We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For tourists?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chez Paul

Chez Paul
Ranked #48 of 3,203 Restaurants in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Terreaux - Bat D'argent
Description: Le restaurant comporte deux salles avec possibilite de privatisation pour les groupes (55 et 70 personnes) avec des formules speciales.
orlando fl
Level Contributor
223 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“For tourists?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We sat at a table with others and struck up a fun conversation as we passed the family style dishes amongst all at the table.
The service created the ambiance. The server joked around with everyone.
The food wasn't great. The hors d'oeuvres were varied but seemed to be industrial preparation, same for the desserts. One orders his own main dish from a choice of 'typical' dishes. Not impressed with my warm saucisse de lyon nor the dishes ordered by my table companions. Their choices were served with gratin macaroni that were uninteresting.
I felt the overall experience was for tourists who think this is the ultimate bouchon and that they are living like locals. This is not a restaurant with heart just a large cantine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank debsteroonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    209
    46
    16
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marion Bridge, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a dining experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Seated family style at table, you are served heaping bowls of traditional Lyonnaise food. We ended up sharing our meal with a couple from Luxembourg and a couple from Lyon. The food was very good, a bit unusual and the wait staff was funny and attentive.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarilynnZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburban MD
Level Contributor
118 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“This is a Bouchon experience, know what you are getting into”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We went to this restaurant because we wanted an authentic Bouchon experience and we got exactly that, an experience. First of all, be prepared for communal dining. Also be prepared for large bowls of food to move from table to table. You may get it after several other tables. The same for dessert! The bowls of food were composed largely of parts of pigs, pickled pig trotter salad, slices of pig head meat, deep fried pork rinds, pig parts in terrine etc. I would have given this place a poor except that our entrees (which came after 5 courses of these bowls of appetizers) were very good. We had ordered the pork (of course) chops and they came as huge chunks of meat well cooked in a very good sauce. The dessert, which was a creme caramel was also very good, fresh and eggy tasting. Of course the plate of dessert was whisked off our table after our first servings and moved to other tables. We had not been fast enough to get seconds. Overall, we will talk about the experience for many years to come, and not necessarily for the food. Also, be aware that this Bouchon is more expensive than most other bouchons we saw in the city. If I could do it again, I would try a different bouchon. Very mixed reviews on this one.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank theorchidlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
125 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“If you don't really know what a Bouchon is, do some research before you come”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I had a pleasant dinner with friends here at Chez Paul. It is one of the only real Bouchon Lyonnais, because there are thousands in Lyon but only about 13 are certified. Bouchons are places where they serve family style food, traditionally they would normally cook just pork, nowadays they include a reduce number of lyonnais specialties. It is a sharing and welcoming environment, where you are expected to share with other people.

We started sharing a charcuterie plate, then there were a variety of salads, which included veal feet, yes the texture is not very appealing but flavor-wise it is not that bad. I really enjoyed the terrines on the charcuterie plate.

For the main course each one of us had something different tete de veau (veal head), quenelle lyonnais (it is a fish souffle that goes in the oven with seafood sauce), blanquette de porc (it is porc with a sauce made out of the stock it boils in), saucisson chaud (it is a warm sausage typical from lyon also called cervelas), and poulet au vinaigre (which is just chicken in a sauce with some vinegar and terragon).
Overall our food was very good and as you can see they do not always serve unusual things on a bouchon, they have changed over the years, but take note that you will certainly find, tripes, sausage made out of tripes, porc feet, head, etc. is nothing to be surprised about.

We ended our meal with the dessert, which comes in a big tray or bowl, which is shared every 2 tables because after it is finished and they bring a new tray. If you don't like the fact about sharing with other people, then this is not the place for you. But there is a serving spoon and everyone grabs their portion into their plate, so no big deal, no one touched the food you were about to eat. Their figs in red wine, creme caramel, and apple puree were very tasty. And of course, I forgot that before dessert we got cervelle de canuts, which is cream with garlic and herbs, for me it was too garlicky, but my friends had St. Marcelin cheese, which was pretty tasty.

Regarding the service, the server was very attentive, we were a mixed table with french speaking and english speaking people, and he was very amusing and polite.

If you come to Lyon and want to have the real lyonnais experience you need to go to a Bouchon, there are dishes for all tastes, but make sure you find a certified Bouchon like this. It has a sign outside with Guignol (the puppet) carring a glass of wine and the symbol of the city.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cae87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Non bouchon fans beware”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

If you like the following you will love Chez Paul:
Communal eating
Tripe
Sausages made from the most dodgy pig parts
Pig head meat
Unsweetwned white fromage frais
More tripe
More dodgy pig bits and pieces

Otherwise uou will leave looking at yourself and wondering if you are sane, and when you will rhrow up

Sorry gastronauts, i dont care what the Bouchon hype is , i would rather eat a scabby pig. Oh wait, i just did. Euuerghhh

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hawk345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Paul also viewed

 

Been to Chez Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing