We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Lyon Bellecour
Ranked #26 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
West Kingston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The good and bad:

The good:
Location where you can walk to everything in the city
Air condition worked great, it was really hot this week.
It was in a modern room, nice bathroom
Minibar included
Place was clean
Comfortable beds

The bad:
They have rooms that haven't been refurbished on the top floors, these were not as nice.
Below average gym
Smoking floors, but to their credit, I was on one, and it didn't smell like smoke.
No pool....it was really hot, I was dying for a pool
The breakfast is ridiculously expensive (€26), but you can walk around the corner and get it for 1/3 the price.

All in all, a nice stay. I would be leery of staying again unless they were to put me in a new room on a non-smoking floor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    673
    222
    87
    47
See reviews for
201
918
115
403
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night on way down through France. Staff were all friendly and spoke good English . Rooms were well equipped and free soft drinks in the fridge.Buffet breakfast was everything you could want and I would defiantly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mwg66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour using Lyon as a base to enjoy the city and to take day trips to the foothills of the Alps and to Marseille.

It is a lovely, convenient place. The staff is very welcoming, the room was very comfortable, and they provide you with free wireless and a refrigerator stocked with nonalcoholic beverages every day. You can also grab a water on your way out for the day. A very nice touch, as that can really add up monetarily during the course of a day. I got into the habit of having a morning Diet Coke, a Sofitel supplied Evian during the day and an evening Coke Zero.

The location was great for Old Lyon and river access. There is a subway station right around the corner, there is a huge post office where the subway stop is, and one of the city's two train stations is within walking distance.

There are great restaurants nearby as well.

There is a bar on the top floor that offers a fantastic view of the Rhone and beyond to the newer part of the city.

I am a big Sofitel fan due to their consistency of quality and service. This hotel was no exception.

Room Tip: If you don't need a lot of space but would like a lot of light, the corner rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights. The hotel is in an excellent location for the city, shopping and excursions etc. An extremely comfortable and clean room and en-suite - no faults! The staff were welcoming and always with a smile and courteous. The breakfast was excellent and on the top floor with a panoramic view of Lyon. A very well run hotel who put the customer first. It was a delight to stay there.

Room Tip: We had a river view as the hotel is right next to the Rhone, but I expect all rooms are v good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWLANDSVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceClient, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your kind comment. We are truly happy that our services reached your expectations and hope to see you again very soon.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Sofitel experience was good as firstly the check-in was very good with multi lingual check in staff and very keen to assist.

The rooms are not too bad and we checked in late as our train came into the city late from Paris. We ordered room service and was impressed with the quality of the food which was amazing and tasty for late night hotel room service.

The overall quality of the room and facilities were good and well compatible with the rate seeing charged. The rooms are of decent size and toilets/facilities are well above average and is of good quality. Our trip to Lyon was complimented by the wonderful restaurants nearby which also added our enjoyment of quality French food and wine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnLeesa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piraeus, Greece
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location,in the center of the city,near the river.
Our room was totally clean and comfortable,with amazing beds and an extraordinary bathroom.
The breakfast time was my favorite,as there was a good variety of food and a marvelous view of the city.
At last the employees were kind and helpful and I was provided with every service a five-star hotel can offer.
If you can afford it,I totally recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Constantinos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, WA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My adult daughter and I shared a very comfortable room of moderate size in this upscale hotel on the Rhone. Absolutely everything was top-notch even though it was a bit lacking in French "character." The cleanliness, the service, the restaurants, the bar -- all was impeccable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodieFemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cour des Loges
#10 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Villa Florentine
#7 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Lyon Bellecour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Lyon Bellecour

Property: Sofitel Lyon Bellecour
Address: 20 quai Docteur Gailleton, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#13 Business Hotel in Lyon
#19 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#28 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#28 Family Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Lyon Bellecour 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Rhône river near the Vieux Lyon, World Heritage Site, Place Bellecour, Parc de la Tête d'Or and the city's countless museums and cultural attractions. With 164 sleek rooms and panoramic suites, a renowned Michelin-starred restaurant "Les Trois Dômes", a contemporary brasserie "Le Silk", two fashionable bars "Le Light Bar" and "Le Mehlor", with an indulgent hotel spa and a high tech fitness center, this luxury Lyon hotel is ideal for the discerning business or leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofitel Lyon Bellecour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lyon Bellecour Hotel Lyon
Lyon Sofitel
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing