We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great staff”
Review of Elysee Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elysee Hotel
Ranked #66 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location, great staff”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I must say I was horrified when we entered this hotel, I was going to sack our travel agent however within a few hours I'd totally warmed to it. Very close to everything, great breakfast, wonderfully helpful staff but basic, no frills accommodation. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John N Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    113
    31
    5
    2
See reviews for
40
95
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hotel is very close to Place Belcour and is ideally situated for getting around Lyon. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. My husband and I and my sister-in-law were well looked after.
The rooms are very basic but clean and comfortable and the hotel offers a continental breakfast with a good variety of breads.
The one problem is that the lift doesn't start until the first floor so it is not ideal for someone who finds stairs difficult. The breakfast room is also down two filghts of stairs in the basement. My sister-in-law was offered breakfast in her room so that she didn't have to go up and down too many times.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 460CaroleR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Perfectly located in the Bellecour area and just a 5 min walk from Vieux Lyon. Very simple hotel with no lobby really, rooms are bare but very clean. The price can't be beat! Elevator starts on 2nd floor so beware if you have heavy luggage. I definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The staff are extremely courteous and helpful. Location is right next to Bellecour (~200m) and thus public transport. Walking distance from eating places and Vieux Lyon. Clean. Double windows, so quiet.
Rooms are a little tight.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmad_Kloub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The hotel delivers what it promises - it's very basic, just a bed, tv and small wardrobe in the room and an adjoining small bathroom. But it is clean and in a great location and we had a room facing the back on the 5th floor which was quiet and provided a good night's sleep. Staff were cordial and assisted with whatever we requested.

If you don't intend to spend much time in the room and want a good base then this is perfect and great value. However if you like your luxuries and space, then this isn't the place for you.

Also as mentioned in other reviews, if you do have big bags or problems carrying things/walking up stairs, then you may want to reconsider as there is a steep flight of stairs to get to the lift to take you further up. Not a problem for us, but can see how this could cause angst if someone is not up for that climb.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExploringSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The room was really tiny for . Lack of nearby parking complicated by copious road construction. Elevator was a little pointless since I had to climb a few sets of stairs before getting there. Super locale in the middle of the Presqu'il though.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I stayed in the Elysee Hotel for 4 nights during a conference in Lyon. It is situated on one of the main shopping streets (full of boutiques - Hermes, Louis Vuitton etc) and very close to Place Bellecour and the Bellecour metro station. The owner is very pleasant and helpful (eg. directions to the nearest laundromat or supermarket).

The room: reasonably large with a queen bed and 'breathing space'. Interesting decor - the bedspread was yellow-orange! There was a wardrobe with heaps of storage space (shelves as well as hangers) and shelves. The desk looked out to the courtyard (in front of the windows). Note there is no in-room safe or fridge/mini-bar as this is a budget hotel. The airconditioning worked very efficiently. It was very clean and very quiet - despite having jetlag I slept soundly each night. The free wifi was fast and fantastic. I did not try the breakfast so I can't comment on this.

The bathroom: quite compact but very functional including several shelves for toiletries (a big plus as many bathrooms don't include enough storage space). Plenty of hot water.

The location: it is parallel to Rue de la Republique, one of the main pedestrianised streets - near to the cinema and Haagen Dazs ice-cream! Bellecour is on the small island between the two rivers (Rhone, Saone) and there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance (esp. Rue de Merciers). You can walk across the bridge to Vieux Lyon or catch the metro out to the suburbs (where my conference was located).

Downsides (all minor):
1) It was impossible to use the full-length mirror in the wardrobe as it was situation in an awkward position - on a door that cannot fully open outwards as it crunches into the bedside table.
2) The shower was extremely small. For a short person I managed ok, although I did manage to keep knocking the water controls with my back when turning around... I think it would be a struggle for taller people.
3) The towels were quite thin.
4) As noted by others, the lift only starts on the 1st floor so you have to carry your luggage from the ground floor up to the lift. It wasn't a problem for me though.

Overall though, the hotel suited my purposes well - quiet, excellent central location, plenty of space and storage, clean, good value - and I would recommend Elysee Hotel to other travellers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TashfromMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Hotel du Theatre
#61 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Hotel des Celestins
#15 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Globe et Cecil
#44 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Hotel La Residence
#38 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Hotel des Artistes
#31 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysee Hotel

Property: Elysee Hotel
Address: 92 rue du President Edouard Herriot, 69002, Lyon, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Elysee Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Elysee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing