We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good choice”

Musee des Beaux-Arts
Book In Advance
More Info
$26.52*
and up
Lyon City Card
Ranked #12 of 202 things to do in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to an impressive collection of paintings, both French and international.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Large selection of impressionist paintings and Roman artifacts
Located at the main square next to city hall and central cathedral.
Large museum, large display and nice coffe shop and souvenirs.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jagcha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    720
    575
    116
    20
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not as big or impressive as made out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Good audioguides and explanations of the main pieces. Not as extensive as suggested in Michelin, Rough Guide or other Guidebooks

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BWAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Solid collection; well-presented; few crowds. Wish there were more impressionist paintings. Housed in a beautiful old church and surrounded by small but lovely and quiet grounds. I now regret not eating at the cafe! If you only had time for one museum in Lyon, I'd recommend it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank HSW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowen Island, Canada
Level Contributor
287 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Excellent collection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Lyon is France's second largest city, so it is reasonable to expect that there be good galleries. But the quality of the collection here was WAY better than I would have anticipated.

A huge Antiquities section (the Romans were big in Gaul!), a wonderful sculpture gallery, and an amazing 20th century art ('modern art') show, were among the highlights.

Navigating the building was a breeze ( a simple quadrangle), and the inner courtyard was a pleasant area for recovery from wandering the galleries.

I'd rate this a 'must see' in Lyon.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A great range of art in stress free surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Set in a 17th century abbey, this was an unexpected treat. A fabulous a selection of paintings, sculptures and artefacts ranging from ancient Egyptian to 20th century European, the collection is well laid out to allow a leisurely stroll through the periods laid out over several floors. I was captivated by the medieval sculptures and the Egyptian artefacts in particular. Scattered amongst the more modern paintings and sculptures are examples by Rodin, Van Gogh, Renoir, Degas, Monet, Manet, and El Greco but for me the jewel in the collection is a huge Rubens full of vibrancy and passion. It is worth the entrance fee alone. We had lunch on the cool terrace - a relief on a hot day. The food was excellent. I was surprised, if relieved, that galleries were virtually empty so we almost had the place to ourselves. After our visit we sat by the fountain in the cool cloisters. Bliss!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank nics218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee des Beaux-Arts also viewed

 

Been to Musee des Beaux-Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing