We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Stay in Lyon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Ranked #22 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Stay in Lyon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

The hotel is a very good one, it is in the middle of the town just cross the street to the new city and shopping area, few steps from the river, shops and restaurants all around, I can say it is in the middle of everywhere. Clean with good quality and staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnMiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    434
    137
    61
    17
See reviews for
164
634
74
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Summerfield, FL
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We only stayed one night at this hotel, and wished our stay could have been longer. The staff went out of their way in checking us in and assisting with our car parking. The rooms were spacious (we overlooked the Bellecour Square). It is located between the Saone and Rhone Rivers and easy walking distance to the old city center. The rooms were well-appointed, comfortable and clean and the bathrooms were great! The beds were very comfortable and our room was quiet - even overlooking the square with the windows open! My husband and I thought that this was an excellent value and would definitely recommend it. As an aside, we took a trip to the beautiful basilica and wanted to view the Roman ruins, however it was after 7:00 and they were closed (just a note). The WiFi worked very well here as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizStak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed here as a stopover whilst travelling to the South of France from the UK.On arrival we found it very difficult to find a safe place to pullover so had to make several laps around the block!
When we did find a space our car was promptly parked by the doorman.
We then proceeded to check in and asked to book a table for the restaurant but was told it was full so then had to think about finding somewhere else to eat.We were not shown to our room but just given directions.The room was adequate but very small.The bed however was very comfortable.
The bathroom was very compact & dated.The toilet flush was of some concern due to the fact that it was a small press in button which one can only imagine the germs lurking inside!
We arrived at the breakfast room at approx 8.30am and were told there were no free tables so would not be able to have a breakfast....We do feel the hotel should be able to cater for the number of guests staying at the hotel,this was very disappointing.
With the above in mind and the price charged for the rooms we would not return to this Hotel.

Room Tip: Book breakfast and dinner in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Ideal location, wonderful room and service, we could not have hoped for more. The Royal Suite corner rooms are a perfect size, very comfortable and quiet. Lyon is a wonderful place to visit and we need to return to see everything and again to stay at this fine hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cour des Loges
#9 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Villa Florentine
#10 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Address: 20 Place Bellecour, 69002, Lyon, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lyon
#16 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#18 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal is an iconic establishment offering 72 rooms and suites, nestled in the heart of the city between the Rhone and Saone rivers. An exclusive address for travellers who enjoy the French art de vivre, discrete elegance and naturally courteous service. Feel at home in our Cote Cuisine dining room or in our Cote Bellecour lounge, for a civilised meal or beverage overlooking the Place Bellecour. (The Hotel is a member of the MGallery collection). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lyon
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing