We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, quiet, great facilities” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lyon Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Lyon Metropole
Ranked #15 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable, quiet, great facilities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed for two nights but weren't able to use the outdoor pool as the weather was so poor! However, the indoor pool, jacuzzi were excellent and the ability to access the heated small outdoor spa area was welcome. Rooms are spacious with free wifi. Not central but a short taxi ride to the city centre to see the sights or eat out. We didn't eat in the restaurant so cannot comment on quality. Breakfast and spa access was included in the rate and provides the usual hotel fare - check before booking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joolz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relations C, Gérant at Hotel Lyon Metropole, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear sir,

We are glad you appreciate our establishment and our spa Lyon Plage.
I hope we have the pleasure to welcome you again in our establishment.

Sincerely

David HELENA.
Hotel Lyon Métropole & spa Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    362
    102
    43
    27
See reviews for
162
486
26
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

we had an opportunity to go to this 4 stars hotel in Lyon, thanks to a discount offer.
For us, in couple just for a small week end, arriving by car, the price was terrific, 130 euros all inclusive, pool, spa, breakfast and a bienvenue cocktail.
The staff is extremely friendly, the pool is just giant, and the Sunday morning, as lizards at its side, just after an excellent and very diversified breakfat, it was a dream.
The less positive aspects are : the hotel is at the border of Lyon, 12 minutes by car to downtown, using expensive parkings to put the car, the hotel has no charm, the room is big, very well furnished, with tv, large bathroom and independant wc, free wf, flat tv. But with a old retro deco of 70'. Not really terrible, but a detail at the side of the numerous advantages we found.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcbolay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relations C, Gérant at Hotel Lyon Metropole, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear jcbolay,

I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Lyon Métropole.
For your perfect information, the hotel is undergoing a renovation program, all of our rooms will be refurnished by the end of the year 2014.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

David HELENA.
Hotel Lyon Métropole & spa Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Me and my wife visit spa hotels often. This time tried Lyon Metropole. All was fine. Other reviews describe it well. Not central however. Swimming pool costs extra. Deffinately the weather will make or break your stay. We had a great weather and the pool in the hotel made our stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wim j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relations C, Gérant at Hotel Lyon Metropole, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear traveler,

Thank you for your comments.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards.

David HELENA
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

we booked using booking.com one of the primary reasons for this booking was the use of the pools for our 5YR old son. on arrival we were told that would need to pay 25 Euro per adult, per session if we wished to use the 'spa facilities' we were offered no option just to use the pool. on complaining to reception they said i would need to take my complaint up with booking.com but they did ackowledge that they had issues with this company and had recieved other complaints. i recommended they cease to use booking.com given the false advertisement. apart from this the apartment we ocupied was spacious and clean with excellent amenities. we missed out on enjoying the rest of the facilities and are unlikely to return to this accomodation for the sheer lack of understanding and unwillingness of the hotel to allow us to use the pool.

Room Tip: bus stop is right outside and buses run very regularly into lyon for just 2 euro,s
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relations C, Gérant at Hotel Lyon Metropole, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Madam,

First of all , thank you for sharing your experience of our hotel on Trip advisor.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the quality and the cleanness of our apartment.

I do note of the mislead by booking.com, be assured necessary have been made on this site for giving more explainations to our clients.

It is true, that reservation for an apartement there is an additional fee of €25 per person for using our city spa (2500 sqm of well-being facilities and 2 swimming pools).

We hope that despite this we will have the chance to welcome you back again very soon.

Kinds regards,

David HELENA
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

For the price we paid 100€ per night our room was new, clean, large & spacious, it was also free to park the car in the outside car park.

The hotel although very clean and comfortable however was not centrally located to any shops or restaurants. We had a hire car & it took us 10 minutes to get to the town centre.

Most of the guests appeared to be business men, pilots & air hostesses so I think this hotel caters better to business travelers rather than tourists on foot. There was however a bus stop directly outside the hotel but I am unsure if this was to go to the city? Perhaps research this beforehand if you plan to visit without a car.

The staff were always so kind, courteous & helpful & all spoke excellent English & were very hospitable to all of the guests.

The hotel appeared to have many great facilities such as gym, pool and spa.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugs77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relations C, Gérant at Hotel Lyon Metropole, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on this website.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Regarding access to the city center, there is a bus just in front of the hotel which takes you directly into the center of Lyon without changing approximately 20 minutes. Despite, there is a Velo’v Station for the more sports.
The reception of our hotel is at your disposal to answer all your questions and advise you.
If you have the pleasure to get back to our establishment I hope you take the time to enjoy our 2500m ² spa.

We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards .

David HELENA
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Unfortunately didn't have time to use the Spa facilities and the weather was too cold and wet to swim outside but it was a good base for a night while visiting Lyon on business. Room was spacious and comfortable. Bathroom was a little tired but generally clean. Staff were friendly but it wasn't very busy. Would go back with family to use the facilities, given the opportunity. Would certainly like to see more of Lyon, preferably in some sunshine. Breakfast was okay with lots of fruit available. Shame about the shell in the scrambled egg.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the river. Would be a good view if it had stopped raining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relations C, Gérant at Hotel Lyon Metropole, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on this website.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards .

David HELENA
Hôtel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

- Rooms, corridors have a Novotel feel, that is typical French hotel chain with lower quality material, thin walls, slighlty worn out carpets. Rooms are clean and correct but not really 4 stars because of that slightly cheap feel.
- Reception and people in general are welcoming and helpful.
- Breakfast are absolutely correct but not with the choice of an Hilton and the likes. You do have eggs, cheese, ham etc. so if you besides the usual croissants and the like.
- The pools, spa and tennis seem to attract external people. This gives a feel of a rather poshy and cool place, including around the bar. Pitty the rooms are not up to that level
- Meeting rooms are correct but a bit small, warm and stuffy (it was only 25° outside though)
- Location: 15/30 minutes to the center and stations. Count between 20 and 25 euros for one taxi fare. That is 40/50 euros return. And you do need a taxi or a car. By the Saone river so water is definitely all around. A bit of traffic in front but nothing bad.
- Good for business of for a spa. Maybe not my choice for a visit to the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OlivierCBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
8.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel & Spa de Chassieu
2.1 mi away
Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection
2.1 mi away
Fourviere Hotel
Fourviere Hotel
#20 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cour des Loges
Cour des Loges
#10 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa Florentine
Villa Florentine
#9 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel des Terreaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lyon Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lyon Metropole

Property: Hotel Lyon Metropole
Address: 85 quai Joseph Gillet, 69004, Lyon, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#13 Family Hotel in Lyon
#16 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lyon Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Lyon Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Lyon
Lyon Metropole Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing