We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we made the reservation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection
Ranked #4 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Apex,NC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Glad we made the reservation”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I can highly recommend this hotel. Our 1pm check in went smoothly. As a family of four traveling with two college age sons we booked two rooms. For us the room size was just fine. The room for the boys was listed as "cozy" but was good sized with the double beds. Our room was the next level up and while not that much bigger was beautifully decorated in rich reds with a very large bathroom. The large bed was soft and comfortable. Prices at the bar and for breakfast were very expensive and we avoided both. The location is in the middle of everything and right on the pedestrian shopping center.

Room Tip: Some room do overlook the square. Our side street room was not a noise problem but there is not a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Italy05with5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    903
    339
    43
    5
    6
See reviews for
196
716
32
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Barker, Western Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We spent 3 nights here at the end of April, and were amazed by the quality of the hotel and service. The location is perfect, very central and an excellent base for exploring the city. The hotel has recently been renovated and looks brand new. The rooms were luxurious, large and very comfortable. The service was fantastic, all the staff were extremely helpful, and happy to do anything they could to make our stay more enjoyable. They were full of helpful ideas about what to do and where to eat. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Lyon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RocknRollJoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Really lovely hotel with very professional and organised staff.

Room was a little small but very nicely furnished.

Hotel was in the middle of the town so ideally placed to explore the shops and the old town.

Would definately stay here next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The Hotel Carlton was our saviour.
We (couple + baby) had been travelling for hours and just had a bad experience at a different hotel in Lyon upon checking in. We had reached the end of our tether. It was 7pm and we had walked the whole city (it felt like it) looking for an alternative. The guys (and girl) at the Carlton were AMAZING and they went out of their way to accommodate us. Honestly, we were overwhelmed. This sounds too good and like we are advertising for them but whatever.
For the hotel: the room you gave us was large, gorgeous and luxurious. We can't thank you enough for making our stay in Lyon special.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bertzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I should start by mentioning that I am an experienced traveler (I have been working and traveling as a consultant for a French company for the last 6 years). These being said there are two issues which should have not happened in a 4* hotel located in a property which received visibly large investments:

1. In the breakfast room there should be a notice regarding the hot dishes which can be ordered from the kitchen. The staff there seemed overcrowded even if during my stay there were roughly 50% of the tables occupied.

2. At check-in I asked and it was confirmed a late check-out for 16:00.
On the day of leave having arrived from the city at 15:00 we discovered with great surprise that our room was being cleaned and our luggage has been already shipped downstairs.
The first reaction of the staff on duty was that of disbelieve instead of fixing the problem. Things started to happen only after the manager appeared and we received some apologies. We had in our room an unopened bottle of water over which the cleaning lady graciously took possession. She returned it to us when we got the room back.

Things would have been good if they finished here. While waiting for our pickup taxi I noticed a series of rude smiles and small talk among the staff at the reception regarding what just happened. Should I mention that despite being a foreigner I speak French very well?

Short story long I've quit using Accor hotels 4 years ago due to poor services and decided to give them a chance again due to this fabulous property which had good reviews on Tripadvisor. It looks that I was wrong.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank StevenBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
231066, Directeur général at Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Sir,

First of all, I would like to thank you for sharing your experience in the Carlton hotel. We re-opened only 4 months ago with a brand new decoration old fashion style in the heart of Lyon.
I have to admit the surprise I had in reading your review ! Each and every one of the employees are working very hard to satisfy every guest and attempt to preserve and increase the hotel's reputation, for the service we offer and for the quality of our facilities.
I am personally involved in making every stay memorable in the Carlton hotel since six years now.
I apologize for the misunderstanding regarding the late check-out asked during your arrival, unfortunately nobody remembers this special request.
The reception staff is always very professional and I am truly convinced that no employee would have spoken of this manner regarding the situation.
And finally as I didn't have the pleasure to meet you at the hotel as you have written in your comment, I stay at your entire disposal to exchange on this matter.

Sincerely,

Corinne Dupont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hotel has just completely renovated. All the works have been done. It gave a luxurious feel right from the lobby with decadent decoration. Staff were helpful and speak fluent English.

The double room I got was on the small size but had enough room for two large luggages to be opened on the floor. The decoration was done in red and white, so it was refreshing and modern. In the same time, with all the designs on the wallpaper and carpet, it gave you luxurious feelings. The bathroom was huge with fully closed shower with a transparent door. (It was the only place in our trip with fully closed shower area.)

Everything was crisp clean. One still mineral water bottle and one sparkling mineral water bottle were given to us free everyday.

The location couldn't be better. Right under the hotel is a Sephora. On the corner of the hotel is the shopping street, with Printemps within 2 minute walk. 5-minute walk from the hotel, you will reach LV, Hermes, and the Bouillet chocolatier.

Highly recommended and I will definitely stay here again if I go to Lyon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Mr/Mrs W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have stayed in the Carlton Hotel in June 2013 and were very happy with our choice. The whole hotel has just been renovated. The rooms are of a decent size (not nig but also not as small as elsewhere), ours was situated towards the inner courtxyard and completely quiet.

We forgot a bag and the staff took care of it until our return. Everybody speaks very good English and is very attentive.

Using the valet parking for the night adds 15 Euros to your bill.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kandinsky_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Cour des Loges
#10 of 194 in Lyon
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vaubecour
#1 of 194 in Lyon
361 reviews
Villa Florentine
#7 of 194 in Lyon
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection
Address: 4 rue Jussieu, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lyon
#1 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#2 Business Hotel in Lyon
#4 Green Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be enchanted by the Carlton Lyon hotel, located on the peninsula. Despite being fully renovated in 2013, it has retained its authenticity and personality, blending contemporary comfort with sophistication. Relax in one of the 80 tastefully decorated rooms, in the wellness center or in the cozy atmosphere of the bar. The hotel is just a 5-minute walk from the Bellecour metro stop and is the ideal base for exploring Lyon, with its opera house, museums, the St. Jean cathedral and more.StoryLocated between the Rhone and Saone rivers, the Carlton Lyon hotel was built in 1894 as a "petit palace" in Lyons. Punctuated by its forged iron balconies, dome and rotundas, its splendid Haussmann facade echoes the refinement of its historical decor.The hotel's "Signature" rooms also highlight artists who have stayed there. Travelers will appreciate immersing themselves in the splendid adornments of the many talents that have visited the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing