We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A great night sleep at Le Royal Lyon !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Ranked #19 of 189 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
122 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A great night sleep at Le Royal Lyon !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The Royal is a superb boutique hotel managed by Accor situated in the heart of Lyon, just 10-15 minutes walk away from the old city and right across the square from the main shopping area.

We were warmly welcomed by the reception early in the morning and although we could get a room directly as the hotel was full the previous night, they kindly apologized and assured us that they will get on ready for us as soon as they can. As we expected that already, we went out for a walk and came back later after sitting a while in the lovely decorated little lobby.

The room we had was a decent sized deluxe room with the view on the square "place Bellecour". The size was decent and nicely decorated with patisserie on the wall. The bed was huge and heavenly comfortable! We did have an excellent resting night after being exhausted from walking throughout the city all day. After dinner we found our room made up by the night service with the turned down sheet, the dimmed light and a little macaron on the pillow.
They are some drawback in the room though : no shower, only bath tub and no coffee or hot water facility which is a bit shameful for a pretended 5 star !

they is only one outlet and a half in the hotel which is the country house style decorated breakfast restaurant and a small lounge where you can sit and order some drinks.
The breakfast we had was nice and fresh but if it was not included in our room rate we would definitely take our breakfast somewhere else as it was unseasonably too pricy for what you get !

The staff are very professional and helpful. And our dinner reservation was all arranged by the concierge and our luggage were already put into the room when we came back for check-in.

We really enjoy our short stay at Le Royal and will definitely not look for some other place next time we visit around.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor deluxe room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ACVK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    393
    120
    56
    13
See reviews for
143
591
63
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Superb Hotel, warm welcome on arrival even athough it was after 11pm, room was excellent and bed extremely comfortable. A large selection for breakfast in the morning with friendly staff serving, and location is right in the centre of Lyon which couldn't have been better for our business meeting. Would certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were warmly welcomed by the reception and concierge staff and all our needs for dinner reservations and childcare arrangements were taken care of. We were upgraded into a beautiful suite with a great view of the Bellecour square. A cot for our son was already waiting on us. The onky hitch was the brand new tv in the room still needed to be set up and was not working properly...but really nothing to complain about. Breakfast was very good and worth the value. We will return often.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Lovely hotel on the main square in easy walking distance to the old town, museums, shopping, etc. the staff were very welcoming and attentive. Rooms are a very generous size, and don't suffer too much from road noise despite the busy corner location. The bed was very comfortable. Excellent breakfast but you need to time it well as the breakfast room is a bit too small for the hotel capacity.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bodiumfoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My first trip to Lyon & solo at that. Picked this hotel based upon TA reviews.

A find. Truly a wonderful hotel with friendly, welcoming, helpful staff. The hotel is centrally located on the Place Bellecour. You can easily move about the city. Massive amounts of shops & shopping are off by the river one block away - - the old city is a 10 minute stroll over the other river.

The old city is worth a half-day stroll. Interesting cathedral. Terrific restaurants, as in most of Lyon. Hard to have a bad meal i nthis town.

The hotel concierge is Mr. H. Lazreug. This man is a consummate professional at hospitality. He speaks fluent English, as do most of the hotel staff, and he knows the city very well. He will steer you to good places to eat, he's not a shill for certain over-priced restaurants, as you will find in too many hotels around the world. The hotel is immaculately clean. The beds are comfortable, the linens are superb. You feel like this is home after just a day there. Very impressed with this high level of client service by Mr. Lazreug & his associates.

One note: if you want to rent a bicycle to pedal around Lyon (highly recommended), be warned that the French bike rental system accepts only VISA cards. And, the bike rental system can be sketchy in terms of actually working.

Great city, great hotel.

Room Tip: Worth it to get a room on the Place Bellecour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fawlcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

The rooms in this hotel were wonderful. Large with king beds, French doors that open to a balcony, and decorated with great French flair. We loved the location at the heart of the main square. Close to shopping and walking distance to the historic quarter. The staff was helpful with dinner suggestions and general information We enjoyed the breakfast at the hotel but it is pricey at 21E.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alicia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburban MD
Level Contributor
103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We really loved staying at this hotel. The rooms were clean and roomy, the staff was unfailingly polite, professional and helpful, and the location was on the central square within walking distance of everything you could want. This is a teaching hotel for the Paul Bocuse Institute and the staff reflect the committment to excellence. The decor in the hotel lobby was really beautiful. The breakfasts were also diverse and excellent. One other thing I really liked was that they had remodeled recently and all the windows had two casements so it locked out the street noises. The rooms were very quiet, even those looking directly onto the square. We stayed as a family group (three rooms) in the hotel. One thing you should know is that not all the rooms have bath tubs, some only have showers. If having a tub is important to you, then you should request a tub in your room.

Room Tip: If you want a bath tub, make sure and ask for a room with a tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theorchidlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Florentine
#7 of 189 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Cour des Loges
#10 of 189 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 stars 1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Address: 20 Place Bellecour, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lyon
#12 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#17 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal is an iconic establishment offering 72 rooms and suites, nestled in the heart of the city between the Rhone and Saone rivers. An exclusive address for travellers who enjoy the French art de vivre, discrete elegance and naturally courteous service. Feel at home in our Cote Cuisine dining room or in our Cote Bellecour lounge, for a civilised meal or beverage overlooking the Place Bellecour. (The Hotel is a member of the MGallery collection). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lyon
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing