We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, cozy, elegant, very central”
Review of Cour des Loges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cour des Loges
Ranked #10 of 196 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a very elegant hotel in the middle of old town pedestrian zone, renovated old house. Style is very Tuscan. Each room is very different due to renovation of an old house, actually combination of multiple old houses. Excellent concierge, very helpful and very caring. Most rooms are very romantic, warm colors and great decoration.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liskit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you for your good rating of Cour des Loges.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 1,314 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed twice in the hotel in one month time.

Pros:
- more than excellent service from people working at the reservation/concierge
- more than excellent atmosphere in the hotel: you really feel the history of the building and causes each spot in the hotel to be almost magical.
- food in the Cafe Epicerie is excellent albeit not cheap (didn't try the Loges)
- killer breakfast buffet. Try their special smoothies made of fresh ingredients (yesterday I had apple/pineapple/celery)

However the hotel has several important cons as well:
- a freezing swimming pool, so useless if you want to use it relax and also if you want to use it for sports as for that use it's way to small
- the toilet in the room was made of cardboard? Utterly unworthy a 5* hotel
- climate, climate, climate...both times (in 2 separate rooms) the room was unpleasantly hot and not in all rooms you can open the windows. Very unpleasant for sleeping!

All in all I will definitely return, although I will ask for a room with windows that can be opened. But hey, how often do you sleep in a room dating back to the 18th century.....?

Room Tip: try the little mezzanine rooms. They are small but duplex and make for a cosy retreat. Strange but n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank awismeijer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

We wish your review had stopped past "Great".
Your observations will allow us to improve the points you just highlighted.
During your next stay, we'll alocalate you a room which could adjust the temperature in.
We are looking forward for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Vieux Lyon is a fascinating area, a UNESCO World Heritage Site with a remarkable collection of renaissance era buildings. The hotel Cour des Loges comprises four of these buildings around a central courtyard now covered with a glass roof. The restoration and conversion of the buildings to this format for the hotel is brilliant and you cannot fail to get a sense of history as you walk anywhere in the hotel.

The staff at the hotel are top notch, friendly, helpful and cheerful - a special mention to the chief concierge Gerard - what a lovely guy!

We ate for one evening meal in their bistro and that was very good, but I thought a tad on the pricey side (even for Lyon where nowhere is particularly "economical") - service was friendly and efficient and the food top quality - but what is it about the French, even in winter when it's freezing they can't do warm plates?

Breakfast in the main courtyard was excellent, can't fault it, plenty of choice and all good.

So, why only very, very good and not excellent? Quite simply, the standard of finish and facilities within the room. When you consider what it must have cost for the renovation, why oh why is the shelving made of melamine coated chipboard (and the veneer peeling off)? The layout of the bathroom just didn't work - a sunken bath (but only because of two steps up from the bedroom), a very small washbasin, no hand basin in the toilet (which itself seemed to be in an afterthought cubicle inaccessible from the bathroom)

All that said though, I enjoyed our stay and would indeed stay there again, just for the situation in Vieux Lyon which is perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanJ153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

We want to thank you for your accurate review.
During your next stay, we will let you choose a room that will fit more with your needs.
The 61 rooms of Cour des Loges are all different and we don't doubt that you will find one that suit your expectations.
We truly hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

A series of Italianate restored houses, clustered under a glass atrium, eclectic cultural decor, hidden gardens and treasures.
The team of concierge, and our favorite François, is first notch. They know the usual tourist needs and so much more: culture, artisans, curiosities, good deals, where to eat with the locals.
Ask and they will "get" you and provide you with a unique experience. This makes the difference. The location permits you to walk almost everywhere you wish to go.

Room Tip: Mention if you have difficulty climbing stairs, some rooms (very interesting) are on several levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelistanr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

François and the whole team of Cour des Loges are really pleased you liked your stay in Lyon.
We are looking forxard to welcoming you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Pleasing hotel in "old Lyon";quiet room with all the amenities (wifi,refrigerator,safe),perfect location for visiting Lyon centre.The hotel around a covered patio in wonderfully restored old houses.Delicious breakfast buffet and very good dinner in starrestaurant "cour des loges" Concierge effective and special
mention for the quality and service of "café-épicerie",part of the hotel.Sole weak point:the "design" bathroom not so comfortable...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patricklaberche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

We are delighted you liked your stay in Cour des Loges and we are looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Unique hotel and rooms in old Lyon. Expensive hotel but totally unique. Internal cloisters over seven stories with a glass roof. Interesting hidden gardens that nestle up the hill are worth seeking out.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CustomerConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

We are delighted you liked your stay in Cour des Loges and we are looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We traveled to Lyon for Valentines day 2012 and stayed at Cour des Loges as part of our Small Luxury Hotels membership. We found it wonderful, but also perplexing in some ways...

Wonderful:
- Concierge service... top notch! We were so well taken care of.
- Breakfast was delicious and many steps above what we expected from a complimentary service
- Their wine cellar and sommelier... we had a private tasting that was again complimentary. Superb!

Perplexing:
- Our room had a private entrance and patio, which would have been lovely any other time of year, but in February was cold and slightly inconvenient
- Our bathroom had a detachable shower head, but inside a jacuzzi... the sides were open which was awkward when trying to bathe. We ended up accidentally spraying water on the floor until we became more adept at its use.
- The worst was when we went to check-out. The woman at the front desk wasn't able to swipe our cards. Instead of letting us know that it was a problem with their internet connection (which apparently happens somewhat frequently?) she made us go to a close by ATM to withdraw cash for the entire weekend. This was embarrassing, and if we hadn't checked out with an hour to spare it would have made us miss our flight back home.

I would have given this 4 stars based on the rest of our experience, but our check-out experience drops it to 3.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jillybjolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

We are glad your stay at Cour des Loges went well overall.
What happened during your check out is totally abnormal and we are going to take the necessary steps to avoid that this kind of incident ever happens again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Villa Florentine
#14 of 196 in Lyon
751 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cour des Loges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cour des Loges

Address: 6 rue du Beouf, 69005, Lyon, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#5 Family Hotel in Lyon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#11 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: $266 - $675 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cour des Loges 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Vieux-Lyon, Cour des Loges resembles a castle in the city whose decor takes you back to the Italian Renaissance. Perfect blend of historic charm and modern comfort, Cour des Loges 5 -star hotel promises luxury bespoke luxury getaways in the capital of Gaul: 1 Michelin star restaurant Les Loges, chic bistro Cafe Epicerie, bar and cigar room, Epicurean cooking atelier La Petite Loge, Pure Altitude Spa, swimming pool, sauna, steam room, gym, hanging gardens, and valet for all your desires, 3 "Clefs d'Or" concierges. Treat yourself to an exceptional stay fully tailored to your wishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cour des Loges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cour Des Loges Lyon
Cour Des Loges Hotel Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing