We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Bayard Bellecour
Nearby Hotels
$339
$257
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$142
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$111
$100
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$203
$184
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$124
Mercure
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Vaubecour(Lyon)(Great Value!)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$127
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$214
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$439
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveler rating
80
179
54
14
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
179
54
14
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationfirst floorbocuse restaurantwould definitely stay here againroom was spaciousold buildingmetrocentreluggagefrancepedestriancentury
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 345 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We were upgraded, hence my 'excellent' overall rating of the property. Our room was massive and the bed seemed larger than a king size. We had two lovely floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Place Bellecour, a desk, cupboard, table and chairs and bathroom. The parquetry floor squeaked with authenticity and the old fireplace and lovely wallpaper gave the room an almost 'museum' feel. We absolutely loved this room. Breakfast was perfect, with good choices, and the desk staff were helpful when we asked questions about cathedrals, shopping and murals. We caught the train from Paris and it was easy to navigate the local underground train system to find ourselves within 50 metres of the front door of the Hotel. The information centre is right across the road and you can buy metro tickets, and get brochures there. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rockbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL-BAYARD, Responsable réception at Hotel Bayard Bellecour, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

It is with great pleasure that we read your comments about your stay at our hotel. We are touched by your positive and enthusiastic comments and we are pleased that you liked your room AUTHENTIC DELUXE BELLECOUR.

See you soon,

L. SERPOL and BAYARD BELLECOUR team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in January. The hotel is in a great location, walking distance to the old town and major sights. There are plenty of places to eat and drink close to the hotel. The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated. The double bed was comfortable ensuring a good night sleep. The staff were friendly and spoke English. I cannot comment on breakfast as I we did not eat at the hotel. There is a branch of La Brioche Doree close by which does excellent coffee and croissants. I would definitely stay here again when visiting Lyon.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the courtyard at the back as this is off the street which might be quite noisy at night, especially in summer.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAD502014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL-BAYARD, Responsable réception at Hotel Bayard Bellecour, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear customer,

The team joins me to thank you warmly for your feedback, we are humbled to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

With thanks,

L. SERPOL and all BAYARD BELLECOUR HOTEL team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We've spent a lovely week at the hotel Bayard Bellecour. The interior decor is lovely, especially the pictures on the walls, both in the corridor and in rooms. The staff is english-speaking, very helpful and friendly, they work 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., but one can call the receptionist at night or early in the morning in the case of emergency. We've contacted the hotel staff by e-mail several times before our arrival and got detailed responses rather quickly.
The hotel is perfectly located - near the underground station Bellecour (lines A & D), main tourist attractions, traditional local restaurants (rue des Marronniers) and the shopping zone (rue de la Republique). By the way, at the Bellecour underground station there is a TCL agency, where you can buy a travel card (Tecely), very helpful if you visit Lyon regularly or plan to stay for a long time.
There is no lift in the building, despite the fact that the hotel is located on the first floor (not on the ground floor), that can present a problem for visitors with heavy luggage or a carriage. There is no air-conditioning either, so staying in summer months can be rather uncomfortable. But since we stayed in the hotel in November, we used to turn on the heating in the evening.
All in all we believe we've found a good hotel for a reasonable price.
Personally I also like that the hotel staff responds to all the reviews on Tripadvisor, that probably means that they do care about their guests.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank evoinel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL-BAYARD, Responsable réception at Hotel Bayard Bellecour, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear Madam,

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel.

Indeed, remember that we pay special attention to each of our customers remark as we seek to satisfy our customers as well.

Thank you for the valuable advice regarding transport you give to future clients.

Sincerely,

L. SERPOL and all BAYARD BELLECOUR team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here around 15 times. Not that you'd know from the front desk who never recognised me and always asked did I smoke (I don't) as it is forbidden in the rooms. As the quality of their decor improved - which it has, significantly, the level of charm decreased accordingly. Oh, and they don't honour their loyalty card if you've booked through booking.com. I mean .. Come on. So all in all, lovely rooms, diminishing breakfasts, increasing prices and and absence of friendliness make this a curate's egg. Great location. Lovely rooms, but something is lost in translation.

Stayed: January 2013
Thank Travel_monkey_1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL-BAYARD, Responsable réception at Hotel Bayard Bellecour, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you for the time spent writing this comment. Know that we attach particular importance to criticism from our clients to continually improve our services and hospitality.
We are surprised by your feelings because we usually recognize our regular customers . Can you provide us with your contact information to respond to you personally because we do not recognize you with just your username and for your last stay back to January 2013.

Your very evasive critics do not allow us to provide concrete answers here. We have different rooms from each other , some have a more authentic character with its wooden floors and toile de Jouy and others are more recent.

Do not hesitate to contact us during your next visit to Lyon , we can easily meet your expectations when we speak of bright voice.

L. SERPOL and BAYARD BELLECOUR team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had a lovely sized room with a large bathroom including a bath and a walk-in shower, as well as a separate toilet. We had paid extra for this but felt it was value for money and with an internal courtyard location it was very quiet and peaceful. Overall the location is great, close to the metro station and within walking distance of the main attractions in the Vieux Ville and Presqu'Ile. The staff were all pleasant and helpful and we had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCSJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL-BAYARD, Responsable réception at Hotel Bayard Bellecour, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Madam, dear Sir,

It is such a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you to have taken time to write about our hotel.

Best regards,

L. SERPOL and all BAYARD BELECOUR team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews