We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, perfectly charming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Ranked #19 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This hotel was a surprise to us. The entrance does not convey the charm and service that lies within. The room size was comfortable and exceeded our expectations and cleanliess was first rate, with an incredibly comfortable king sized bed. Furnishings were charming without being ostentatious. The hotel has the European charm that I prefer to the modern "could be in any city" type of chain. The breakfast room is both beautifully decorated and had the most lovely assortment of high quality choices as well as a chef who made perfectly prepared to order eggs/bacon. We were there in off season and feel that the value for our
cost was superb because breakfast was included.
My husband and I took full advantage of the central location to both do lots of walking but also to hop on and off bus, metro, etc. The main tourist office for the city is in the square directly in front of the hotel and we availed ourselves of the unlimited museum, transit and walking tours included in our city pass (a must to purchase). Again, the staff at the hotel
was always able to direct us to a proper bus stop and to show us routes to go directly to our
desired destination.
I have been in Lyon in what was considered to be a more highly rated hotel and would choose this again when I return. It is nicer to be treated as a valued guest with a sense of
sincerity.

Room Tip: Try to upgrade one size above the basic room and the size seems to be a significant improvement. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvtotravel055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 1,368 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed in this hotel 2 nights in October 2010. The quality of the room and it's facilities was excellent, nice bathroom, very comfortable bed. Room was spacy enough, but not huge. The view was amazing - place Bellecour - one of city's Landmark and a symbol. We didn't find it noisy, may be someone consider that.
The breakfast was delicious, good choice of dishes, Custom made and ready. Service was excellent. Would advise the room with Place Bellecour view on high floor.
Really worth for money

Room Tip: Would advise the room with Place Bellecour view on high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoscowPavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

This hotel was generally a good choice for your stay in Lyon. The location is its greatest asset - convenient for the old town and the central shopping area. Bedrooms are a bit small, especially for a hotel of this standard and price but that isn't unusual for France.

The hotel trains hotel and catering staff and generally this shows. The receptionists and the restaurant staff were generally very good indeed - helpful, polite and patient with our poor French - they mainly spoke very good English. I'm not sure how the lady in charge of the restaurant for breakfasts managed to pass the hotel interview - she was rude, unhelpful and everything that her students weren't!

Two or three complaints. Firstly the restaurant couldn't fit us in for dinner - at all - over a three night stay! The restaurant was closed entirely on Sundays and Mondays - not helpful if you happen to be staying there.

The temperature in the bedrooms swung from boiling hot to freezing cold - there ever seemed to be anything in between.

Beware of drinking in the bar - don't go at all if you don't like red - or if you don't like paying well over the odds. A small brandy and a gin and tonic cost 34 Euros!

Room Tip: Get one at the front of the hotel overlooking the square - our view was of the wall of the next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Fabulous value for money. Very charming hotel, still maintaining the grandeur of old times. Excellent location - you can walk to both the city centre and the Old City. Beautiful surroundings. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the service is impecable.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Melbourne, Australia
1
Reviewed January 19, 2012

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

A 5 day gourmet break was made better by this stylish hotel. Friendly staff and good service coupled with a great, but pricey breakfast and a big comfortable bed. All within a few metres of Place Bellecour, great shop and some great Bouchons. The only negative was a small bathroom.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wine_Hound_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We checked in to be told out room was not ready and that we should return in an hour. Upon return the same person that we spoke to initially forgot who we were and couldnt even locate our reservation! 20 mins later we were in our royal suite which was not so 'royal'. There were water stains on the walls, damaged wallpaper, scratched doors and walls, damaged toilet seats, dirty toilet seats- absolutely disgusting which I had to clean because the concierge did not even bother to notify the cleaners about, nor apologise or appear to care. The coffee cups were dirty and when I raised it with concierge once again Pierre did not even apologise or do anything about it. I even filled te cup with water and left it on the table and the cleaners just emptied it out without bothering to wash it! the cup was still wet with the dirt still visible inside - gross!
The bathrooms looked very old and worn as did the whole room. It was obvious the room was not maintained at all.
The worst part was that we paid 950 euros for 4 nights in a suite yet the tv in the lounge wasn't working. They sent maintenance to the room when we called yet they couldn't fix it. We were never updated so every day we had to ask Pierre what was happening with it and there was always an excuse! Then on the last day we were frustrated and I told Pierre my husband was I'll and in bed yet I couldn't even sit in the lounge to watch tv because it want working. Again, he didn't care and said oh we can't fix it. They originally said they would replace it, then on the last night of our stay he just made that stupid comment like he didn't care.

The so called room service menu is pathetic. There are 6 basic items that shouldn't even warrant a room service menu!!

I do not recommend anyone waste their money on this hotel it's the worst hotel I have ever stayed at in all my years of travel!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank chilichocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cour des Loges
#10 of 194 in Lyon
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Villa Florentine
#14 of 194 in Lyon
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection

Address: 20 Place Bellecour, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lyon
#14 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#18 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: $151 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal is an iconic establishment offering 72 rooms and suites, nestled in the heart of the city between the Rhone and Saone rivers. An exclusive address for travellers who enjoy the French art de vivre, discrete elegance and naturally courteous service. Feel at home in our Cote Cuisine dining room or in our Cote Bellecour lounge, for a civilised meal or beverage overlooking the Place Bellecour. (The Hotel is a member of the MGallery collection). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lyon
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing