We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Short stay”
Review of Hotel Du Helder

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Du Helder
Ranked #165 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Reception is welcoming. We stay at two differnt rooms and they both was facing to back court yard , but Guest weare opening their Windows and all the noise travel throug other rooms, couldn't sleep. It was a good deal but not a long stay. Location looks rough but we did not have any problem. By the Hotel to Walker old city is close and esay to AirPort .

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZaferBodrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 228 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

Saw bad reviews of this place and was dreading staying there, but found it perfectly pleasant. I didn't pay to stay here out of my own pocket so won't comment on value for money. Room was basic but a decent size & clean. Area of town seemed perfectly normal, not scary/grimy as suggested - I walked back at 4.30am with a couple of others and didn't see anything/anyone intimidating or worrying. Overall perfectly happy with it and so surprised by the amount of poor reviews from others that I decided to write for the first time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Big_Poppa_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Dated and in a dodgy part of town but within walking distance of everywhere. Breakfast was nice but rooms and bathrooms poor. Uncomfortable beds and housekeeping didn't always show up. If on a tight budget and not fussy then it's ok otherwise avoid if at all possible

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

the external view of the hotel is good in the hall as well and if you go during winter the room too....
probably in the past was a great hotel but now:no air conditioning,no fan,casual hot/cold water,no frigo bar,old/sagging matress and tho location is not too far but in a bad aerea of lyon!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Massimiliano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

It was so terrible!!!!!!!
Very little room - only for 2 bed.
And money, lap top, photocamera, dress and all cosmetics were stolen from our room.
There wasn't any help from hotel service in this situation - neither free internet to connect with friends nor free telephone calls!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Svetlana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I don't know what we were thinking. This hotel is in the GHETTO. It reeked of cigarettes & the first thing I thought was that this is where prostitutes bring their "clients."

Went upstairs. It was disgusting. My eyes burned from cigarette fumes. The bed "pillows" were more like flotation noodles & weren't even in cases. They were rolled into the top of the one sheet.

We left our stuff in the room & then got into the car. The car was silent. So finally we decided that this is no way to live & no amount of money is worth staying in a dump like that.

So we went back, grabbed our stuff & checked into the Best Western, which suddenly seemed like the four Seasons in comparison. And it was only a few euros more & has FREE wifi, not an additional €5 per night like this hovel.

I've stayed in hostels in South America for $15 per night & they were still a million times nicer.

Stay away. Stay FAR away. So gross.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ladymcgaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

It's an old place in not the best part of Lyon (lot of homeless people and some intimidating people hanging around). As to 20-year-old girls we heard some whispering and whistling, but we didn't felt offended.

We only paid 51€ for a night in a room with 2 separate beds and even a small flatscreen tv. The room was basic but clean, every morning they cleaned the rooms, nothing to complain.

Breakfast was not included, but with a supermarket close by we didn't need one too.

Supermarket Lidl is nearby, public transportation also but in a short walk you're at the river side, close to the better part of the city.

Cheap, clean place to stay. At night it wasn't completely silent, people in the street were noisy sometimes but didn't made me sleep any less.

Strange thing was only that it seemed there were only African man staying in the hotel, only at the reception there was a woman.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LSartistes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Perrache - Charlemagne
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#105 of 194 in Lyon
330 reviews
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotel des Savoies Lyon
Hotel des Savoies Lyon
#56 of 194 in Lyon
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perrache - Charlemagne
Hotel de Normandie
Hotel de Normandie
#158 of 194 in Lyon
155 reviews
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotel d'Ainay
Hotel d'Ainay
#171 of 194 in Lyon
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Helder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Helder

Address: 38 rue de Marseille, 69007, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range: $59 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Du Helder 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Du Helder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Helder Hotel
Du Helder Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing