We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position if travelling by rail”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache
Ranked #38 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Sydney
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great position if travelling by rail”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The staff at this hotel, made us feel very welcome, and were very helpful when we asked numerous questions about getting around Lyon.The room was very small and dark but quiet considering the hotel is right next to the Perrache railway station.The bathroom was quite large though! We ate at the hotel restaurant twice, dinner when we arrived late on a cold wet evening, and buffet breakfast the next morning. Both meals were expensive and tasteless,there are better bistros close by where you can get a reasonably priced and lovely meal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydneyshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta P, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

We are sorry that the services did not meet your expectations and we beg your to accept our sincerest apologies.

Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level of the restaurant and the breakfast services meet your expectations and earns your trust when your next stay with us.

I hope I will have the pleasure to welcome shorlty

Looking forward to welcoming you.

Yours sincerely

Marta Pardo-Badier
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    406
    166
    71
    42
See reviews for
145
339
80
285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

On a 5 week trip through Italy and France, this was our third hotel and the worst so far (others have been great). We were allocated a room on the 5th floor. Upon reviewing the fire safety floor plans, it is the floor with the smallest rooms, and ours was the smallest on the floor. How it can be sold as a room, let alone a double room is beyond me. My wife and I had to negotiate with each other to navigate around the room. Broken tiles in the bathroom, dark and dingy decor, grossly inadequate lighting, air cond that did not work (we were told the air cond throughout the hotel was not working, had not been for several days and would not be for several days more). The air cond was a problem for us as it was hot in Lyon during part of our stay. Could not open the window because of the traffic noise from the freeway just outside and from the train station nearby. So we had several nights of uncomfortable and broken sleep in a hot room. Reception staff had the uncanny ability be perfectly indifferent (yes the French are famous for this, but we have not found it elsewhere) - they could not have cared less and there was certainly no assistance from across the reception desk. The location was poor unless travelling by train (we were not), a long walk from any form of life. Cannot think of any redeeming features. Go elsewhere!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JonnyG1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta P, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

We are sorry that the services did not meeti your expectations and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.

I have to inform you that the hotel will enter a phase of full renovations in 2014.
I hope Il will have the pleasure to welcome your personally to make you rediscover the hotel and then earns your trust.

Kind regards,

Marta Pardo-Badier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Very conveniently located right beside the Perrache station if you are travelling via rail.
We had requested a room on the other side of the station so we weren't too bothered by the noise of the trains.The rooms are spacious with all the necessary furnishings however keep in mind the rooms are a little worn. The front desk staff were very helpful when we had a medical emergency around midnight & managed to find us a doctor to come to the hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the station if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust4217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta P, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank your for having taken the time to give us your views in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks concerning the quality of our services. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meeti your expectations.

I have to inform you that he hotel will enter a phase of full renovation in 2014. I hope I will have the pleasure to welcome your and make you rediscover the hotel

Looking forward to welcoming your,

Yours sincerely,

Marta Pardo-Badier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I have stayed in the Hotel in the end of January. It was quite a great suite, I guess all the rooms in the hotel are suites. Very spacious with your own fire place and all the luxuries. I highly recommend it to anyone staying in Lyon.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, being the hotel a chateaux.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghaith81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta P, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you very much for the comments your transmitted to us concerning the quality of services your experienced during your stay.

We are very pleased to know that your enjoyed your stay among us and want to thank you for the congratulations you've made about our services and our team.

Looking forward to welcome you shorlty,

Yours sincerely,

Marta Pardo-Badier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hotel is located right beside the Perrache station which has the expected draw backs at night (though the noise isn't thát bad). It also makes it ideally located on a public transportation hub. On foot you are a fifteen minute plus walk from Vieux Lion, maybe half an hour from the good restaurants so keep that in mind. The rooms are very dark and old style but comfortable enough if you only use the hotel as your starting point. Breakfast is a good sized buffet - nothing special but everything is there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta P, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for the comments our transmitted to us concerning the quality of services your experienced during your stay.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay among us and want to thank you for the congratulations you have made about our services and our team.

Hoping to welcoming you back soon, we will be careful and will give you entire statisfaction.

Yours sincerely

Marta Pardo-Badier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubonne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were very pleased with the Château Perrache – the exterior has a lot of history to it (the old Hotel Terminus of Klaus Barbie’s Gestapo fame), just next to the main Perrache rail station, and the interiors have a kind of historical elegance. It is super-convenient for people who have come by train, and the extremely attractive walkway from the rail station to the Place Carnot and beginning of the Rue Victor Hugo, with the big carparks and stops for all the trams and buses along the way, makes it very convenient for sightseers to get to the Presqu’île shopping and churches and the Vieux Lyon old town just across the Saône. We evidently got in for some kind of promotional special, because the weekend price (with the normally supplemental breakfast thrown in) was really attractive, and when we decided to stay on they happily extended their weekend rate for us into the week. The restaurant Belles Saisons was reasonably priced and, whilst not truly Lyonnais fare, very good, in our view. The classic Brasserie Georges is right on the other side of the rail station.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta P, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you shorlty

Yours sincerely,

Marta Pardo-Badier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Iowa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is definitely a business hotel, not for tourists. On our recent trip to Lyon we thought we were going to be within walking distance of the train station, which we were, but the trains we were taking on our trip came into the other station. Without a car this hotel is remote from good restaurants, and tourist sights. We were able to navigate with the Metro and buses, but it would have been more fun staying more in the middle of town. The hotel service and room was great as was the restaurant on the first night of our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta P, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

I noticed that find the hotel too far from the center of the town..
Indeed the hotel is located on the Esplanade Station perrache, essential asset for all guests arriving by TVG since we are 2 minutes walk from the train station and the city center of Lyon.

I hope I will have the pleasure to welcome you personally to make your rediscover the hotel and then earn your trust.

Looking forward to welcoming you.

Yours sincerely

Marta Pardo-Badier
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Hotel Alexandra
#34 of 194 in Lyon
659 reviews
Perrache - Charlemagne
Ibis Lyon Centre Perrache
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perrache - Charlemagne
Best Western Hotel Charlemagne
Perrache - Charlemagne
Quality Suites Lyon Confluence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache

Property: Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache
Address: 12 cours de Verdun Rambaud | Esplanade de la gare, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Nouveau building, listed as a historical monument, located in the centre of Lyon. The hotel is close to the Perrache TGV railway station, a 10mn walk from place Bellecour, close to all public transport. The reception lobby has been renovated in 2009. Most of the rooms have been renovated in 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing