We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bad experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Les Chandelles

Les Chandelles
Ranked #2,598 of 3,224 Restaurants in Lyon
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Vieux Lyon - Quarantaine
milano
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“bad experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

サービスも味も最悪でとっても残念だった。
I could not find out any good points at this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hamster845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    57
    88
    115
    393
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hermanus, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“late lunch”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

On the recommendation of a friend we decided to give it a try, despite being located in such a touristic area. service was some waiters a bit smelly. some of the ingredients were not on the
'maxi' salad - in particular the ones we wanted! A good restaurant tells you this and lets you consider changing your order.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank L0001L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
488 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
“I think actually better than average but not a very good....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had problems with our accommodation in Lyon which meant that we were very tired and had not really researched where we wanted to eat. We were in a very picturesque area, cobbled streets etc and there were lots of places to eat in the area.
We were invited into the restaurant by a waiter who explained that there were discounts for eating early. We decided to take a punt and were seated outside.
The set menus were okay, we both had French onion soup - tasty but could be hotter and not as good as ours. I went for the fish, which came with rice and a tomato sauce. Was served hot and again, quite tasty. hubby had sausage, potato and red wine sauce. The sausage was very meaty, more like a pate really - again okay, hot and tasty. Only 1 potato served and no veg. We both had ice cream for afters which was very yummy. Bread and water came with meal. We chose a 46cl carafe of red wine and overall we paid 27.7 E. The meal, service and location exceeded our expectations and when we got back to the hotel, we read reviews which said stay away from this area, as it is a tourist trap. Yes, I agree it was very touristy, but we were not trapped and overall had a pleasant experience.
Would not go back but there aren't many places that we would go back to eat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Solid, cheap french food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Good selection of menu choices, plenty of a la carte, but the set menus are good as well. One of the busiest places in Vieux Lyon on a Sunday night, and offers a 30% discount if you arrive pre 7.30pm. Waiters were attentive and let us stay late to finish our wine. Food was nice for what you pay. Possibly not the best restaurant in the city but on our experience it was fine.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Giles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Discount for early eaters”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Excellent kitchen in "bouchon" style.. For early eaters (Northern Europeans) the house offers a 30% discount on the menus...very competitive...for le Vieux Lyon...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Werner W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Chandelles also viewed

 

Been to Les Chandelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing