We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and central. No (usable) internet.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belambra City - Villemanzy
Ranked #15 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Lyon
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here for a week in June. The room was very comfortable and clean, and had a good view of the city and the park just outside. There is a minimal kitchen which I did not use, but can come in handy for some. The location is very good, in a lively neighbourhood and a few minutes walk up the hill from the metro.

The biggest problem is the network connection, which is among the worst I've seen. Frequently the WiFi routers will just not accept connections. Once connected, whether by WiFi or a cable, you need to enter randomly generated user id and password from reception, and some of the time the system complains of "too many connections". If you got past all this, you get a very slow connection, with some services blocked (e.g. ssh). The staff's only excuse was that they were full and demand was high. A hotel with 88 rooms can set up an internet connection that can accommodate 200 guests without crashing.

In the summer there can be noise from activities in the park, but only during the day. There is small gym, with the key in reception. Reasonable breakfast with pastries, cereal, fruit, juice and coffee. Reception is formally always open, but when I arrived I had to wait 15 minutes for anyone to show up.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
Thank o a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 92 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had booked into another property in Lyon which did not work out for a number of reasons.
We were in the main shopping centre in Lyon, looking at Booking.com and trying to obtain 2 nights accommodation at 4pm, for that evening. We were already aware that hotel rooms were limited and costs were higher than ususal. The availability at Residence was one of a few restricted choices we had, and it had a fridge which swung it for us.
We travelled there by metro and dragging the cases up the hill, after what had already been a very difficult day for us, was not the most pleasant of journeys. However, the building is beautiful, the views are stunning and the garden area outside the building looked appealing.
We were greeted at reception by a pleasant host who was expecting us. Unfortunately for him, he asked us how we were feeling. At that time, we were exhausted, angry, annoyed, frazzled and tired but explained that this had nothing to do with the hotel, but our experiences of the day!! He managed us very well, and explained the hotel facilities etc.
We were a little dismayed that it was leaning towards a hostel vs hotel, for the money we had paid for it but decided to visit Lyon with an open mind and forget our negative start to the break.
The room was pleasant, recently refurbed, clean, small but a beautiful large window provided views across the city. There were shutters, a big plus, for sound and light proofing. The fridge was good, but cooking facilities very basic. Bathroom was clean but towels again, very small and scratchy.
Housekeeping provided us with extra pillows and we were given wi fi codes for the room. We were also given a free map of the city at reception.
We later discovered there is a laundry which we used at 2E for wash and drying.
We paid 220E for 2 nights at extremely short notice and I would not want to pay more than that.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived late at night, there was nobody in the reception and we had to wait for about 30'. The room was small and the bed was very small for a double one. The towels were used and dirty and we had to ask for a clean set.The room gets cleaned once a week and at your check out you are asked to take your garbage out.The staff was kind but their English were very poor. The breakfast was extremely poor and you are asked to pay 8€ for it!!! Nonetheless the location is OK but there are other hotels in the center offering more services with the same price.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KoSiMaX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Clean room with good views and access to the Croix Russe district.

Quibbles were poor wi-fi performance which was remedied by asking the right staff member for a cable. The kitchen was poorly designed and lacked bench space. While promoted as a fully equipped kitchen it lacked things such as a grater, sink plug, scissors, dish cloth and washing up detergent. Dishwasher tablets were available free of charge from the reception.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelTrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Very good locations, just a few steps from Lyon old town, and a metro station. Located in the very cool area called Croix Rousse. Perfect for who is driving to Lyon as they offer a free parking place. The staff was extremely kind and helpful and allowed us to leave the car in the parking place even after the check out allowing us to visit the city one more day before leaving.
The building is an ex military hospital recently transformed in a apart hotel. The rooms are good, clean, not big but ok for a few days stay. They are equipped with a small kitchen and a dining table. The bed is small (french style) but comfortable.
It's definitely not a luxury location but we were happy with our choice and would come back again for others weekend visits in lyon.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Federico S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemence_de_Belambra, Responsable relations clients at Belambra City - Villemanzy, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to read you. We will be delighted to greet you anew at Belambra.
See you soon

Sincerely
Clémence - Belambra Clubs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Good location, convenient with the kitchen in the room.
You have to climb to the hotel, but there's a metro stop close enough (Croix Paquet).
I had to ask the reception for clean towels and the ventilation in the bathroom wasn't working.

Room Tip: Pretty noisy on the Rhone side due to traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vera044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I stayed at Résidence Villemanzy during a conference in Lyon. It is a nice building (former convent and hospital) in a great location, next to a little park, very central and (if you get the right room) overlooking the city and the river Rhone. The interior is interesting combining old buildings and modern styling with lots of piano's (etc.) scattered around the building awaiting their (planned) restoration.
I would not recommend this 'résidence' to every traveler, as it is more an apartment rental than a real hotel: you have to empty your own bins and the apartment is only cleaned once a week. (on Monday). The top floor rooms are also quite hot in summer, but there is a fan in each room.
The personnel is really friendly (I dont' know about their English though) and the breakfast is quite alright but a bit expensive (8,-). You do not have to take breakfast, as you have your own little kitchen and fridge.
The park in front of the 'résidence' closes in the evening, turning it into a private park for the residents, which is really nice in summer. There is quite a lot of nice from the city though.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vselleger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Fourviere Hotel
#16 of 196 in Lyon
426 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belambra City - Villemanzy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belambra City - Villemanzy

Address: 21 Montee Saint Sebastien, 69001, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Griffon - Royale
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Lyon
Price Range: $97 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Belambra City - Villemanzy 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you want to spend your summer holidays in Lyon? Your accommodation in a charming hotel residence at the heart of the Lyon Croix Rousse district offers easy access to all the activities in the city which is on the UNESCO World Heritage List. Heritage sights, local cuisine, museums and walks.The residence is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belambra City - Villemanzy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing