We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Lyon Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Audio Commentary
203

Book in advance
from
$16.01
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Google
Ways to Experience Theatres Romains de Fourviere
from $16.01
More Info
from $74.72
More Info
from $239.75
More Info
from $40.56
More Info
Reviews (3,208)
Filter reviews
3,208 results
Traveler rating
1,543
1,274
345
37
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,543
1,274
345
37
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roman ruins worth a visit wander around notre dame old town concert romans hill stage museum odeon city france artifacts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 3,208 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2019 via mobile

Two fairly intact Roman theaters being used in summer for concerts, plays and operas. So cool to make functional use of the enduring work of the Romans. We watched a band sound check and warm up, including 1/2 hr of songs. Was so fun to think of Romans sitting here 2000 years ago doing the same basic thing

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank erik13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 10, 2019 via mobile

We walked by it first on the way down from the basilica. At that point I was too tired to walk up the steps to the top. So, we came back a few days later and walked all over it. We came at it from down by Cathedral St. Jean, so it was a fair hike up. At first, it was difficult to see the amphitheater part as it is off to the side. Even after we spotted it, the amphitheater was a little underwhelming. Later, when we were visiting the museum close by there was a window where we got a better view of it. The return down the steps was actually more painful to my knees than climbing up.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank Robert44
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 10, 2019 via mobile

This place was very cool to wander around, but it was a little bit underwhelming. I definitely recommend going up the funicular and seeing it, as any sort of ancient Roman architecture is awesome, but I think I expected a better view of it and less modernization. Also, if you go up there, you should make the quick walk up the cathedral at the top, a great pairing to the theater.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank 101baileyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 6, 2019 via mobile

It really evokes another time and does feel like the Romans had been there. They love a good amphitheatre and what a setting too. You can see the cityscape. They were setting up for a concert too, amazing the site is still being used for entertaining the people

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 6, 2019 via mobile

The theater is an awesome place that is even better because it is still used. There is a great museum, which is unassuming from the out side but huge inside and very interesting. My favorite stop in Lyon.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank G8043EOkyleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews