We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very helpful staff--we loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Ranked #19 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I can't say enough nice things about the hotel. The staff was wonderfully helpful, even taking the time (many calls) to contact another hotel where we needed to cancel reservations made on Expedia. The location was perfect, and the hotel very charming. We were able to access our room well before the stated check-in time, which was a real bonus. The wifi worked well. I loved the candy at the front desk, and loved the fact that the concierge knew exactly where to send me to buy some for myself.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariana626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

If I came back here, it would be for the staff -- they were very friendly and helpful. They even spoke to me in English if they noticed I was reading an English paper (FT available with breakfast!)
Other pros -- the breakfast is very nice, and the rooms are large and soundproof. The wifi works well. The location is quite nice, right on a main square with many upscale restaurants in the area just around the hotel (just don't go more than 3-4 blocks south....) They liked my dog, and the hotel even has a dog decor. Nice turndown service.
The cons are that there were cracks in the tile in my bathroom and cracks in the tub. It's not a big deal.... but more of a 3 star than a 5 star. Also, the lobby bar was closed on my arrival, a Friday night, for renovations -- who doesn't want to go to the lobby bar upon arrival. :( Lastly, the historic building is nice but it is really dirty -- it looks like a 3 star hotel from the outside. It also needs a fitness center, something 5-star hotels in France desperately need.
You might give the Carlton a try -- it looks a little nicer....

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nnsanci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Generous room,great bed and linen. On the main square and very conveniently located to great shopping streets. It cost €15 by taxi from Lyon Part-Dieu station. Checking was painless. The hotel a complimentary turn down service that ensures your room is ready after that hard days shopping or sight seeing! We had in inside room, 422, that was quiet and we heard little traffic despite being in the heart of the city. Very enjoyable!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank ShanevanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Very friendly front desk, beautifully decorated and just a great feel upon entering. We had room 209 which was quite large for a European hotel. They have double pain windows, so there is no street noise. The breakfast was great. So will done, pressed coffee at your table, eggs cooked perfect. Hotel really was so charming and elegant. Very clean and very comfortable. Only con: the hotel restaurant was closed for the summer months. On a longer stay, we sometimes like eating a night in and not going out. Would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: The suite rooms are nice and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveljunkies2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the location. Right on Place Bellecour and a block from the shopping district. The tourist office is just across the street in the square. The old part of Lyon is a short walk across the bridge. The room are quite spacious but the door locks are so old that it takes a while to get used to the huge key. Breakfast was good as this hotel also serves as a training ground for the Paul Bocuse school. The front desk area is tiny, and can get quite crowded if more than a few guests are checking in at the same time. The concierge is friendly and has good recommendations if you want to try the Lyon Bouchon restaurants.

Room Tip: My room faced the back. It was quiet but lack a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCL077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed in this hotel in late June, the hotel is located in an excellent location. Opposite is shopping streets with lots of shops and restaurant. My room was facing the back yard with not much space to move around. The shower of my bathroom was not working. The breakfast was good and unique.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

You couldn't ask for a better location to explore the wonderful city of Lyon. We stayed in this ideally positioned hotel for three nights.

We stayed on the top floor in one of the hotel's "Royal Suites". A grandiose title for basically two existing bedrooms which had been knocked into one to form a "suite" with two existing bathrooms. However the accommodation was very comfortable with good amenities. Excellent bed and superb double glazing which cut out all external noise from the square below.

Our bathrooms required some serious upgrading decoration (and cleaning) whilst the external woodwork and iron work on our balcony is in desperate need of maintenance work.

Very good service (although we weren't shown to our room which one would expect of an hotel aspiring to this level of stars). Excellent buffet breakfast. Fine (and not overly expensive) dining in the evening.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honda51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cour des Loges
#10 of 194 in Lyon
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Villa Florentine
#15 of 194 in Lyon
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection

Address: 20 Place Bellecour, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lyon
#14 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#18 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: $153 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal is an iconic establishment offering 72 rooms and suites, nestled in the heart of the city between the Rhone and Saone rivers. An exclusive address for travellers who enjoy the French art de vivre, discrete elegance and naturally courteous service. Feel at home in our Cote Cuisine dining room or in our Cote Bellecour lounge, for a civilised meal or beverage overlooking the Place Bellecour. (The Hotel is a member of the MGallery collection). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lyon
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing