rooms, in the wellness center or in the cozy atmosphere of the bar. The hotel is just a 5-minute walk from the Bellecour metro stop and is the ideal base for exploring Lyon, with its opera house, museums, the St. Jean cathedral and more.StoryLocated between the Rhone and Saone rivers, the Carlton Lyon hotel was built in 1894 as a "petit palace" in Lyons. Punctuated by its forged iron balconies, dome and rotundas, its splendid Haussmann facade echoes the refinement of its historical decor.The hotel's "Signature" rooms also highlight artists who have stayed there. Travelers will appreciate immersing themselves in the splendid adornments of the many talents that have visited the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing