We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful cafe in Vieux-Lyon”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rene Nardone

Rene Nardone
Ranked #11 of 39 Dessert in Lyon
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
78 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful cafe in Vieux-Lyon”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

This cafe is located in Vieux-Lyon, in a very cute spot; there's a dehor where you can enjoy Nardone's glacier looking across the river Rhone sitting under beautiful trees and looking at the nicely drawn facade of the building.
The setting is therefore perfect and so is the staff, who is kind and helpful (and very efficient too: considering the queue you have to do to purchase your ice-cream and/or find a table there's a lot of people they have to take care of!).
Ice-cream is very good but I have to say that I found a bit too expensive the fruit bowl (almost 6 euros for half a banana and (just one!) strawberry seems a bit too much)!
Anyway the location worth both the wait and the price: next time I will definitely try the crepe (it looked very promising indeed!).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sara m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    82
    44
    30
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, Ca
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Unique flavors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We knew this ice cream would be good by the increasing number of people of all ages we saw licking their cones as we got closer to the shop. My friend said the Café Liégeois was the best she'd had (coffee ice cream sundae with chocolate sauce). I tried different kinds (we went back a second time) and especially enjoyed the orange-ginger ice cream. Costs a bit more if you sit down but you'll have a pitcher of water and get to rest your feet.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aubepine12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice of Ices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

What a wonderful place! Certainly one for the ice-cream addict. There is a terrific selection of flavours which tempt you back for another day! It was lovely to sit outside and watch the world go by while savouring a new flavour!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome ice cream!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

Chocolate lovers will go crazy for their chocolate ice cream in a fresh waffle cone! Yum!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank karen23039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Better than Italian gelato!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

I don't have a big sweet tooth, but two people had independently recommended Rene Nardone, so we had to give it a try. They had a wide variety of flavors that were refreshingly original - madeleine, speculoos, orange-ginger, mojito, and white-chocolate-Nutella, just to name a few. They also had a enticing array of fruit flavors, such as blackberry, pear, and melon. After much debate, I settled on the salted caramel with chocolate, and my friend ordered the gingerbread. Both were delicious, but the salted caramel with chocolate was to die for. The caramel flavor was creamy and sweet, the chocolate provided crunch and depth, and the salt created a contrast of flavors that was truly unique. I'd just spend 12 days in Italy eating daily doses of gelato, but this ice cream surpassed all of it!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BN05_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rene Nardone also viewed

 

Been to Rene Nardone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing