We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made on premises and lots of français.”
Review of Les Fines Gueules

Les Fines Gueules
Reserve with
Les Fines Gueules is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #68 of 3,325 Restaurants in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $47
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Vieux Lyon - Quarantaine
Description: Cuisine Lyonnaise et traditionnelle / Cuisine Maison produits frais / Poissons frais d'arrivage quotidien / selection de Vin au verre de proprietaires / Salle privatisable de 40 places / Ici on epluche on mijote on desosse, on cuisine.... / Maitre Restaurateur / Bouchon Labelise : lesbouchonslyonnais
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Made on premises and lots of français.”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I ate here twice. Both times there many francais, (something i look for.) All the food is made on premises. My meals were delicious; I spied each meal as it was served. The chef really knows what he is doing. The desserts are superb. At 15€ for entrée, dinner and dessert, it's a real value.
PS if you are not experienced with French menus, be careful in Lyon. The Lyonais have an acquired taste for body parts (brains, feet, intestines, etc.) If you don't know what something is, don't be afraid to ask. I have found the waiters to be universally friendly in explaining dish preparation. Also, if you have a smart phone, I highly recommend, Menus(e) France (Robillard). Just type in a word on a menu and you get a quick translation/ preparation explanation.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Reviewer-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    194
    37
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding...”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Chic... Tasty... Excellent service... Highly recommended place... A real BOUCHON in Lyon... If you want to have a nice tasty Decent dinner this is your address and the area is charming in the heart of the Vieux Lyon...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bsayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Les Fines Gueules is authentic & has a nice atmosphere!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This restaurant is a lovely surprise in old town of Lyon, especially since most ”Bouchons” on the same street are horrible tourist traps.
Les Fines Gueules is authentic & has a nice atmosphere!
The staff/owners are professional & very sweet, the plates are traditional but they succeed to make them "lighter" than in most bouchons.
I had the escargots (snails) to start with, a beautiful Pluma Ibérique with a tasty, healthy salad (I could also have chosen the artichoke purée which also was delicious) as main course & we shared a wonderful Praline tart! All was amazingly good & at very affordable prices. (3 courses menu from 23 € pp)
Also the wines proposed were well chosen & at good value for money.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ACW66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Finally, a great French Bistrot in the Old Lyon”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Here's a good address among all the tourist traps in the Old Lyon. Excellent products, home-cooking, inventive at a moderate price. We've been there twice already and will certainly be back again soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cour R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic, welcoming, and perfectly executed”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Whilst on vacation in France we stopped by Lyon for a meal when we were on the road. We had been recommended this place by friends and I must say that it blew all of the expectations we had.

The waiter was friendly and greeted us just like if we were old friends!
The setting is simple and cozy nothing too extravagant.
We had some poached eggs with a scrumptious red wine sauce and the oxtail terrine... One of a kind!

The starters were followed by a fish souffle that tasted heavenly and my wife had a gratin of small ravioli which was very indulgent.

The deserts were very good and not over-sugary which tends to be the case in France.

This place definitely ranks in our top 3 favourite restaurants in France.
If you're in Lyon, be sure not to miss it out!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arthurbenard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Les Fines Gueules? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing