We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms, excellent service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale
Ranked #33 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Summerfield, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
220 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great rooms, excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

While the Hilton is not downtown, it is only 15 minutes by bus to Lyon. It is also located across the street from a beautiful park. I don't know the age of the hotel but it appears to be newly built and the room reflect it. They are modern and the bathrooms have both tubs and separate showers. The service staff was very nice and helpful anytime request were made.

Room Tip: Suggest a high floor facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcdjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarleneRoger, PA to General Manager at Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to post your review on this website.

It is a real pleasure to read that you liked the location of the hotel.
I would also like to thank you for your positive comments as regards to our staff and I will personally share your feedback with the team members who will be glad to know that their efforts contributed to your enjoyable stay.

I truly hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in a not very distant future. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you require any assistance.

Kind regards,

Marlene Poix
PA to General Manager
Hotel Hilton Lyon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    501
    181
    68
    22
See reviews for
150
431
40
378
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
478 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very new and of a high standard, rooms were very clean and comfortable.
Although it seems a way from the centre, don't be fooled, we took a very pleasant 45 minute walk along the river in to the new town, where we had a wonderful dinner. We then cycled home on the hire bikes, there is a hire station conveniently located just behind the hotel.
The only disappointment with the hotel was that we were charged city tax and for parking, which wasn't stated at booking or check in

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aimee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarleneRoger, PA to General Manager at Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a response after your recent visit. I’m really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and our location between the park and the Rhone!

I have read with great interest your comments, and they are valuable to us to improve a quality that we want still increasing.

I look forward to welcome you back to the Hilton Lyon.

Kind regards

Marlene Poix
PA to General Manager
Hotel Hilton Lyon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, with a great view over the river. Although not in the centre of town, there's a very good tram service that takes you into town, and the tram stops right outside the hotel. The staff are really friendly and helpful, and the breakfast buffet is absolutely wonderful, complete with champagne provided on the buffet. We were a bit disappointed with our evening meal, but as Lyon is the gastronomic capital of France, there's no shortage of FANTASTIC restaurants in town. I hope we can visit this lovely hotel again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmin186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarleneRoger, PA to General Manager at Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to forward to our attention your feedback regarding your stay here with us.

It was a pleasure to note that you were satisfied with the services rendered as well as with the friendly and professional attitude of our team members. Your kind comments will be passed on to them.

Once again, thank you for having chosen the Hilton Athens for your stay.

Kind regards,

Marlene Poix
PA to General Manager
Hotel Hilton Lyon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli
Level Contributor
95 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Had a lovely stay here. Travelled for our annual girls trip and we were all thrilled with the freebies in the room.
Staff were all helpful and friendly especially Ali in Exec Lounge.
Concierge and reception great.
Highly recommended

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SJ118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarleneRoger, PA to General Manager at Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor.

I will relay with pleasure your feedback to Ali who will be glad to know that his efforts contributed to your enjoyable stay!

I truly hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Marlene Poix
PA to General Manager
Hotel Hilton Lyon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level Contributor
105 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

me and my wife stayed 1 night at hilton lyon.,we had a good price for hilton.hotel is not at the city center but location is good if you like parks just opposite is a big park with lake ,and next to the modern museum.and trams are passed just front of the hotel.room and bathroom are really big,bed is comfortable reception is friendly ,breakfast is a classic hilton especially compare to french breakfast really good..
small constructive critics:at hotel site it says private parking,but we could not find and after a long trip we tried hard finally we asked and learn that we had to enter public carpark first then you find the hotel sign. ı recommend that hotel has to put a small sign indicating the carpark.secondly we parked in the car park and fallow the signs to elevators but 20 minutes we could not get the reception because lift was broken ,and we could not find the stairs.at the end we saw a hotel staff and he showed us the internal lift for carrying heavy goods.and when we went to reception the lady told us that we should not use that elevatorswhen we told her visitors elevator is not working we only daid that İT HAPPENS SOMETIMES.but as a result hilton is a good hotel to stay and lyon is worth visit city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mualibarut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarleneRoger, PA to General Manager at Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

I wanted to thank you for your kind comments on trip advisor with regards to your recent stay.

I’m really pleased to read that you had a very nice stay and you enjoyed to be in our Hilton Hotel!

Indeed our hotel is part of a modern building designed by world famous architect Renzo Piano. Nice to also hear that you enjoyed our neighbourhood and I would specially recommend to visit the Park Tete D’or - one of the largest city center parks in Europe,

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Marlene Poix
PA to General Manager
Hotel Hilton Lyon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
142 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times and have always enjoyed the staff. The location may not be in the center if things but being on the beautiful Parc de la Tete D'Or makes up for everything. It is time yo refurb dome of the rooms.

Room Tip: Nice spa - though the steam room was out of service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarleneRoger, PA to General Manager at Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for selecting the Hilton Lyon for your stay and for taking the time to send us your feedback. We appreciate the comments we receive from our guests, as this is the only way we can find out of our shortcomings and improve the quality of our services.

Look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Marlene Poix
PA to General Manager
Hotel Hilton Lyon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

I would start by saying that I really liked the location of the hotel. It is adjacent to the Parc de la Tete d'Or which is a beautiful urban park...a treasure. It is also adjacent to the Rhone which has a wonderful biking/running trail along the banks. The rooms were OK though not particularly clean. The major issue we had was the front desk staff. They were unfriendly and unhelpful. The concierge was really useless in terms of recommendations in one of the best food cities in the world! Check out was especially abrupt. The front desk staff seemed annoyed, almost as if we were bothering them(we checked out at 9:30 PM, but paid for the extra day in the room). The brasserie was good-the staff here friendly and efficient. It's too bad, the hotel certainly has potential...completely unrealized.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarleneRoger, PA to General Manager at Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback!

It was a pleasure to see that your husband and yourself enjoyed your stay here at the Hilton Lyon.

All your points, regarding the improvements that need to be made in specific fields and services have been taken into serious consideration and reviewed with my team in order to take necessary action and correct any shortcomings.

We do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back again in future and extend the warm hospitality that our guests have come to expect from us over the years.

Kind regards,

Marlene Poix
PA to General Manager
Hotel Hilton Lyon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Part Dieu - Bir Hakeim
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale

Property: Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale
Address: 70 quai Charles de Gaulle, 69006, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#30 Family Hotel in Lyon
#36 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the amazing "Park de la Tete d'Or" and the Rhone river and next to cinemas, the Museum of Contemporanean Art and the International Congress Center. Very well located at 20 minutes pleasant walking distance to the city center or 10 minutes by public Bus transportantion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Lyon Hotel Lyon
Hilton International Lyon
Lyon Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing