We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A night at the Royal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Ranked #24 of 192 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A night at the Royal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Superb Hotel, warm welcome on arrival even athough it was after 11pm, room was excellent and bed extremely comfortable. A large selection for breakfast in the morning with friendly staff serving, and location is right in the centre of Lyon which couldn't have been better for our business meeting. Would certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    415
    133
    58
    15
See reviews for
149
611
67
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were warmly welcomed by the reception and concierge staff and all our needs for dinner reservations and childcare arrangements were taken care of. We were upgraded into a beautiful suite with a great view of the Bellecour square. A cot for our son was already waiting on us. The onky hitch was the brand new tv in the room still needed to be set up and was not working properly...but really nothing to complain about. Breakfast was very good and worth the value. We will return often.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Lovely hotel on the main square in easy walking distance to the old town, museums, shopping, etc. the staff were very welcoming and attentive. Rooms are a very generous size, and don't suffer too much from road noise despite the busy corner location. The bed was very comfortable. Excellent breakfast but you need to time it well as the breakfast room is a bit too small for the hotel capacity.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bodiumfoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

My first trip to Lyon & solo at that. Picked this hotel based upon TA reviews.

A find. Truly a wonderful hotel with friendly, welcoming, helpful staff. The hotel is centrally located on the Place Bellecour. You can easily move about the city. Massive amounts of shops & shopping are off by the river one block away - - the old city is a 10 minute stroll over the other river.

The old city is worth a half-day stroll. Interesting cathedral. Terrific restaurants, as in most of Lyon. Hard to have a bad meal i nthis town.

The hotel concierge is Mr. H. Lazreug. This man is a consummate professional at hospitality. He speaks fluent English, as do most of the hotel staff, and he knows the city very well. He will steer you to good places to eat, he's not a shill for certain over-priced restaurants, as you will find in too many hotels around the world. The hotel is immaculately clean. The beds are comfortable, the linens are superb. You feel like this is home after just a day there. Very impressed with this high level of client service by Mr. Lazreug & his associates.

One note: if you want to rent a bicycle to pedal around Lyon (highly recommended), be warned that the French bike rental system accepts only VISA cards. And, the bike rental system can be sketchy in terms of actually working.

Great city, great hotel.

Room Tip: Worth it to get a room on the Place Bellecour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fawlcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

The rooms in this hotel were wonderful. Large with king beds, French doors that open to a balcony, and decorated with great French flair. We loved the location at the heart of the main square. Close to shopping and walking distance to the historic quarter. The staff was helpful with dinner suggestions and general information We enjoyed the breakfast at the hotel but it is pricey at 21E.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alicia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburban MD
Level Contributor
103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We really loved staying at this hotel. The rooms were clean and roomy, the staff was unfailingly polite, professional and helpful, and the location was on the central square within walking distance of everything you could want. This is a teaching hotel for the Paul Bocuse Institute and the staff reflect the committment to excellence. The decor in the hotel lobby was really beautiful. The breakfasts were also diverse and excellent. One other thing I really liked was that they had remodeled recently and all the windows had two casements so it locked out the street noises. The rooms were very quiet, even those looking directly onto the square. We stayed as a family group (three rooms) in the hotel. One thing you should know is that not all the rooms have bath tubs, some only have showers. If having a tub is important to you, then you should request a tub in your room.

Room Tip: If you want a bath tub, make sure and ask for a room with a tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theorchidlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We arrived direct from Australia. So whilst we generally tend to avoid larger hotels and cities for a large part of our trips this hotel was fantastic. We arrived a little tired and this just felt like putting on your favourite pyjamas on a winter night. The rooms were lovely, a little luxurious but not too much. They were quiet and the bed was very comfortable thank goodness after flying straight thru via London. The location is sensational and the service and team were good. I was a little disconcerted at first that the breakfast room did not have any natural light but wow the decor and the breakfast itself made me get over that concern very quickly indeed. This hotel consistently offered one of the best breakfasts off all the places we stayed in France. We moved on to Beaune after Lyon and each morning wished we had stayed back here and just day tripped to Beaune. Like I said we generally avoid big towns/cities when on holidays as we see enough of them for work but I fell in love with Lyon and this hotel. We are definitely going to visit the area again and will not hesitate to book this hotel. I am excited just knowing I won't have to waste time hunting through a million options on where to stay as I know exactly...Hotel Le Royal Lyon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cour des Loges
#10 of 192 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
Villa Florentine
#9 of 192 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Hotel des Celestins
#15 of 192 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Address: 20 Place Bellecour, 69002, Lyon, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lyon
#17 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#18 Business Hotel in Lyon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal is an iconic establishment offering 72 rooms and suites, nestled in the heart of the city between the Rhone and Saone rivers. An exclusive address for travellers who enjoy the French art de vivre, discrete elegance and naturally courteous service. Feel at home in our Cote Cuisine dining room or in our Cote Bellecour lounge, for a civilised meal or beverage overlooking the Place Bellecour. (The Hotel is a member of the MGallery collection). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lyon
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing