We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, comfortable and good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Ranked #19 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend with a large group of friends to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday. The location is perfect, near to the metro and walk able to old Lyon. The room was lovely and spacious, well soundproofed and with a very comfortable bed.
One couple in our party had to cancel at the last minute due to a family illness, and the hotel kindly refunded all the deposit without question. They also left a gift of Paul Bocuse recipe book for my husband's birthday, which was a nice touch, along with the chocolates and weather forecast left every evening.

We had a bit of a mess up with the bill at the end as we checked out at different times etc, but the head of reception sorted this out readily on our return.

We didn't try breakfast as we thought it rather expensive.

I would certainly stay here again and can recommend it. Lyon is a lovely city, and well, the food.....

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireUKtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 1,353 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

This hotel is well located, has small but pretty public areas, and a lovely breakfast room. The bedroom was a little small, but the bathroom was good having been very recently renovated - so recently renovated that they had not got round to fixing a tray for the soap in the shower! The TV was very small, and strangely for a well maintained chain hotel (MGallery) they were still using old fashioned metal room keys.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RNPARIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed at this hotel on Saturday 29 September. Was unsure about where to stay in Lyon as it is a big city and we like peace and quiet really. It is situated in a lovely, lively square so expected noise. However, the windows were so well insulated we could not hear anything outside or inside. Unfortunately the restaurant was fully booked that night so we ate in a nearby restaurant which had beautiful decor but the food was a bit disappointing. The room and bathroom (separate loo) had luxurious feel with lots of little touches that made a difference. So far, so good. Our breakfast experience was poor though. The buffet was fine but the hot breakfast bar was a big disappointment. We waited a long time (it was busy that morning), did not get what we had ordered and the quality was poor. We were charged 42 euros for the privilege but as the hotel itself was a reasonable 145 euros did not feel too bad about it. I did mention our experience to the reception on departure as thought they would like the feedback. So, I would recommend the hotel but skip the breakfast and go out for it.

Room Tip: The room we had was on the front of the hotel but was very quiet due to the very efficient secondary...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We arrived at night to the hotel and immediately someone came to help us carry our luggage to our room. We traveled with our son and they made us a wonderful baby-cot. the bed was very comfortable and the room was spacious and clean. The breakfast was really something (we had a deal that includes breakfast) and everything was of the highest quality.
I can only say that you pay good money for this hotel but it worth it!
Almost forgot the location is the most central you can get.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomer Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

You could not have a better location in the beautiful town of Lyon. Le Royal is set on a corner of the Place Bellecour, the main square of the part of Lyon which sits between the two rivers. Most of the rooms have a view over the square and a view of the hill where the cathedral sits: beautiful!

The hotel has been refurbished recently with nice touches, fun wallpaper and art everywhere. The welcome was perfect, very friendly and they have a voiturier/car park service which was free. The deluxe royal rooms were very nice and a good size. Our friends had the same type of rooms but their bathroom was very small a bit like a long corridor. Ours was lovely, very comfortable bed and nice clean bathroom. The rooms have a real charm. We had a drink with friends at the bar which is a bit soulless which is a shame and it was quite hard to get service. The real surprise was breakfast. The dining room is so cute and full of adorable little ceramics and art (they need to stop adding some right now as it will become overwhelming) As the Royal is as well a culinary school from the star chef of Lyon Paul Bocuse, the food at breakfast was very tasty with a great choice. You even have a young chef right there in front of you cooking eggs to order. We went for a walk as you are 5 minutes walk from the old Lyon which is superb and forgot the time so arrive back at 12.30 (check out is at 12) and the staff were ever so friendly about it.

Of course you can find cheaper hotels in Lyon but in this category, I would highly recommend this one (rooms were at 290 euro a night)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margauxhanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel is stunning, the decoration of the rooms and lounge & bar areas is lovely and unusual. The breakfasts are wonderful - fresh fruit, yoghurts, juice, freshly baked breads, cakes and pasteries, eggs cooked to order, brewed coffee and tea etc etc. And the restaurant is brilliant - a Paul Bocuse training facility with wonderful meals at an extremely good price. Staff are lovely and friendly, made great recommendations for local restaurants & the service in all areas is excellent - we just loved it and returned at the end of our trip for another couple of nights in this great hotel in this fabulous city.

Room Tip: Rooms with outer walls will have views - inner walled views just look across to other walls via a ce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedFraggle47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Le Royal Lyon from 8-12 Sept. We had booked this hotel based on other reviews we read and in that respect we were not disappointed. We did not book our room directly but through another website and had requested a double bed. Having checked in and gone up to our room we were slightly disappointed to note that we had twin beds albeit they had been pushed together. The room was however, spacious, spotless and well decorated. The beds were very comfortable although we had some issues with the pillows, not being used to having feather ones at home. The staff were very friendly and helpful and by the second evening the reception staff had our key ready to hand over before we had even told them our room number. We did not have breakfast included with our package so cannot comment on the quality of the food, but having passed the breakfast room, can say that it was also beautifully decorated. There are lots of other cafes and shops in the area where you can get a quick bite in the morning. The hotel is in a good location. You are not too far from the old town and close to the main shopping areas. Again, a short walk away is a street with lots of restaurants (which was very handy the one night there was a torrential downpour). Our only criticism of the restaurant is that in our view there are not enough amenities at the hotel to justify its 5 star rating. If there was a pool or gym then perhaps it would be 5 star. Overall, we would recommend the Hotel Royal and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheHillsofScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cour des Loges
#10 of 194 in Lyon
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Villa Florentine
#16 of 194 in Lyon
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection

Address: 20 Place Bellecour, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lyon
#14 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#18 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: $153 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal is an iconic establishment offering 72 rooms and suites, nestled in the heart of the city between the Rhone and Saone rivers. An exclusive address for travellers who enjoy the French art de vivre, discrete elegance and naturally courteous service. Feel at home in our Cote Cuisine dining room or in our Cote Bellecour lounge, for a civilised meal or beverage overlooking the Place Bellecour. (The Hotel is a member of the MGallery collection). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lyon
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing