We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience for adults and children alike” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Musee Miniature et Cinema

Musee Miniature et Cinema
Book In Advance
$27*
and up
Ranked #4 of 183 things to do in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This stately old building is located in Vieux Lyon.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“Great experience for adults and children alike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We were looking for a museum which would be friendly for a 5 year old child, and ended up enjoying this museum for the entire family. It's arranged in 8 stages across 5 floors, with some dedicated to movie props, masks, and explanation on techniques. This was quite interesting, particularly for the movies we had seen. The upper floors had various miniatures, including many rooms / scenes of rather unusual variety. There were also miniatures of various items such as pastries, shoes, etc. Very interesting to see the meticulous detail on the creation of the items. Also one of my favorites were minuscule cut-outs from paper, which hard seem possible to do via hand.

We really enjoyed the museum, which took around 90 minutes to fully cover. There is one room with horror items which we did not bring our child to (and it was clearly signposted). Also, there were lots of stairs. There was an elevator available, but you needed a key so we opted not to ask.

Definitely worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank tangek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,075 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,293
    681
    90
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
236 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Don't miss this if you like SciFi and/or cult fils”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We happened across this as we were visiting Vieux Lyon. It is over 8 levels so is quite large. The first levels are sets for a Dustin Hoffman film called Perfume. The Story of a murderer. This is followed by models from films such as Independence Day and The Three Musketeers. It then has costumes, props, figures from a whole host of SciFi and cult films including Star Wars, Buffy, Hellboy, Aliens etc. The top four floors are devoted to exquisitely detailed reproductions of scenes and places in French life e.g. Maxims, Lyon Prison, tea shops, boulangeries, schoolrooms etc. the eye for detail and workmanship is amazing.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We went to view the film sets and props, but were completely seduced by the miniatures on the upper floors. Every time we thought we had seen the most amazing object, we would come across something even more astonishing a little further on. A definite must for sci-fi and film geeks, but I think it's well worth a visit whatever your interests. Personal favourite was the replica of Maxim's restaurant in Paris, right down to the 2mm long cutlery. Just gorgeous!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank berniekus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angers, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great sci fi - movie props and effects”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We went in with trepidation, it was bigger than expected. Preferred the movie sci fi things inside than the miniatures. Take a bottle of water - it gets quiet warm with so many people. One good thing - there are toilets inside.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Strangely interesting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I wouldn't have thought to go to this attraction, but my friend wanted to. Afterward I was surprised that I really did enjoy it. There are many levels in and out of adjoining buildings that have large rooms presenting works. The first few floors encase relics from movies and some actual movie sets, including Perfume: The story of a Murderer. Never heard of it? Neither had it, so of course I had to watch it that night.
The remaining few upper levels revealed the bizarre world of people that built miniatures. Not sure if you're into that, but some of them were SOOO tiny!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenayyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee Miniature et Cinema also viewed

 

Been to Musee Miniature et Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing