We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale
Ranked #33 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

The hotel may be further away from the city center but it is very well serviced by the public buses. It is next to the Museum of Contemporary Art and the Interpol building, so buses pass by every 5 minutes. The executive lounge on the 8th floor is a nice perk offering free breakfast, drinks and snacks for those who have access to it. All in all it was a very nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristosK78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarleneRoger, PA to General Manager at Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

I wanted to thank you for your kind comments on trip advisor with regards to your recent stay.

I’m really pleased to read that you had a very nice stay and you enjoyed to be in our Hotel!Indeed our hotel is part of a modern building designed by world famous architect Renzo Piano. Nice to also hear that you enjoyed our neighbourhood and I would specially recommend to visit the Park Tete D’or - one of the largest city center parks in Europe,

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Marlène Poix
PA to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    498
    181
    68
    22
See reviews for
150
429
40
377
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
136 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Hilton Lyon is a modern and efficient business hotel, somewhat on the outskirts of central Lyon (through not too far off), but right on the river and next to a beautiful park.

The rooms are modern, good beds provide for a good night sleep. The one we had was facing the park which was quiet. River view might be different as one of main roads into town runs parallel to Rhone.

Breakfast is served in a brasserie-style restaurant facing the park. Good blend of French and American breakfast culture featuring both eggs in all variations, but also real cheeses with real taste.

In general, this is more a hotel designed for the the business traveler. We were threre on holiday and enjoyed the half-empty lounge during the week-end (nice view over the river). This may be different though, when more business travelers are around.

The Hilton is not in the city centre but there is a bicycle rent right outside and, wheather allowing, this is the easiest way to get into town.

Despite the good impression overall, some service issues need to be mentioned. There is literally no free parking in the area. So if you go there by car, you have to use their parking garage. When we came there, first it was a hassle to drive up to entrance. Once we were there it was all about unloading our car at high speed so that we could hardly think over what we actually need during our stay and what could have stayed in the car. It was all about making it quick and convenient -- for the staff, that is, but not for the customer!

Room Tip: Even if river views can be tempting, rooms facing are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeenThereAlready_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarleneRoger, PA to General Manager at Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for comments on Trip Advisor.

We are sorry to learn that you were disappointed during your recent stay at our hotel with our parking and we would like to apologize for any possible inconveniences.

We always endeavour to offer the highest level of service and it would appear that we failed to meet your expectation.

We do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Lyon.

Best Regards

Marlène Poix
PA to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

We loved staying at this hotel. The only thing that made me hesitate for a moment about the five star rating is that the rooms could use a bit of updating. Other than that, everything was perfect during our stay; this was our favorite hotel of the trip. The hotel is across the river from the old town, but from out point of view, that was ideal. The old town is nice to visit, but it's overrun with tourists, crowded, and cramped. So it was great to return to the calmer and more expansive spaces across the river. The rooms, as others have noted, are large and comfortable. We had one with a glassed-in balcony (can be opened) looking out over the art along the path and beyond that over the stunning park. The hotel staff members were friendly, helpful, and authentically nice people. Parking tip: the doorman told us that if we didn't want to pay to park in the lot, we could drive down the river toward the first bridge that crosses over into the old town; there along the river, on the side, there is free and unlimited parking. It's a couple blocks from the hotel, and we were a little concerned at first about safety, but then noticed that among the cars parked there were Mercedes and other luxury cars (and they were there throughout our stay), so we left the car there without problem.

The guy at the front desk told us about the Velo'v bicycle system when we arrived, and that was what really made our stay. Lyon has a community program where you pay a small amount (3 Euros for a week, 1 Euro for a day ) to use one of the thousands of bikes that are locked up at the hundreds of stations around the city. You sign in at the computer at the station, a bike releases, and off you go. If you return it within 30 minutes, there's no extra charge. If you keep it longer, you pay a small amount--another Euro or two, depending on the time. There's a station directly outside the Hilton, and a bike path that takes you into the town also. We used the bikes for all of our sightseeing. You rarely need them for more than 30 minutes, as there are stations everywhere. It would have been a very steep ride up to the Basilica, and the bikes aren't great quality, so I'd suggest walking up (or taking the tram); but you can pick a bike up at the top (amazing views) and ride down. We also rode them along the river one day, out of town--gorgeous country; in the other direction, you ride along the bike path that runs down the extended entertainment stretch of the river--restaurants, promenades, etc. If you park by the river, you can even grab a bike across the street to cycle the stretch back to the hotel.

The huge park behind the hotel is gorgeous--lakes, various gardens, etc. It's great for a run or a walk. We also loved the sculptures along the walkways around the Hilton. The room itself was quiet as could be--never heard a sound. The executive lounge was also lovely--wonderful view, and the nicest staff ever. We'd return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank literatureprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarleneRoger, PA to the General Manager at Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a response after your recent visit. I’m really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and our location between the park and the Rhone! I have read with great interest your comments, and they are valuable to us to improve a quality that we want still increasing.

I look forward to welcome you back to the Hilton Lyon.

Kind regards

Marlène Poix
PA to General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
272 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

I have stayed here at least 3 times over the past 5 years. Lyon is a great city and more visitors should plan to spend time here. If you want to experience French culture, you will get more of here than in Paris which is more International than French IMO.

Back to the Hilton-So its on the river and half the rooms face the river with a street between the hotel and river. Traffic is minimal so no reason not to pick a river view room which have very nice views and balconies. The other side of the hotel faces the big park/zoo in Lyon. The rooms mainly face some beautiful trees so very quiet and peaceful. Rooms are all large (huge by french standards) and include very modern fixtures and appointments. Casino, a couple of restaurants are attached to the hotel. Only downside is its a walk across the large park to the subway, so you will be walking a lot or taking cabs. Modern-clean-awesome rooms-usually good prices. No reason to stay elsewhere in Lyon

Room Tip: river view rooms have a small amount of traffic, perfectly peaceful on park side, most all the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarleneRoger, PA to General Manager at Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear you do appreciate our hotel facility and service we provide.

If you would be so kind as to contact my office directly when making your arrangements for your next visit to Paris, I would be delighted to assist with the reservation.

Sincerely yours,

Marlène Poix
PA to Richard Cuello
Hotel Hilton Lyon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

Though not in the city center, the hotel offers great facilities at good prices. The hotel is well maintained and looks very new.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Chevalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarleneRoger, PA to General Manager at Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear Traveller,

Thank you very much for staying at our hotel in Lyon and for giving us your encouraging feedback through TripAdvisor.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our service and your stay with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards from the Hilton Lyon

Marlène Roger
PA to Richard Cuello
Hotel Hilton Lyon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

This is an average Hitlon. The rooms are comfortable and the food is good. I had room service one evening and it was good (not excellent like much of the food in Lyon). The breakfast in the morning was good as well.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JumpRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarleneRoger, PA to General Manager at Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a response after your recent visit. I’m really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and our location between the park and the Rhone! I have read with great interest your comments, and they are valuable to us to improve a quality that we want still increasing.

I look forward to welcome you back to the Hilton Lyon.

Kind regards

Marlène Roger
PA to Richard Cuello
Hotel Hilton Lyon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Its location, quality rooms, valet arrive at the reception in charge of the luggage and park the car.
he hotel was situated in a quiet area and exactly where he was a professional salon to attend as an exhibitor.
There were some details to rate the room cleanliness excellent. Do not put a day bed cover, or missing a hand towel in the bathroom. We all meals at the hotel and need a bit of variety in the letter from the restaurant.
I did not like the smell of drains in the corridor leading to my room. I did not like finding hair in the bathroom or on the sheet of my bed. We must put cardboard in the door to make cleaning the room, usually you do not care to clean in this room daily.

Room Tip: Its bussiness hotel. No activities for children
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarleneRoger, PA to General Manager at Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for comments on Trip Advisor.

We are sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your recent stay at our hotel and we would like to apologize for any possible inconveniences. We always endeavour to offer the highest level of service and it would appear that we failed to meet your expectation.

We do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Lyon.

Marlène Roger
PA to General Manager
Hilton lyon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale
1.8 mi away
Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection
0.7 mi away
Warwick Reine Astrid - Lyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residences Temporim Lyon Cite Internationale
1.8 mi away
Mercure Lyon La Part Dieu Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale

Property: Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale
Address: 70 quai Charles de Gaulle, 69006, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#30 Family Hotel in Lyon
#36 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the amazing "Park de la Tete d'Or" and the Rhone river and next to cinemas, the Museum of Contemporanean Art and the International Congress Center. Very well located at 20 minutes pleasant walking distance to the city center or 10 minutes by public Bus transportantion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Lyon Hotel Lyon
Hilton International Lyon
Lyon Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing