We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold reception”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Ranked #23 of 195 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Cold reception”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

After a 16 hour flight and 3 hours train ride, we arrived in Lyon, France greeted by rain and cold weather. Expecting a warm welcome and concern from the hotel staff, the only words spoken by the lady hotel receptionist is that, you're room is not yet ready, please come back after 1-2 hours (we arrived 1pm). Good enough the man in the concierge by the name of Habib (?) was very kind and helped us where to have our lunch. After 2 hours, our room was ready and the man in the reception said, sir we cannot give in to all your request ( i sent email requesting a quiet room with good view) instead we decided to give you a quiet room. It was really a quiet room because when you open the window, it was the wall of the adjacent building. We stayed in Lyon for 5 nights with a wall view. Would like to thank Habib and Mario (concierge staff) for the help and very warm reception. To the management of hotel le royal, please, please educate your hotel staff (especially the lady who received us when we arrived) regarding good manners and proper conduct.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, Directeur général at Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your observations following your stay
We were greatly interested by the remarks you made and appreciate your help in making us aware of the improvements
You expressed your disappointment about your check-in with a cold welcome and we would like to apologise .
We do regret you thought the reception employees did not provide appropriate customer service and we were surprised to learn this event as the Staff of Reception generally receives positive feedback from our guests..
However our team Reception will be briefed by the Manager with your comments by way of example.
We inform your congratulations to our Concierge.
We sincerely look forward to welcoming you again in the foreseeable future and hope that we would have the opportunity to show that our service had improved on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    461
    143
    66
    18
See reviews for
176
681
77
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at Le Royal over a long weekend.

The location of the hotel is great, right on Place Bellecour, just two minutes walk from the shopping on Rue de la Republique and Re de Victor Hugo, about 8-10 minutes walk from the restaurants and bars of Rue Merciere and 12-15 minutes walk from the Old Town and the Funicular to Fourvier and a 20 minute walk to the Halles Paul Bocuse (food market). The Bellecour Metro is also just outside the hotel if you want to venture further afield. It took us about 10 minutes in a taxi from the Part Dieu train station and our friends about 25 minutes in a taxi from the airport.

We were in room 317 which was lovely. Huge, very comfortable bed with extra pillows in the wardrobe. A decent bathroom with shower over the bath with bathrobes and free toiletries. A safe in the wardrobe and windows that can be opened. The room was very quiet, clean and comfortable.

Breakfast was in the 1st floor dining room and was excellent, but expensive. There was a great choice of pastries, cold meats, fruits, yoghurts, cheeses and cereals, along with eggs and bacon made to order. And of course juice, tea and coffee. All in all, a great breakfast, but at €25 per person, it was very steep. It would probably have been worth it to venture out of the hotel for breakfast instead.

The hotel itself is wonderfully decorated; classy and attractive but with nice unique touches and a modern feel.

I did not give this hotel an "excellent" rating for three reasons. Firstly, we booked a double room but when we arrived, the receptionist tried to put us in a twin room. When I objected, she said there was nothing she could do and at one point even just shrugged her shoulders at me. When I insisted that I had booked a double room and would not accept a twin room, she eventually dug out my reservation, saw that it was for a double room, changed the room on the system and handed me the room key without any semblance of an apology or even a "let me see what I can do". And none of this was due to lanugage barriers because I speak French fluently. Asid from this, all of the other hotel staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful. But this one receptionist made a very poor first impression. Secondly, the super expensive breakfast. And the third 'flaw' was the fact that our room overlooked an alley way. I guess the hotel can't really help their surrounds, but it does add to any hotel experience if you have a nice view.

Overall, this is a very good hotel with nice rooms and good service. Just maybe go elsewhere for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ballynac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Right in the centre of Lyon on the Place Bellecour, this hotel is right across from the main Tourist Office, which has a wealth of information. There is also a Hop On Hop Off bus stop nearby, for sightseeing, and you can walk to the old town and museums. Our room, though small, was excellently set out, with very comfortable bed, desk, table and chairs, wardrobe, fridge and security safe. Excellent bathroom with hairdryer, and quality shower amenities replenished daily. Balcony and great view.

However, no way to make coffee in the room, and no safety handrail for the bathtub and shower.
Good restaurant, though expensive, and the 10 euro continental breakfast was rather sparse.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I am huddled in bed at the Royal as I type this. Last night it was freezing in the room. Could not coax heat out of the heater. Asked at the front desk this morning to look at it. Left the system going when we left. Came back to find the system off, not working and no word of explanation. FAIL.

Room Tip: Unless the weather in Lyon warms avoid 504.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saskplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Booked a Superior Royal Room over the Internet . Room and furnishings looked OK.windows had frosted glass- for a reason- when we opened window we looked out on to rusty corrugated roofs in a light well - left windows shut during our stay-
Good location

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The hotel is indeed royal. The building is elegant and vintage. The rooms are huge.
We loved the breakfast room and the breakfast included everything you might ask for. The staff are polite and very helpful.
We loved our room except that I really wished for a room with a nice view over the square and I was even willing to upgrade the room if I was given the option.
The location is great. Walking distance to old Lyon and most of the attractions.

Room Tip: If you like a room with a good view and it is really important for you, Make sure to call teh hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Behnoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

What I can say-it's the Royal one.
Located centrally with balconies on the 5th floor with amazing view on the field&river (mine was like that).
Sweet notes from the hotel staff about the weather and chance of rain daily.
AMAZING breakfasts - I would highly recommend desserts and variety of cheeses.
One problem I had there-the keys.They are not that special and many visitors need assistance to understand,how they work.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gal4onok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cour des Loges
#9 of 195 in Lyon
1,278 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Address: 20 Place Bellecour, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lyon
#17 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#18 Business Hotel in Lyon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal is an iconic establishment offering 72 rooms and suites, nestled in the heart of the city between the Rhone and Saone rivers. An exclusive address for travellers who enjoy the French art de vivre, discrete elegance and naturally courteous service. Feel at home in our Cote Cuisine dining room or in our Cote Bellecour lounge, for a civilised meal or beverage overlooking the Place Bellecour. (The Hotel is a member of the MGallery collection). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lyon
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing