We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”
Review of Elysee Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elysee Hotel
Ranked #70 of 196 Hotels in Lyon
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Stayed for two nights. Good location for shopping and restaurants. Room has aircon, clean and fair size. Quiet and pleasant area to look around.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clive G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 211 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2012

Well located hotel just off Place Bellecour in the heart of the shopping district. Short walk to great restaurants (Rue Mercier) and Vieux Lyon. Air conditioned rooms are functional but the staff are the highlight - really friendly and helpful.
All round good choice if you're planning a busy weekend in Lyon and don't expect to spend too much time back at base.
We'd certainly stay again when next in Lyon.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorfolkFozzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and would recommend it to anyone looking for a good hotel in a central location. The rooms are adequate, clean and the staff are lovely. During our stay the lift broke down but it seemed to get repaired quickly. We were on the 4th floor and didnt mind walking up (and we must have burnt off some calories!). We didnt take breakfast as there are lots of bars and restaurants surrounding the hotel so cant comment. Worth noting that the insulation isnt great and we could hear the folks in the bathroom above but its only a small point and wouldnt stop us from returning.
Shoppers do keep in mind that Lyon shops are closed on both Sunday and Monday which is a pity when this is hotel is in the middle of lots of lovely shops :(

Room Tip: Secondary glazing on the windows which kept the noise out but despite being on a main street its rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purpletravller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Close to Place Bellecour and Rue de la Republique (main shopping street) the Elysee is in an excellent location for exploring the beautiful city of Lyon. Double room was spacious enough and AC was a welcome addition. We had room only only, so no real interaction with the staff other than at reception, who were friendly and very pleasant. If you're looking for a good base at a resonable price for the city centre, I would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Just walked in and asked if they had rooms available. The elderly gentleman was very helpful and let me see the room prior to accepting the offer. You can get a better price if you book in advance or look around, of that I am sure. Room was quiet, well air-conditioned and clean, but slightly worn. Opted out on breakfast. Slightly odd smell in the lobby area but helpful staff both daytime and nighttime.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelinspectorgadget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed at l'Hotel Elysée in Lyon on the fist and last nights of our cycling trip. We found the hotel in the green Michelin Guide. I had e-mailed the hotel to see if they would keep our bike boxes while we were doing our 8 day cycling trip. As they agreed to do that, we booked there. Eric (I think he's the owner or at least the manager) greeted us when we arrived. He is a very friendly and charming man and was very accommodating to us, allowing us to assemble our bikes in the small living room of the hotel. Of course, the bedroom was very small but the bed was comfortable and everything was very clean. This hotel is located in the Peninsula area of Lyon. So it is within steps of good restaurants and shops and easy walking distance of the old city and everything a tourist wants to see in Lyon. It is good value. I recommend that you ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you want to sleep with the window open because the front is very noisy, all night. It was cool outside so the air conditionner was not working but it was hot inside. Our room was at the front so it made a difficult to sleep, specially the last night as it was the weekend. and the weekend is noisier. I recommend this hotel for the location, the value, the cleanliness and the friendly staff.

Madeleine Ménard
Ottawa, Canada

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madeleine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

The hotel is really well located, close to the main shopping streets of Lyon. The staff was helpful. The hotel is not too expensive but the rooms are very simple with no charm. The room was clean. The breakfast room is small and unpleasant.

In conclusion this hotel is a good option to stay downtown for not too much ... but don't expect too much for that price.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tristan_Geneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Hotel du Theatre
#61 of 196 in Lyon
232 reviews
Globe et Cecil
#55 of 196 in Lyon
477 reviews
Hotel des Celestins
#12 of 196 in Lyon
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Republik Hotel
#91 of 196 in Lyon
196 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Best Western Saint Antoine
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Plaza Republique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysee Hotel

Address: 92 rue du President Edouard Herriot, 69002, Lyon, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 196 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range: $87 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Elysee Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Elysee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing