We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for visit to Lyon”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel des Artistes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel des Artistes
Ranked #31 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect location for visit to Lyon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

We staid here a few nights and we liked it a lot. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. The room was on the small side but that is standard in a European city, it was nicely decorated and the bathroom was also good. Breakfast was great, big plus for offering freshly squeezed orange juice, and there was a good variety of bread, pastries, cereal, etc.
The location is perfect, it's in a quiet street, a lovely square next door where there are several lunch/dinner options and just steps from many stores and 5mins walk to Vieux Lyon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarHow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    211
    47
    15
    4
See reviews for
35
196
40
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Brilliantly located, small, clean and friendly hotel with good facilities. Rooms are smallish but perfectly reasonable given its fantastic location.

Clean and very comfortable beds.

Nicholas and others very willing and helpful. Thank you.

Located just off a delightful square surrounded by magnolia trees, and just yards from River Saone.

Only problems, No mirror by dressing table, small albeit good quality towels.

Would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneyFosdyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

My wife and I drove all the way from Paris to Leon after making a couple of stops along the way. We enjoyed our journey. We did not make hotel booking for a night stay at Leon.

We found this hotel comfortable. It was not a five star hotel, but it was good enough for tired bodies to get a proper night rest.

The room was equipped with a bathtub, a shower, very clean toilet and most importantly very comfortable bed. It reminded me of my stay at the Westin Hotel's Heavenly Bed.

The window is sound proof. TV, as usual, in all parts of France, you can hardly get to watch English movies.

We skipped breakfast because we woke up at midday.

We stayed for two nights. Great experience, good customer service, very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: If you stay in the heart of Lyon, you gotta pay the premium. We 5km away from this hotel on the thir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afik_Kutcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

As many others have said in their reviews, this hotel is perfectly located. The only other hotel we really considered in Lyon was the Collège Hotel, which we walked past during our stay at the Hotel des Artistes. It was immediately apparent that the Collège Hotel is not nearly as well located, in a more noisy and touristy, and less central area. The Hotel des Artistes is on the Presqu'île within easy walking distance of most of the museums, restaurants and bouchons we wanted to go to, and is just off the lovely and quiet Place des Célestins.

I liked how the hotel handled our reservation over the phone (in French). In person, the employees at the reception are friendly and helpful. The hotel seems to be mostly made up of rooms that cost around 130 euros although there are a few smaller ones. Our standard (larger) room was very blandly decorated but just big enough with a surprisingly spacious bathroom (with shower). We liked how the line of rooms with a shower rather than bathtub have a window in the bathroom. The toilet was in a separate "cupboard", and felt a little confined. The main negative was that the bathroom sink had been installed amateurishly far from the sink tap: whenever we used the tap, however carefully, water spilled all over the sink counter and eventually ran onto the bathroom floor. Over the course of a day, between cleanings, the soapy puddle on the bathroom floor made the pleasant bathroom less pleasant. We had to leave towels on the floor to sop up the mess.

Overall, though, I'd say that the pricing was fair for Lyon judging from other hotels online, and that the location and service made up for most of our misgivings (even if the sink tap should be reinstalled immediately). We did not try the hotel breakfast as there's an excellent market on the Quai Saint Antoine 2 minutes away and a really good bakery, the Boulangerie Saint Vincent about 15 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bpch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

The location was good and the rooms themselves were nice, clean, with very comfortable beds and a good amount of space. However, the Classic rooms are described as having a view of the city, but, all but, I believe, four have only a view of just another building. The in-room wifi didn't work in our room (3rd floor on the end, so far from the central wifi source, presumably because it worked in our friends' room on the first floor); only worked in the lobby which created massive problems for my husband who had work to do. And the air conditioning didn't work or wasn't available, which was not a problem for us but was for our friends on the first floor because people smoked right under their window.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask to have a view of Celestin Square or you will have no view at all. Get a high floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KC_in_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe Vista, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

Flew into Lyon and spent 2 nights here. Very nice hotel, comfortable beds,good showers, good breakfast. Right across street from river, on a nice quiet square. Easy walking to all sights and restaurants. Small room but adequate for staying a few nights. Room was overlooking passageway, had to leave window open as, typically, no AC turned on yet, but being on alley was quieter than having street noise.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m0untainGIRL60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

The standard room is small, but good enough for me (I have stayed by myself).
The staff was extremely kind and helpful and spoke English with no problems.
The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The hotel and the room were very quiet (and even though during the days there were constructions going on next door you could hardly hear them).
Breakfast was good with respect to European standards (bread, yogurt, cheese, fruit, hard-boiled eggs, cereal...).
Very good location - walking distance from the old city, a metro station and many other attractions including restaurants and shops.
I would definitely return here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhiteSlope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Hotel des Celestins
#15 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Globe et Cecil
#40 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Hotel La Residence
#36 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Elysee Hotel
#66 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Artistes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Artistes

Property: Hotel des Artistes
Address: 8 rue Gaspard Andre, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Lyon
#35 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#35 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Artistes 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel des Artistes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Artistes Hotel
Des Artistes Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing