We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“OK place to spend the night en route.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Charlemagne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Charlemagne
Ranked #59 of 189 Hotels in Lyon
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
149 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“OK place to spend the night en route.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Pleasant, clean and comfortable. Close to transportation and shopping. Walking distance to the Old City. Unfortunately, the hotel was supposed to make a reservation for us at a fine restaurant in the old city, and when we got there the restaurant never heard of us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    173
    99
    27
    8
See reviews for
41
159
17
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Hotel itself okay, and staff tried to help, but it was useless.
We had res for 6 nights, checked out after 1.
Seedy neighborhood with nothing half-way decent outside.
No kidding, it's like the Bowery used to be in New York (almost).

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank WWW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, Arizona
Level Contributor
169 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Good location, a couple of blocks from the Perrache train station. I'd actually ignore the "Best Western" part of the name, it's a lot nicer than the motels I'm used to at home (which are fine, but they are a different style of accommodation). Comfortable rooms, great location, good breakfast. Compared to some other modest European hotels we've stayed in, the rooms were a good size. I don't know about the 3, 4 star thing (not sure what the rating system is in France, for starters) but it was good base for a few days. Seedy? Well anything right near a train station might be a little suspect, but we didn't feel threatened or anything. And frankly a doner kebab fit the bill for dinner our first night when we were too tired to go look for a nice restaurant. :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liza W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Located in a fairly seedy part of Lyon, however, good area for transport. Station, Metro and Trams all very close. The Hotel is perfectly suitable for a one or two night stay. Clean and everything works. Staff very polite, efficient and friendly as are most of the people in Lyon and Provence. All in all its O.K.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikey187439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
396 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I enjoy reading other traveler's reviews to see what we may agree/disagree on about a property. In this case, I'm saying this was a 4+ star hotel--particularly rated against other European hotels. The only negative was the awful toilet paper. That's no problem, though, since a bad experience in Washington, DC years ago taught us to travel with our own! That said, the hotel room was huge compared to other European hotel rooms and actually larger than some USA ones we've stayed in. The bed, linens, pillows and towels were all top notch.

The hotel sprawls and includes a courtyard and a terrace. It's an easy walk to the train station Perrache and through the station to many restaurants and sights on the other side. If you head the opposite direction, you can find an access point to the boat Taxi, which takes you up the Rhone river to multiple stops. We got off near the Cathédrale St-Jean, had lunch at a lovely restaurant, then took the funicular up to the Notre Dame and the tower. Very easy to reverse it all and get back to the hotel.

My husband booked this hotel for a business meeting (14 attendees) and enjoyed working with Gayle. She coordinated multiple arrival/departure times and helped him with all the amenities. Since he speaks no French, her language abilities were extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Ours was on the inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MurryG08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed here for one night as a stop on our way back home.

booked through last mintues top secret hotel so all we knew about it was that it was 4 stars.

Honestly, this is not a 4 star hotel and what is even more confusing is the fact that alot of stuff in the hotel states it's 3 stars so still not 100% what its meant to be.

Staff were both helpful and friendly. Terrace area and reception lovely, lifts are cramped, room was ok couple of the plug socks didn't work but the bathroom was clean and the bed was very comfy so was happy.

The location was perfect for accessing the rest of lyon as it has easy access to trains, trams and metro.

would not have paid full wack for this hotel but was good.

Room Tip: You want ot be in the second building really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank realamyamyamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed here for four nights in August, during a conference. It has a good location if you use the metro to get around. The hotel is a 3 min walk from Perrache Train Station. From here you can take the metro to Bellecour. Bellecour is centrally located by Lyons main shopping area, and it is also close to the old town and the funicular to the cathedral. There are not many restaurant close to the hotel. You have Brasserie Georges, which is a 5 min walk (and not easy to find!). In the area you also find the french-japanese fusion restaurant Do Mo. It’s about 20 min walk, but well worth it! Not a typical tourist place. Great food and service at a reasonable price.

The hotel rooms were a bit small, with worn interior. Seemed clean though. Our room didn’t have mini-bar/refrigerator… Lobby area and breakfast area was very nice. Typical continental breakfast. The hotel has a lounge area in the backyard which is very nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hege S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Perrache - Charlemagne
Quality Suites Lyon Confluence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Alexandra
#29 of 189 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 stars 570 reviews
Perrache - Charlemagne
Novotel Lyon Confluence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Charlemagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Charlemagne

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Charlemagne
Address: 23 cours Charlemagne, 69002, Lyon, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Perrache - Charlemagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Charlemagne 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory hotel with restaurant and bar; located near the Lyon Perrache subway and tram; 1 km to Musee des Beaux Arts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Charlemagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Charlemagne
Best Western Lyon
Lyon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing