We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as it appears”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Axotel Lyon Perrache
Ranked #64 of 196 Hotels in Lyon
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I'm shocked at the reviews of this hotel. I've stayed at plently of budget hotels in europe, but was especially insulted by this one. The hotel rooms do not match the otherwise clean and modern appearance of the hotel. THe room was dingy and disgusting, giving a brother feeling with its red on orange decore. We were speachless when we entered the room from the modern, smart looking hallway and lobby. The hotel is located three blocks from the train station, on the way, however, we met some unexpected working girls. Not a pleasant neighborhood, but not dangerouse either. Unpleasant. Would never return or recomend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChiHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Axotel Lyon Perrache
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 450 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2011

Sure there are a few little things - no minibar, we were next to the lift that seemed to operate all the time.
Some of the complaints seem Petty. Overall we loved our stay, Lyon is one of the most incredible cities we have ever been to. Because we had a baby they gave us a bigger room and were very helpful. It was a 15 minute walk to the city, but who doesn't need a good walk in the morning to work off a pain du chocolat! Would go back.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libster05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

The hotel looks nice, especially the lobby, but it felt flimsy and cheap. Very much a veneer. Uncomfortable furniture, bedding etc. Good for a two star hotel and good value for the money but deceptive as a three star. Big plus was the free wifi. Not an amazing location. The train station makes walking or driving anywhere difficult.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rdbpurchases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

1. No safe parking for your car.
2. Neighborhood appeared very unsafe.
3. 2 blocks away while driving to the hotel we saw a whole street filled with hookers right out of a bad movie, complete with the slimballs driving buy very slowly.
4. No room in theroom for your luggage, rooms VERY small, basically just big enough for the bed and for you to tip toe around.
5. Bathroom so small only one person can go in at a time.
6. If you are a larger than normal American you WILL NOT fit into the shower, its about the size of a coffin.
7. No conciere, no baggage help.
8. Would not recommend. We booked on-line and the picture looked OK, there is a best western around the corner closer to the train station, it looked a lot better.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank greg t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

If you are more than 1.65cm tall, and are not able to sleep in a very small bed that feels like concrete, dont even bother ...
The rooms are VERY small, with a very small alcove, that has to be used as a place to hang couple of clothes, and maybe put your switcase...there is no other hanging space.. the bathroom is very small as well, and the bed is the worst of all...SHORT, HARD, and NARROW... I am only 1.68cm tall and my feet were hanging of the bottom of the bed...My poor partner is 2.2, so I think his legs, from the knees down were hanging off:).. The carpet in the room is fithy, and worn out, and the room is smelling like a public toilet...

Room Tip: Dont know if there is a "best" room...
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbaram11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

We liked the axotel perrache in general - it is simple, clean and has everything you need including free wi fi. However we were woken at 9am by a loud drill in the room next to ours that continued throughout the day, and this construction was extremely noisy. It certainly isnt a great hotel - but it is fine for what you pay

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieTa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

The hotel is very close to the Perrache train and metro station. The personnel is kind and the room is very clean. There is not an internal park while on the street it is not so difficult to find a space at any time of the day (also if you should park on the street for not more than 3 hours...). The hotel recommends a parking very close and prices are acceptable. The room is very small and really hot: I had to turn off the air conditioner because it was almost impossible to stay in the room (consider that outside was around 0° celsius). The corridor that leads to the room is like an oven. The TV is set with french channels plus only some intl channels (Italian RAI 1 is not visible...). The bathroom is small but very clean. There is not so much space for baggage. The wifi internet connection is vailable without any charge.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rino73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Perrache - Charlemagne
Best Western Hotel Charlemagne
Perrache - Charlemagne
Quality Suites Lyon Confluence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotel du Simplon
Hotel du Simplon
#52 of 196 in Lyon
371 reviews
Perrache - Charlemagne
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#98 of 196 in Lyon
320 reviews
Perrache - Charlemagne
Ibis Budget Lyon Centre Confluence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Axotel Lyon Perrache? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Axotel Lyon Perrache

Address: 12 rue Marc Antoine petit, 69002, Lyon, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: $70 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Axotel Lyon Perrache 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel with multilingual staff, restaurant & bar; offering comfortable accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Fastbooking, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Axotel Lyon Perrache reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axotel Perrache Hotel
Axotel Perrache Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing