We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“COMFORTABLE SPACIOUS ROOMS, GREAT BREAKFAST CHOICE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette
Ranked #29 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“COMFORTABLE SPACIOUS ROOMS, GREAT BREAKFAST CHOICE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Centrally located, leisurely 15minutes walk to historical districts, spacious rooms, comfortable bed, very tasty breakfast. Helpful staff. There is really nothing negative to say, this hotel is ideal for a short city break. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatBedenik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    606
    142
    38
    25
See reviews for
311
423
76
262
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and I only spent one night here and wished we could have had a few more days here and in Lyon. Value for money was excellent compared to prices in Paris!(
Large, modern rooms with all the mod cons - nice big double bed, big flat screen TV, good size bathroom etc. We thought breakfast was included in our rate, but got charged, so just check.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is idealy situated in the city and within easy walking distance of both rivers and lots of great restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fttt2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear client,
Thanks a lot for your comment! We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again so that you can enjoy the quality of our rooms and travel around Lyon.
With our best regards,
Clémence Guelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Really good quality hotel - we were upgraded to a Privilège room upon arrival, so we got a great first impression of the hotel. Good beds, large bathroom and even a brand new gym - I'll be booking the same hotel if we come back to Lyon sometime.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ingeborgv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear client,
The whole team is glad you enjoyed your stay in Lyon and within the hotel. The Privilege room is indeed bigger than the standard one, it's a pleasure you've been able to discover them.
Kind regards,
Clémence Guelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We got a great bed and breakfast deal. Room was huge with two big double beds and a giant tv. The breakfast was very good however they did start to clear everything away before the end of the breakfast time. We used the swimming pool and that was great too even though it wasn't big. The hotel was close enough to the main part of town and within easy walking distance. They could do with adding a few English speaking channels to the TV to keep kids amused. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear client,
Thanks a lot for your comment! We are glad you enjoyed our double king size beds room. This one is ideal while staying with children. We'll inform our Breakfast Manager of your advise and will ensure a large range of English channels.
We look forward to welcoming you again in Lyon,
Kind regards,
Clémence Guelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Rooms okay and clean. Chose to eat in the restaurant the first night as we arrived late. Food was overpriced, but accepted this as it was more convenient. However, rack of lamb was raw when served, and no better when it came back from the kitchen having been returned - I don' t expect 4 Michelin stars for €29 ( for the lamb) but I do expect them to be able to cook it ( especially when given 2 chances). Left without finishing meal and would not recommend this restaurant under any circumstances.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rufusasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear clients,
Thanks a lot for your comment. It helps us upgrade our quality level. We are sorry you've been offered a poor restaurant service so we already warned the Kitchen Manager who decided to change the lamb recipe. We hope you yet enjoyed your stay at the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you again in Lyon to offer you a better service,
Best regards,
Clémence Guelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette

Property: Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette
Address: 29 rue de Bonnel, 69003, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Lyon
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#21 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#27 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
156 rooms. Located in the heart of the business area of Lyon, 5 minutes away from the Part Dieu TGV railway station, the Convention Centre and close to the Presquile and Old Lyon (listed as a world heritage area by UNESCO). The hotel features several spacious modular meeting rooms, Le Garage restaurant, and a bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Hotel Saxe Lafayette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing