We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Puzzling electrical problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Ranked #23 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Puzzling electrical problems”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

This was a wonderful hotel, but this is 2011, and I think that the public areas should have been air conditioned! The rooms were air conditioned, but not the beautiful lobby. So if we were waiting downstairs, we would be hot. Don't they realize that?
Another major problem was that the electricity went out for several hours in the morning. The breakfast room was very accommodating, but there was no coffee, no toast, no eggs, etc. Then later in the day, it went it out again! I just can't imagine this happening at a fine hotel. Lyon is not in a third-world country.
It was, however, a really nice hotel. Beautiful lobby, breakfast room, and guestroom. Great breakfast when the electricity was on, too.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helene123Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    455
    141
    63
    18
See reviews for
175
662
75
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed in a "red" Suite Royale Bellecour for a weekend. Chosen over the Sofitel which was slightly more expensive and slightly further away from the sites and shopping.

+ Decently priced room booked relatively early. I am not sure how much better the full suite is than the junior suite (which was the same price when I booked). There is no door between the two rooms (which must have formerly been two standard rooms that had been connected together).
+ We did get a room on a high floor as requested, with a nice view. Although we were by the elevator, there wasn't too much noise to hear.
+ Comfortable bed.
+ Excellent breakfast downstairs at EUR 20 pp.

- We came by car. No sign of a doorman when we arrived and nowhere to really stop in front of the hotel so we parked in the nearby parking garage and walked. Cost of parking from Friday evening to Sunday early afternoon was around EUR 46.
- Although we booked early, when checking in I was told blue room that i had requested was not available and we were put in a red one. You can choose blue or red (based on availability).
- Rooms are almost in need of a refresh. A few chips on furniture here and there. Nothing major. Furniture (such as wardrobe) a bit too Ikea-ish for a 4* hotel.
- Two bathrooms = nice, but awkward shower placement in bathtub and laughable child-sized bath tub size in one of them.
- No room for us in the restaurant for Friday dinner. We should have reserved in advance as restaurant looked decent.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frederic73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

This is a lovely hotel. We stayed in the Junior Suite and it was great, with a separate master bedroom (with its own full bathroom!), lovely decor and fantastic views of the city. Its location is very convenient- a great point to begin exploring the city.

There is only one downside to Le Royal, and that is the parking situation. I think the hotel should really make an effort to block the two parking spots right in front of its door, so that guests could stop and unload the luggage. We had to park on a handicapped spot around he corner to unpack the car, and then one of the hotel staff members took the car and parked it on a public lot for the night. It was OK, but a bit of a headache - we drove around the block 3 times before being able to get out of the car.

Other than that, there is nothing remotely negative I can say about this property. Staff was always very attentive and kind, even when our toddler decided to throw a tantrum in the lobby - you have to appreciate that. The suite was perfect for our family, we even had breakfast in there, looking at the city. If we ever go bak to Lyon, we will definitely be staying at Le Royal.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bringing_the_kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We stayed here for two nights.
On the plus side, the hotel is in a great location, the staff were very nice (especially the concierge and the porter), the decor of the restaurant and reception area were very nice, the junior suite was a good size.
On the minus side, despite the size of the room, the room was a bit dusty, I found hair in the shower and the bathtub, housekeeping was not thorough (they didn't bother clearing the plates in the hallway all night, even though they came to collect the breakfast menus hanging outside the doors).
I was deciding between this hotel and Villa Florentine and I think I would have done better at Villa Florentine. Not sure I'd return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alondongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We had a weekend break and all I need to say is one word "Wonderful"!!!

The city is so clean and lovely with lots to do and see for all tastes and the hotel Le Royal Lyon on Place Bellecour is a "must stay"!

A visit to the Beaujolais region is non negotiable as there are so many sweet towns

Thats' it ..Now go!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imtravelbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
202 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We recently spent 2 nights at Le Royal and would definitely return. The hotel is perfectly located in a lovely part of town, short walk to Vieux Lyon or any other sightseeing spots and central to the main pedestrian shopping street as well as tons of restaurants. The staff is friendly and helpful with any questions; when we asked for a map, they quickly opened it, marked the hotel and circled important sites for us (rather than just hand us a folded map).

The hotel is relatively small, so it has an intimate feel. The 1st floor decor feels more like a private home than hotel, as does the bar/tea room on the 2nd floor. I especially liked the decor of the breakfast room, which did remind me of eating in a lovely French country style kitchen.

If I had one recommendation for improvement, it's that the public spaces (including the hallways) are decorated in a more upbeat, modern style than the rooms -- which I found a bit old-fashioned with red patterned wallpaper and red bedspreads. The rooms are in good condition and bathrooms are very nice, but they don't quite match the style of the rest of the hotel. The rooms are a bit small, but I anticipated that and we were not uncomfortable at all (the bathroom was good-sized, in good condition, with very nice bath products).

Our package included wi-fi (which worked well) and breakfast, which I thought was served with great style (place settings, coffee pots, placemats) and with a very good variety of items. The room can get a little busy at times, which can slow down the service (getting your coffee), but not enough to be a problem. One afternoon we had tea (complimentary) in the Chinese-themed bar on the 2nd floor overlooking Place Bellecour -- very relaxing after 6 hours on our feet sightseeing.

With our package, we thought we received very good value for being in the heart of Lyon and in such pleasant, relaxing and quiet surroundings. We just wish we'd had more time in Lyon (which is wonderful) and enough time to try the wine bar next door.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank efpatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cour des Loges
#10 of 194 in Lyon
1,250 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Villa Florentine
#7 of 194 in Lyon
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Address: 20 Place Bellecour, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lyon
#17 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#18 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal is an iconic establishment offering 72 rooms and suites, nestled in the heart of the city between the Rhone and Saone rivers. An exclusive address for travellers who enjoy the French art de vivre, discrete elegance and naturally courteous service. Feel at home in our Cote Cuisine dining room or in our Cote Bellecour lounge, for a civilised meal or beverage overlooking the Place Bellecour. (The Hotel is a member of the MGallery collection). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lyon
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing