We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Lyon Bellecour
Ranked #30 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Nice hotel, nice view of the river, it is a very clean place and the service is nothing to complain about. Clean comfortable beds a nice size bathroom and Hermes toiletries. What I loved the most about this hotel aside from the amenities, was the location. It is a few blocks from Vieux Lyon, only a couple blocks from the main square with tons of delicious food options and shops. They have those self serve bicycle renting stations all around you in Lyon, and this is a great way to explore the city or just go to and from the train station, you need a chip card to rent the bikes. Enjoy Lyon and if you can visit the bookstore Fnac (right by the main square) and purchase tickets to a football match or a show.

Room Tip: Higher floor and river front if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vanessa-Turista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,022)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

499 - 505 of 2,022 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
London, United Kingdom
11
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Tis Hotel is fine the lobby service was quite good however the Domes in hotel restaurant although having a Michelin star lacked the degree of servive one would expect - the food was however more than acceptable .

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Been to Sofitel Lyon on a 1 night stay to visit the Burgundy area. The Hotel is very well localized, and up to the Sofitel standarts. Free wifi internet was a plus, since it was not in the hotel portfolio. Teh hotel itself seems to be recently reformed. Confort is first class and tehre are all the small luxury to spoil the guests (bath robe, slipers, etc.) the main restaurant is in the last floor, but as i didnt have reservation i can not have dinner there.
Tips: the same food of teh restaurant is served on the romm service, I know it is not the same think, but is bether than nothing.
Tip2: the hotel has a brassery on the ground floor, with excelent food and a more informal ambient. good choice for a fast dinner.
Staff was very polited, as aways.
The rooms are not that big, but above the Europe average.
Good experience, up to expected on a Sofitel

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mfgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I must admit that when i saw the hotel from the outside i was a bit dissapointed as it was a modern building in the area where it is located i expected it to be more traditional or old. However inside everything changed. The room was very nice. The hotel layout is very modern and stylish. The rooms are not huge but quite big, with free minibar and wifi and a nice music station to connect the iphone too. The minibar has mainly drinks like juices, cola and water but it is still a nice detail to offer it for free. The bathroom is very clean, with Yves Delorme bathrobes and towels and Hermes' toiletries.
The breakfast was a nice way to start the day as the room it is located on the top floor and the view was amazing. I am really happy with my first Sofitel experience and I think the fact that wifi is free its quite amazing these days, as it is not very common.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jon_alfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed 1 night in this hotel in mid October. We both loved it even though we had no river view window.

Location
The hotel is strategically located in the centre of Lyon. It is probably a 15-20 minute leisure walk from the train centre. Make sure you walk through the pedestrian street Victor Hugo for a nice stroll to Place Bellecour.

Room
The classic room was a good size room for the two of us. We were greeted with a bag of delicious cookies from the renown chef. The cookies were yummy and delicious!!!The minimalist decor is simple but yet elegant. The Sofibed is truly amazing; you should definitely try it!!! The hotel has twice daily housekeeping services and our complimentary water bottles were replaced in the afternoon. And oh.. have we mentioned about the complimentary mini-bar, luxury toiletries and the tropical rain shower?

Dining
We did not have dinner at this hotel but we went to have cocktails at the panoramic bar on the top floor. The view was amazing and the drinks were pretty good. We had a great time just spending our time here.

The breakfast is located on the panoramic floor. The breakfast was great, and the selections range from hot food (scrambled eggs, hash browns, sausages) to cold food (cold cuts, yogurt, cereals, fruits, etc.) Each table is given selections of Le Notre fruit jams which are also selection.

Internet
The hotel gives you acces to free wi-fi for a limited number of hours. In order to use the service, you need to register first. If you would like a faster and unlimited use of the wi-fi, it comes with a cost.

Overall, we had a magnificent moment at Sofitel - Lyon Bellecour. Despite the charms of the old town, somehow our best moment in Lyon was the experience of staying in Sofitel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nouv3aux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Maybe it was because I just spent 7 days in a Geneva hotel twice the price, but when I arrived at Sofitel Bellecour, it was like a paradise. The hotel is modern and top class, right on the river, a block from Bellecour Place (Plaza) where the tourist center is and lots of shopping. There are many restaurants within walking distance if the very nice ones at the Sofitel itself are not enough for you. On a map, Bellecour looks a long way from Vieux Lyon (the Old Town) but it is in fact only a 10 min walk. So very centrally located. The hotel itself is first class from the service to the amenities (many nice high end stores on the first floor). But it was the room I loved the most-newly furnished, dark neutral colors, surprisingly large by European standards. I could've been back in a NYC hotel, the standards were the same. And the Hermes bath products are a really nice touch. I got an amazing rate there (not sure how I managed it, luck I suppose when I booked it online) but I would've gladly spent twice as much. Lyon by the way is a beautiful charming city and needs to get back on the US tourist map!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jbender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed in the sofitel Lyon for a week in October, I chose this particular hotel due to it's Michelin star restaurant on the top floor.
My trip was based on visiting the top restaurants of Lyon which was an incredible experience. The sofitel Lyon made this trip comfortable! The room which we stayed on was on the 7th floor the top being 8th where the bar and restaurant are located. The view from our bedroom was nice, you could see the main river but at an angle. So i would recommend a front facing room on the 7th floor. The room had a clean marbles bathroom always replenished with amenities. A free mini bar was also offered (no alcoholic drinks) the bed was very comfortable! Apart the room the concierge was absolutely fantastic! Really taking care of us during our stay. Organising our restaurant reservations and tranfers to them. Ofcourse whilst spending my vacation eating I had to spend hours in the gym. The gym was nice and small, very clean and although only a few machines to use they were all new and in full working order and were perfect for a workout. The hotel staff were all bilingual which was great! My only negative comments could be on the entrance to the hotel during the night where you cannot just walk in and be greeted as during the day. At night the doors are locked and you have to knock until one of the members of staff notice that you are there. Also the restaurants were not upto par with its award compared to the rest of the top restaurants I visited, being a fine dining chef myself I was slightly disappointed. However this does not stop this hotel being 5 star. It really was a great stay! Thanks sofitel

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chefkav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cour des Loges
#10 of 194 in Lyon
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Part Dieu - Bir Hakeim
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lyon
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Villa Florentine
#14 of 194 in Lyon
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Lyon Bellecour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Lyon Bellecour

Address: 20 quai Docteur Gailleton, 69002, Lyon, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#13 Business Hotel in Lyon
#20 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#28 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: $169 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Lyon Bellecour 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Rhône river near the Vieux Lyon, World Heritage Site, Place Bellecour, Parc de la Tête d'Or and the city's countless museums and cultural attractions. With 164 sleek rooms and panoramic suites, a renowned Michelin-starred restaurant "Les Trois Dômes", a contemporary brasserie "Le Silk", two fashionable bars "Le Light Bar" and "Le Mehlor", with an indulgent hotel spa and a high tech fitness center, this luxury Lyon hotel is ideal for the discerning business or leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Lyon Bellecour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lyon Bellecour Hotel Lyon
Lyon Sofitel
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing