We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Lucky to have stayed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lyon Metropole
Ranked #19 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We found this hotel on our way back home. We were thrilled to have found Olympic sized swimming pool, spa, Jacuzzi and sauna. Rooms were spacious and king sized beds were comfortable. We enjoyed drinks and food at the bar. Me and my cousins had an unforgettable stay here, loved everything about this hotel. An excellent rating from me.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relations-clients, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Lyon Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2012

Dear traveller,

Thank you for your kind comments.

We are very pleased to read you had a great time with us and that your expectations were fully met.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again for your next stay in Lyon.

Group Metropole Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2012

The main attraction for choosing this hotel was, it's amazing 50 meters Olympic sized swimming pool. I really impressed with quick service. Front desk executive was really beautiful and more than that quite an encyclopedia about the city. The staff was very polite, eager to help and very gentle. Well equipped spa was great and very relaxing. I would like to stay here again, if we will return again.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sachika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed here enroute to the South of France. Family room was spacious & adequate. Olympic size swimming pool which was very much enjoyed by all.Nice indoor pool with jacuzzi & ample balinesse style beds, lazy river pool outside for age 12 & over. We didn't venture out of the hotel, had drinks at the bar & booked a table in the restaurant which was fine, not great - did feel that as we were English we were not treated aswell as the French but aside from that a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: View of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJ7London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

The staff were very pleasant and efficient! The bed was very comfortable, and I slept in easily with such calm. The spa facilities were welcoming and the equipment quite modern. You must overlook the 80s-style lobby and instead see this as a wonderful place to relax and get pampered.

Room Tip: 'Plage' side is quieter. 'River' side is noisier, and the Rhône is muddy and stagna...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relations-clients, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Lyon Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

Dear traveler,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel Lyon Metropole and for taking the time to leave a review.

We are very pleased to read that you liked your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards

Customer Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We found this by accident and very glad we did. It was late at night, raining and the GPS couldn’t find our chosen hotel. But by chance we saw the huge sign atop the Metropole and headed for that for directions. The lady at the reception was very helpful and gave us the route to the hotel. But once there, it didn’t seem as inviting as the Metropole so we headed back. The lady gave us an excellent room with a large patio overlooking a huge swimming pool. Pity it was raining. The price was discounted and was excellent value for money. The room was neat, clean and comfortable and big enough for our luggage. We asked reception for some hints about a restaurant that night and received good advice, but we’d had enough driving so settled into the hotel restaurant. It became one of the best meals of out five-week tour of Italy (we were heading there from Paris). Really pleasant restaurant staff and an excellent meal. The breakfast was equally as impressive. We couldn’t have had a better hotel to stay at and it’s a shame it was only for one night. Thank you to the restaurant staff and the lady at reception.

Room Tip: Rooms with a patio overlooking the pool add space, light and a view to the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeilDPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

My experience at this hotel was ruined by the fact that i could not get a wifi connection in my room. I arrived in the evening and was guided by the staff who were extremely helpful in suggesting a suitable restaurant (beware of higher taxi fares after 10:30pm as a short trip home from dinner cost €13 vs. €8 on the way). I was also not able to get a connection in the morning in my room but i was able to use the business centre free of charge. One other point was that there was only one powerpoint in the room and i could not charge my phone and laptop at the same time. Staff were very helpful in the morning when taxis were few and far between, calling the taxi company regularly when requested to confirm one was still on the way.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawsonHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I stayed at the hotel for less than 24 hours but enjoyed the facilities immensely. The hydro pool was incredible, sufficiently heated to be used even though it was chilly. It had seven stations one more relaxing than the next. the waterfall was like having a personal massage of the head and shoulders. and the reclining station did a number on my tired legs that was sheer bliss. The hammam (wet steam) had multi colored pinpoint lighting that added a soothing touch to the steam, and the sauna was immaculately clean. There is an indoor pool (welcome on a cool night) with very comfy lounge chairs, besides the olympic size outdoor pool. There is outdoor seating near the bar or you can sit indoors in one of the many comfortable sitting areas.
Having said all that, My room was a bit austere. It had a large cabinet with a tv on top, A couch and a king size bed, and a desk with one chair, I froze during the night because I couldn't figure out the heating system and I was too tired too bother. The bathroom was okay the counter was worn out in spots. On the upside the robe and towels were thick and luxurious. In general the staff were very helpful and courteous. I would definitely return when I am in the area.

Room Tip: You have a choice of the pool or the water I had a water view and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhcostumes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relations-clients, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Lyon Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2011

Dear traveller,

We want to thank you for your comments regarding our services. We are really pleased to read that your stay was very pleasant and that you enjoyed the experience of our 2500sqm facilities well-being.

We look very happy to welcome you back at the Hotel Lyon Metropole & Spa.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cour des Loges
#10 of 194 in Lyon
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fourviere Hotel
#13 of 194 in Lyon
494 reviews
Part Dieu - Bir Hakeim
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lyon Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lyon Metropole

Address: 85 quai Joseph Gillet, 69004, Lyon, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#8 Family Hotel in Lyon
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#14 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#16 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: $117 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lyon Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Lyon Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Lyon
Lyon Metropole Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing