We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Lyon Centre Perrache
Ranked #23 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    542
    107
    15
    5
See reviews for
176
347
91
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

As such, the hotel is OK and; as indicated by other members, one is indeed not hampered by any noise. It is standard IBIS fare with an above-average breakfast buffet. And the terrific "Brasserie Georges" is just next door.

Two reasons stand out why it is difficult to recommend this place as such:

1. The area is shabby, overlooking the monstrous structure of the Perrache train station. When walking, it is really hard to get to from Place Bellecour. One needs to cross an underground of the type in which underground figures loiter to trade their wares. The result is that, at night, one ends up taking a cab.

2. By car, this place is absolutely not practical. The parking from the train station is very hard to get to. Count on some 10 minutes in total while walking. For a 24 hour stay, we paid 31 EUROs. In total, these hidden costs do add up to the final bill

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ABelgianFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

It was a bit more expensive than other comparable places in Lyon but the location was quite good - near the Perrache train station and also close access to the highways to get to the suburbs. The breakfast costs extra but was pretty good. Next time I'm in Lyon on business, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

I had never stayed at an Ibis before, so I didn't really know what to expect. My main considerations were cost and location. However, I was very pleased indeed by the hotel - it was very clean and newly renovated in a comfortable modern style.

When I booked I was slightly worried by the close proximity to the railway station, but there was no trouble at all with noise or heavy traffic. Although the immediate vicinity around the railway station is quite ugly, it felt safe. (There's a multi-level concrete structure for parking, bus stops, and entrances to the tram and metro right in front of the station, and you need to walk through it to go from the hotel to the downtown area.) But, this was a perfect location from which to walk to the main tourist spots in Lyon.

I arrived by TGV from Paris, so the hotel was only a couple of steps from the Perrache station (the stop after Lyon Part Dieu where most people got off the train). When I left Lyon I took the tram from Perrache station to the Part Dieu station, changing to the RhoneExpress tram for the airport. This was easy to do, and again there were only short walking distances between locations.

In the hotel, the buffet breakfast was nicely presented and well stocked. There were various types of cereal, yoghurts, fresh fruit, cheeses, slices of cold meat, breads, croissants, juices, and fresh coffee makers.

There was free wireless internet, but the daily bandwidth was rather small. If you upload any photos to Facebook etc then you will use up the allowance very quickly. The terms and conditions also state that you cannot use internet telephony (i.e. including Skype, I suppose). You need to collect a new day-pass code from the hotel reception every day to use the internet over multiple days.

All things considered, I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Can_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in October. We drove there and, as well documented in other reviews, had to park across the street at the public garage. It's close but not very straight forward to get there and hard to believe there is no special price for hotel parking at the garage.

The staff was somewhat helpful. The hotel interior was a bit outdated and lacking style, but the rooms were modern with laminated wood floors and an interesting ceiling design. It was convenient having Brasserie St George next door which we took advantage of.

The area was OK for a one night stop but not what I would look for if I was staying for several days to visit this city. If vicinity to the train station is important, this is a great place as it is literally next door to it. Bottom line for us is that, for the price, we found it to be a good value.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bocarob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotelo
Hotelo
#5 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Perrache - Charlemagne
Quality Suites Lyon Confluence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Lyon Centre Perrache? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Lyon Centre Perrache

Property: Ibis Lyon Centre Perrache
Address: 28 cours de Verdun Perrache, 69002, Lyon, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Perrache - Charlemagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lyon
#23 Family Hotel in Lyon
#25 Business Hotel in Lyon
#31 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Lyon Centre Perrache 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis Lyon Centre Perrache is located in the city center, 5 minutes' walk from Place Bellecour, Old Lyons and the new Confluence district, and adjacent to the famous Brasserie Georges. Located at the junction of the Paris/Marseilles highways and close to Perrache train station, the hotel offers 123 air-conditioned and fully-renovated rooms, free WIFI, CCTV-monitored public car park 55 yds (50 m) away and spaces reserved for coaches in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Lyon Centre Perrache reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Lyon Centre Perrache Hotel Lyon
Accor Lyon Centre Perrache

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing