We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An outstanding choice -- don't miss out”
Review of L'Archange

L'Archange
Ranked #2 of 3,325 Restaurants in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“An outstanding choice -- don't miss out”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We decided to select this as we had had a late lunch and did not want to "waste" a Bocuse style experience nor spend a fortune on a meal we would not enjoy to the fullest.
Archange turned out to be a very special treat indeed. The atmosphere is quiet (only about 20 chairs) no reservation more than 4 persons so as to maintain the character of the restaurant.
The proprietor/main server spoke excellent English and was most helpful in assisting our menu choices.
The food was well cooked, well presented and simply outstanding. The desserts were VERY special.
The menu changes daily and usually has 3 choices of entree, main and dessert each. I would classify this as a michelin aspiring chef without the pretension that offers simply wonderful food at a price that at approximately 30 euro for the prix fixe a bargain evening.
Don't miss this while in Lyon

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 505sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    634
    155
    24
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This place is not that easy to locate and will take some time, so do go earlier than your reserved time.

Once inside the restaurant, its a transformed little cosy and romantic restaurant. Our waiter / possible the owner is lovely and explained everything on the menu and even gave us wine pairing recommendation.

The food is typically good french food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djneo_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lives up to the hype”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Modern, interesting, delicious modern french food at an attractive price. I'm from New York and these dishes could appear at the most expensive restaurants here and no one would bat an eye. Its a small place with only one seating so try to book early. The host/waiter is English speaking and very nice. My only complaint is that it's only 3 courses. I would have loved an Amuse or two even for a few more dollars and even the option for more a chef's tasting menu with 4/5 courses etc. But that isn't really a complaint. Just an observation that it is so good that I want more. Prix Fix here is 28 euro and I would have gladly paid 100. Go.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
435 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Beautiful room, excellent service, fine food”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is one of the nicest settings for a meal that I have ever experienced -- the room only seats about 24, and is beautiful -- high ceiling, white tablecloths, well-spaced tables, whitewashed stone walls with large mirrors for accents. The service is also excellent. Food was very good (although perhaps did not knock me out the way that the room did) -- I particularly recommend the ravioles with spinach sauce as an entree. I have now been in Lyon for about ten days, and this is one of the best dining experiences that I have had. Well worth hunting for the place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KingofThreePutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I can only endorse everything that has been written before.This restaurant serves Michelin quality food but at affordable prices. The attention to detail is superb with great presentation by knowledgable staff who are only too happy to explain the menu etc. If you want a memorable meal in Lyon then this restaurant is the one to go to.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paul4719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Archange also viewed

 

Been to L'Archange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing