We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hotel that feels like home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Ranked #22 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Plumpton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A hotel that feels like home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

A lovely boutique hotel in a great location which has managed to combine elegance and good service with the feeling that you are a guest in someone's private house. The deluxe room was well decorated with a good size bathroom and a large, very comfortable bed. There is no bar as such but an atmospheric lounge area with waiter service. The breakfast is served in a beautiful room and has everything you could want from fresh fruit and fruit salads, yoghurts, cereals, breads, pastries, cakes and cooked food if you would like it. The staff were very helpful and with a sense of fun. The whole hotel is full of antique or unusual ornaments - starting with the ornamental dogs welcoming you in reception. The hotel is on the Place Bellecour and is near to shops, the river, restaurants and one of the bus stops for the open top tour bus - a tour worth doing as you can get on and off at the sights all day. Luckily the hotel supply umbrellas as it was a wet weekend!
If you are looking for any downsides (and really you have to look to find them) then it would be to point out that while the rooms are very well sound proofed the square can be busy in the early hours and you may hear some noise. The turn down service was not what you would expect from a 5 star hotel, more a drop off for the chocolate and weather forecast.
Overall a very good hotel indeed and one we would recommend to others without hesitation.

Room Tip: If you prefer a shower or a bath then ask when booking - they don't have both!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agentswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    436
    137
    63
    18
See reviews for
166
638
74
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We only stayed at the Hotel Le Royal Lyon for one night. In truth, it was just supposed to be a reasonably-priced place to stay for our last night before flying home. Turns out we loved it.

Le Royal Lyon is located in the heart of the old city on the Place Bellecour. On the hills above the square is a gorgeous church over-looking the city. The buildings are exactly what you would picture in traditional city in France. A two block walk brings you to the river, where you can amble along, crossing bridges and dodging people out for a run or bike ride.

When we arrived, it was raining and there was no obvious parking. Happily, the hotel was able to valet park our car. Our room on the 2nd floor was not huge but plenty for one night. There is lovely toile paper on the walls and a good-sized closet. Plenty of outlets, reading lights by the bed etc. The bathroom is small but functional and has Fragonard bath products, which I thought was nice.

The hotel is also within walking distance of a million excellent cafes. Rue de Maronniers is literally across the square and jam-packed with charming brasseries. We borrowed an umbrella and walked through the rain to dinner.

Most enchanting to me were the many small touches. The bar in the hotel was dressed in red and black with a vaguely oriental feel. The soft jazz music was enjoyable and it was comfortable to look out the large windows on the rainy night. The beverage selection was also good. When you enter, there is a small set of statues of a bulldog and pups that were charming (they are tied to the wall to keep the dogs from wandering off). There is a small sitting room as well, where you could read a paper or a book. The breakfast is served in the restaurant in the morning and is extensive and excellent though an additional price.

I loved Lyon and this hotel much more than I had anticipated. In reference to other reviews, I noted no unpleasant smells and everything was clean and modern where it should be and old and charming where it should be.

Room Tip: I enjoyed looking over the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NieSB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had a nice deluxe room which was well appointed with a large bathroom. The décor was pleasant and all-in-all would have been very good. There was daily complimentary water (still and sparkling). The breakfast was good with a wide choice of items and delicious fruit.

Although it is marked as a 5* hotel I would, though, not give it more than 4*.

As an Accor Gold member I was particularly disappointed by the following items, since I know that normally Accor hotels would provide this in an MGallery or Sofitel.

- no tea/coffee-making facilities in the room. We asked for a kettle which we finally got even though they tried to argue that this was only available in deluxe rooms or above. They had failed initially to note we were as a matter of fact in a deluxe room. We then saw, from some open doors, that actually on the suites have the tea/coffee facilities. This should be a must in any hotels these days! A further negative point was that we had to request new mugs every day since the cleaner removed them without replacing them.

- no hook to attach the shower head in the shower. We had a requested a room with bathtub, which seemed to mean to the hotel we didn't want a shower. Silly! There was a shower head with our large bathtub but no option to hang it so as to have a proper shower. Really not good for a 5* hotel.

- the carpets need shampooing: even though they appeared in good shape, when we spilled some water and mopped it up with a towel the latter ended up being completely black!

- we were lucky we just went over the May bank holidays (8-9 May in France) as on the morning of Friday 10th May we were rudely woken up by really loud drilling noise already starting at 8am. Having called reception they investigated and it appeared it was building work going on in a restaurant on the ground floor of the building. Surely they must have known about this for some months! A warning would have been preferable as well as an apology.

Over all it would be a very good hotel but I've stayed in better.

Room Tip: if you ask for a room with bathtub make sure you also ask to have the option to actually shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
103 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

First, the positive points. Good location. Nice looking room, nice bath and comfortable beds. Now, the negative. When we arrived at the hotel, we were provided with a room with a nice view of the square (room 504), but it had a horrible smell. We informed the front desk that the room smelled bad, and they did not at all seem surprised. They said that there would be a change. So, we left for lunch. When we returned, we were told we had a new room. It was located directly below the previous room (room 404) but it had the same problem--a sickly and horrible smell. The afternoon shift had come to work and we were now dealing with a front desk clerk named "Eric" who was no help. He showed us a room with a view of a wall. I kid you not--it was about four feet from the window. That room did not stink. And a lower room (room 104). It was suggested we could upgrade to a suite with no stink (only 100 Euros more per night). The craziest part was that Eric insisted that there was nothing wrong with the stench. For him, it smelled like "mint!!!" This was supposed to be normal!!! While he searched for other rooms in the building, we were instructed to sit and wait in our smelly room for his call. We used the opportunity to check out the room next to our stink room since the maid was in there cleaning and the door was open. Guess what? That room did not smell like 'mint." In fact, we walked around and checked other rooms and no other rooms stunk like 'mint' except the ones ending in "04." Eventually, we settled on room 104. When we returned in the evening, it also had the horrible odor--but not as bad as the higher floors. Although one person suggested it was poison for bed bugs, I have a strong suspicion that there is seeping sewage from a broken sewer pipe that is trickling down into the lower rooms. I could hear dripping up above the door to the room. We kept the windows open and we were thankful that the stench in our room was mild compared to the rooms above us and seemed not to be permanent (it would stink for a while when you could hear the dripping and then go away). The management's response (Eric) was totally and completely unprofessional and inadequate. For crying out loud--they have a sewage leak!!! But the response was similar to the Monty Python sketch about the 'dead parrot' (it smells good--like mint!). As for the breakfast, the service was horrible. It took 30 minutes to get my poached eggs. When they cleared away my empty plate and asked if I needed anything else, I replied, "I am waiting for the poached eggs." I was told that the cook did not know how to make poached eggs and had tried unsuccessfully for quite a while. I said, "well, I can order something else." But no, we had to wait for him to learn on the job (he did not learn--they were not very good). Yes, the croissants were good. I guess if you've never had a breakfast in a genuine five-star hotel, this is good. Unfortunately, we've had much better fare elsewhere. We will not stay at this property again. As for Eric and his 'mint,' I think they deserve each other.

Room Tip: Watch out for the Smell of Sewage
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Fayaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

A charming old world type hotel that is in a great location. The rooms are attractive and very comfortable. Good linens, comfortable bed, good size baths, clean and quiet. Breakfast was very nice and all the staff were very helpful, friendly and courteous. The hotel is getting close to the time it may need a freshening, but was still very nice. We would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxandLola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We wanted to stay on the Presqu'île and followed our good experiences with the Accor family. Bellecour is close to everything and we had the chance to enjoy the bouchons in Rue des Maronniers, the market in Quai des Célestins and all the lively ambience around Rue de la Republique.
The hotel is very nice. In the corner of Bellecour with Rue de la Charité, our room had a nice view towards the bell tower in Pl. Antonin-Poncet. It was ample and comfortable, with a cozy feeling. The toile-de-jouy wallpaper can be a bit overwelming, but all in all is a great place to stay.
Only one thing: we arrived by car and the spot reserved to the hotel was full. We parked in a forbidden spot in Rue de la Charité just to make the check in, and left the car keys at the reception. They said they'd take it right away to the underground parking, but after a good half hour I could see the car in the street from the window in my room, and I had to call reception again... what if it had been towed?

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VaterZeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

First time in Lyon for a conference. The Royal Hotel is just great: Great location in Place Bellecour, great big room with a beautiful view, great and kind service, great restaurant, great breakfast. Great value, as I said!
To recommend for sure!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank arch808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cour des Loges
#10 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Villa Florentine
#9 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Address: 20 Place Bellecour, 69002, Lyon, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lyon
#16 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#18 Business Hotel in Lyon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal is an iconic establishment offering 72 rooms and suites, nestled in the heart of the city between the Rhone and Saone rivers. An exclusive address for travellers who enjoy the French art de vivre, discrete elegance and naturally courteous service. Feel at home in our Cote Cuisine dining room or in our Cote Bellecour lounge, for a civilised meal or beverage overlooking the Place Bellecour. (The Hotel is a member of the MGallery collection). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lyon
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing